No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Running Horse

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
88 Main Road Littleton, Winchester, SO226QS
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester.
Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms.

Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily.

Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking.
Picture of The Running Horse, Winchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel with lovely countryside outlook
We enjoyed our stay here, staff were friendly and room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean but didn't have as much character as some other hotels we've stayed at locally. Dinner here was very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Julia H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly disappointed
a lovely village setting and close to Winchester, great staff, the room could do better - for £100 a night I dont expect large unsightly stains on the carpets and a shower tray in desperate need of refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Peter P

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation
The running horse was a beautiful place. Very welcoming and accommodating staff. Would highly recommend to others.

Reviewed by
isobel sharron mcallister

From Bathgate, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would definitely return to The Running Horse
This was a great last minute find. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. In fact when we arrived, late, the meals were finished but they made us a lovely smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich with salad as we had driven from the north of Scotland. The cooked breakfast the next day was fabulous and we were given take away coffee when we left to help us on our journey. If your leaving by ferry from Poole, this is a great stop over as only 1 hour to/from the ferry. Thank you again all at The Running Horse

Reviewed by
A Adam

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely short break
Friendly welcome, great service, good food, bright accommodation - well worth a visit, I am sure that we will be back!

Reviewed by
N Winter

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but...
With five others I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were roomy, clean and comfortable. The food was good but as each evening had the same menu we were limited for choice. I think it is gearded more towards one night stays and locals. It would be easy to offer choice for longer stayers by having daily menus which are repeated each week. However one of our group is diabetic and the staff did try hard to find a suitable dessert option for her, checking sugar content etc. eventually doing something just for us!

Reviewed by
H Jones

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem
Took a chance when we couldn't get into a big chain hotel and how serendipitous.....it was fantastic. Lovely room, great pub, fabulous food and friendly service. Couldn't fault it.

Reviewed by
Sadie Murphy

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Running Horse
Friendly welcome, nice room and staff couldn't be helpfull enough. Good food, drink and atmosphere so nice place all round

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cute rooms out the back of a country pub
Bit like a motel the way the guests rooms are located. Very nice though. Very warm room. Nice and clean.
Breakfast in the pub was nice and fresh. Service was very slow though and there were only 3 tables eating.

Reviewed by
Lorraine S

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff and quality room
The only two faults I could pick is that there were no general use sockets in the room and the door didn't lock properly but overall a really nice pub, really nice clean room and the staff were exceptional!

Reviewed by
Paul Bagg

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next