No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Y Castell

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
89, High Street , Pwllheli, LL53 5RR
Welcome to our page, before booking please note our rooms are simple yet clean and cozy with the emphasis on comfort. Our ensuite rooms are modern and comfortable. Our dorm style rooms consist of double sized bunk bed and are perfect for large groups looking to visit the area. We have three Dorm style rooms sleeping 3-5 each. We would also like to add that to access the ensuite rooms two sets of stairs must be walked up, this may be a problem for older guests.

If you are looking for some great accommodation in Pwllheli, you can be sure of high standards and a warm welcome from the team at Y Castell!
Picture of Y Castell, Pwllheli at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 53% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was small but clean, there was no mention of this Hotel being above the busiest pub in Pwllheli and the busiest kebab shop across the road, which were open until 1am and the noise continuing until 2:30am, which would of been nice to know when booking a family room.

Reviewed by
B Jones

From St Asaph, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

is noisey until 1 but good enough for the money.

Reviewed by
N Hales

From Hengoed, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, clean and fuss free
Great little room - was a bit worries when we turned up to a busy pub night but in the room you couldn't hear the music and it was clean and comfortable. Could have done with a mini shampoo bottle but the shower was hot. Cheers Y Castell

Reviewed by
Adam A

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought the landlord was really helpful & extremely friendly, made our stay even more enjoyable

Reviewed by
Jacqui Rivers

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loud and no real warning.
We stayed here as yes it was one of the few places still available at the time but never again! We understood it was above a pub and prepared ourselves accordingly but we were only told there would be rock bands playing till the wee hours of the morning till a few hours before our arrival. If we would have known we wouldn't have come anywhere near it! Came to checking out the next day at 11am as suggested by laterooms.com but no one was home, so we had to unhappily try and leave the keys in a safe place before having to move on. Not too impressed, which I hate to say as the staff seemed quite friendly.

Reviewed by
Camille H

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A shoe box on the street would have been better
Room was 7ft 5in by 7ft 5 inches and I booked the double on-suite, There was no coat hook to hang clothes because there was no room for one.
There were no towels and when we asked for towels we were given heavily stained towels (pictures were taken and will be posted on here when I learn how to do it.
The young man behind the bar was very pleasant although it may have been embarrassment.
I was very grateful to the people who left the new Porsche outside because the local yobs laid all over that and left my car alone.
I could fully understand the beer bottle lids under the bed as there was no space for a waste bin.
The shower was broken but we did manage to get some hot water.
We arrived very late at night and so finding other accommodation was not an option or we would have left.
Did not take cards had to pay cash and this was requested before the room.
Really don,t need to go on but could if required

.

Reviewed by
i lumley

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic!
Stayed here on a Saturday evening and downstairs was very loud! Didn't realise that the accommodation was above a bar! We were 2 floors above and could hear music booming till 1am!

Reviewed by
Emma D

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On top of a pub, so a bit noisy, but lovely accommodation!

Reviewed by
Emma G

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value but a surprise as well
Very simple accommodation for someone used to cheaper accommodation. Friendly staff and comfortable bed. Room small but en-suite perfectly adequate.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and laid back
Very clean bedrooms and great quality bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and the location was perfect.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Brown

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next