No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sloop Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
llandogo , MONMOUTH, NP25 4TW
Our emphasis at the historic 300 year old Sloop Inn is to create a relaxing and enjoyable experience, whether relaxing taking a drink in the beer garden, experiencing one of our chef's fine bar meals or taking in the fine beauty of the Wye Valley. The Sloop Inn offers comfortable accommodation, a restaurant and bar offering good food and real local ales. A log fire situated in the bar provides a warm and cosy atmosphere on cold crisp days. The Inn has four comfortable and relaxing rooms all en-suite including television, tea and coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi available throughout the building and a spacious car-park. The Inn is ideally situated for activities including walking, fishing, golf and horse racing with Chepstow racecourse a few miles down the road.
The rooms available include a family four poster with private balcony with views to the River Wye, two double rooms; one with full bath facilities the other with a shower and one twin room.
Picture of The Sloop Inn, MONMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful scenery great for weekend break friendly staff nothing too much trouble

Reviewed by
P Harris

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sloop Inn, Llandogo, near Monmouth
Superb location. Very comfortable room. Really helpful and friendly staff. Great food. If you want tranquil surroundings in a beautiful setting overlooking the River Wye, this is the place to stay and eat.

Reviewed by
N Wallace

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome in the heart of the Wye Valley
I just stayed here for one night, on my way to visit Tintern abbey, but would certainly return and do more walking in the area. A good welcome, lovely bar food and a comfortable room which was all I needed. Good filling breakfast to start the day!

Reviewed by
Mary K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night
OK this is a pub and we had a one night stay in September (end of season) it was ok a nice location handy to visit the abbey and old water mill, food was good but a little on the high price side for simple pub meals, It has a good large car park, beer garden and a local shop. no reception so we found booking in/out was a little bit of a mission, but we had a good sound nights sleep and a nice breakfast.

Reviewed by
Peter F

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Missed potential
The problem with this accommodation is errors of omission rather than commission. The place is not bad, but needs taking out of the '80's with a bit of dressing for atmosphere. It's called "The Sloop", and does indeed have model boats plus porthole window and light in the lounge/restaurant, but that's about it. The lobby is uninviting and bare, while the public bar is quite horrible and featureless. On a September Saturday night, you'd expect a bit of bustle and craic, but the whole place was almost dead.
While the road-side room we were in was a little pokey, the bathroom was large and clean, but both had utilitarian bedsit feel. The carpet, bed and dressing table were decent quality, (though the chair was grubby), but the effect was spoiled by nasty Artex, overpowering air-freshener, dated lighting and solitary picture. The linen and towels were clean and of quality, which inspires confidence, and the consumables were also decent and generously supplied. There was a TV, but tiny and daftly positioned.
There's only this pub in the village, so not a lot of eating out choice and the evening meal was unspectacular. The breakfast was decent, if a little dry, with good coffee and juice.
In conclusion: If you're looking for a base to explore the Wye Valley and forest of Dean, this place will do, but it's not got the "wow" factor for a romantic break, which is a shame, because a bit of "design" could make all the difference.

Reviewed by
Roland C

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor service
Nice hotel great breakfast Sunday morning askt owner what time is Sunday lunch served he said 12til 3.askt do I need to book a table he said no just come down got their. At 2.o.clock restaurant empty member or staff asked why we were sat at a table we said come for lunch said all lunch was sold restaurant was closed no apology had to drive to another place to get a roast I booked the sloop because they had great reviews for Sunday lunch I would not recamend the sloop to a. friend or stay their again

Reviewed by
c tomkins

From kington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
I was welcomed with warm greeting from the Landlord and shown to a nice homely well lit room room. Bathroom was very clean and did the job. Good size very clean room with comfy bed. Free Wi-Fi was a bonus. Breakfast was also very good with selection of full English or Cereal. Setting was wonderful. Would recommend this to others and would like to revisit.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room in a wonderful location.
My friend and I didn;t arrive until 11.20pm as we were bike touring but the owners were happy to wait up for us and were very welcoming. Room was great and breakfast even better, very impressed!

Reviewed by
Michael Jones

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy with my stay
My main room was a bit dated with creeky floor boards, not a problem only mentioned for benefit of others reading this. I had good nights sleep and the room was very clean and did the job. No issue with the bathroom, was bigger than most. Customer service very good, Free wifi which was a good bonus. We all agreed evening meal was fantastic and of a very good standard. Left too early to have breakfast. Yes would stay again.

Reviewed by
s king

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rsonable basic accommodation
the room was basic, but clean enough and the bed was very comfy.
the breakfast was good.
it had a lovely view and a riverside walk very close to the pub.

Reviewed by
K Sweet

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next