Reviews - Church Villa B&B


29 Church Lane, Temple Normanton,, Chesterfield, S42 5DB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (9)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • S Pearce

  • February 2015

Better than a hotel

This was simply the best B&B I have ever stayed in.

The room was superb and the bed very comfortable. The room itself was En-suite and relaxing. The food was delicious both for breakfast and the evening meals. The option of having evening meals was an added bonus at the end of the day as was the lovely lounge to relax with the open fire. Due to circumstances, I arrived late on my first night and Hillary couldn't have been more welcoming, and helpful. As a single traveler, I felt my needs were catered for far better than any hotel I have ever stayed in. The service attention to details and genuine welcome exceed that I have received in hotels. All in all I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • E Barnett

  • January 2015

Church Villa B&B

Very welcoming hosts, very clean and comfortable room.

Excellent breakfast with delicious home made bread. Will be happy to come back.

  • Sarah S

  • December 2014

Weekend Break

We found Church Villa via Trip Advisor & what a find.

Lovely quaint cottage in quiet village, spotlessly clean room, very lovely couple - Hilary & Graham, beautiful garden & wonderful food including eggs beniedict which is my favourite. Highly recommend. Also they kindly gave us a lift to the pub on the Fri night. Lovely couple & lovely stay.

  • Roy Webb

  • November 2014

only the lack of space in the shower room prevented 6 excellent ratings .a lovely b&b with a charming hostess.

  • Elaine W

  • September 2014

Excellent attention to detail

The owners were very welcoming and eager to make sure you have everything you need.

The attention to detail, both downstairs and in your room was excellent. Bedroom was delightful and the single bed was more like a 3/4 size and very comfortable. I will definitely stay again

  • Ian White

  • August 2014

Very comfortable

The only reason that the quality of room is not 6 is that the shower was out of action on the night we were there.

However Hilary warned us in advance and made alternative arrangements which were onlya minor iinconvenience. Otherwise we were made thoroughly welcome and soon felt at home. We couldn't have asked for more in terms of hospitality, comfort, information, and breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Kay D

  • August 2014

Very friendly b and b which went the extra mile to provide information about the area Very comfortable bed and spacious room and bathroom Breakfast lots of choice local produce and homemade bread all very tasty Would recommend

  • Sarah H

  • June 2014


Such a lovely place to stay.

Its in a lovey house which feels a world away. It is an old house with lovely gardens. The rooms are well furnished and the beds are very comfortable (and my mother is picky with mattresses...). The twin room was very pleasant to stay in and had all the amenities so we didn't even need to bring towels. Tea making facilities were very useful. There was also a very comfortable separate lounge where we could relax after a long day walking. They lit the log fire for us. They had plenty of guidebooks, maps and ideas for interesting things to do locally. Hilary was very helpful in working out routes and things to do. There are a couple of nice pubs nearby including The Three Cottages only 5mins away. The breakfasts were amazing. A large selection of hot and cold options meant it was always a great breakfast. They also had delicious freshly made bread everyday. We were only there 2 nights but it really felt like a long holiday as it was so relaxing and not at all awkward like some B&Bs can be. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stephen J

  • March 2014

Extremely friendly welcome.

Spacious and very clean room with very comfortable bed. Very well cooked breakfast. Excellent value for money. Highly recommended.