No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Paragon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
145 ALCESTER STREET , BIRMINGHAM, B12 0PJ
Situated in the vibrant Irish Quarter the Paragon Hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Birmingham's centre, the Bullring shopping centre and a 5 minute drive from the ICC. This impressive Victorian hotel offers traditional home-cooked food in The Princess Helena Restaurant, and our cosy Naylor’s Bar offers a great range of beverages and light snacks to suit all. Free Wi-Fi and car parking is available for all guests and throughout Summer 2014 guests receive a 25% voucher off food and drink purchased during their stay (until 31st August), exclusions apply.

With close links to all major motorways and just a 20 minute drive to the NEC and Birmingham International Airport, the Paragon hotel is the ideal place to stay whether staying for business or leisure.
Picture of The Paragon Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 380 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
40% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Experience
I am sad to state that I am very disappointed with my stay and service at this hotel and would not recommend this hotel to anyone in the near future. The hotel has false a representation of itself on its own online website and was poor value for money spent. Our room was very unhygienic with previous people's hair grips on the floor which indicates the floor had not even been hoovered and thier hair in the bathroom shower. Our room had stains on the wall and damp in the ceiling. Window ledge was rotten and eroding. And faulty bed side wall lights which did not work and had been replaced with 3 very shabby table lamps where one of the bulbs of those had been missing. The shower allowed you approximately 3 minutes of hot water which means the next person to have one would have to have a cold one or go without. Extremely disatisfied with this experience. When I had booked this stay I recieved and email confirmation which also stated that the hotel is undertaking some refurbishment. When we checked this was mentioned to the receptionist and we asked for one of the new refurbished rooms to then which she smiled and swapped our keys for a newer room. Is this the hotels idea of refurbishment?? The quality of room we was given??? I'm not to sure if it is refurbishment that the hotel requires but more rather some new cleaners?? And a architect to renovate the entire whole building. I have never stayed in a hotel so revolting. There was dead dragon flys and insects in the hallway leading to the rooms. This hotel alone has tarnished my views of birmingham altogether
Never again will I return to this hotel .

Reviewed by
J Martin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Defo stay again
Booked a single room and got a double.everything was great.staff very helpful when i arrived with the wrong case and none of my own stuff!! Restaurant basic but tasty and good portions. Only ten mins from city centre and £5 in a taxi.cheap and cheerful x

Reviewed by
Gillian D

From New Cumnock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

reasonable service and polite staff but in room carpets looked filthy, bed horrendusly uncomfortable, nail varnish on the sheets.

Reviewed by
A D

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Small hotel room shower tray needs unblocking as water was going down slow but was a cheap stay
Could do with upgrading room facilities such as flat screen tv and shower.

Reviewed by
M Basar

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night in the house of horrors
Appreciated the building is grade II listed so a lot of refurbishment etc can't be done. However it should not stop the room being cleaned properly. I couldn't have a shower as I would have got out dirtier. The building used to be a hostel for homeless a long while back and the rooms reflect this still..we shall refer them to cells. Window was supposed to be closed but had a massive gap all round fitting so might as well left it open. Saying the place is basic and bearable is a massive over statement. It's a horrible place in a horrible area and the reception girls haven't got a clue and are abrasive to say the least.

Reviewed by
Patricia J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel we've ever stayed in
The website gives you the impression that it's a very nice hotel, you walk in reception and it looks clean nice and tidy, then you go to the room.
The corridors are run down looking with lights switched off in certain areas, we had to unlock and lock our room door in tme dark.
On entering the room we were not impressed but had to make do, we went to go for a shower at 9.30pm only for there to be no hot water, there was no phone in the room so I had to call from my phone to reception to comain.Tbey yd is they would check it out and get back to us, 30 minutes went by and nothing so I called reception again for them to say they called the room with no reply. At this point I went to reception and asked why did no one have the decency to knock on my door, they said we called your room but you didn't answer to which I replied that there is no phone in the room which they were surprised about. They said we could use another room to shower which wasn't great because all our belongings were in our room but we had to make do.
We then realised that the electic heater in the room didn't work so they gave us an electric fan heater which had not been electric safe certified.
I complained to the deputy manager and said I wanted a refund of the cost of the room and after saying that there web site was basically false advertising they then gave me half of the room cost back.
If you stay at this hotel you do so at your own risk of feing as though you've been ripped off of your money and you will be left severely disappointed.

Reviewed by
Tammy B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok ish
wouldnt bother staying here again.
staff are abit rude, didnt make me feel welcome.
plus this hotel seems to be a hang out for half of Birminghams taxi drivers who meet outside and talk and crack jokes for 30 mins at 2.30am

Reviewed by
D Ellison

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Paragon
Looks really nice on arrival, but small rooms with thin walls, my kettle was dirty my shower didn't work I asked for a wake up call, only find out there was no phone in the room, also couldn't turn off light above my bed, will never stay there again

Reviewed by
D Bacchus

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor
The first room given had rubbish in the waste bin, tissue in the toilet; no water from the hot tap and the room smelt of smoke; received no apology, hardly any acknowledgement at all, when I went back to reception to request a different room. This one still had a smell to it that took an open window a while to clear; it was very run down. Not worth the lowest offer price.

Reviewed by
W E

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room poor service. dissappointed. Every room is different
3rd time staying here and I am very disappointed. Shower was freezing and broken. The room was not very clean. The curtain did not pull across properly letting light in making it difficult to sleep. The light was broken so it was dark and the tv did not work. I went to reception and explained about the tv and the lamp. the engineer gave us an extra lamp but with regards to the tv problem I was told "we have signal problems, some rooms have all the channels, some rooms have none" we had about 3 channels and they said they couldn't do anything. sorry but not good enough. I've stayed here 4 times and had mixed experiences, this being the worst. I could understand if we had booked last minute and got the worst room but we booked in advance. the highlight of the room was the custard cream biscuits on the tea and coffee tray. paragon hotel has let me down.

Reviewed by
K Barnett

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next