You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Cardinals Hatt

3

Callington Road, Hatt, Saltash, PL12 6PJ

Price From 126.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

67% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • P Antoniou

  • March 2016

hatt hotel

The room was not like the picture at all, the room had a damp smell wall paper was peeling woodchip wallpaper in bedroom lightbulb not working was not worth £60 per night

Once I complained they did changer rooms, no hot water in shower and was not fixed after I complained, funny smell coming fromb bathroom like cabbage.

  • Elaine Keogh

  • March 2016

Peace and Quiet

If you like peace and quiet this is the place for you as it is a little isolated, there is no shops or other pubs within walking distance.

Saying that you don't really need anywhere else as the bar here is good and the band they had on the Friday night we stayed, the "Dodgers" were excellent. We didn't use the restaurant as we had eaten earlier but it looked busy, (always a good sign) , and the menu read well. The room was large, clean (and most importantly given the weather), warm, if I had any complaint the tv was on the small side, and wifi in the rooms would be nice, but that is being really picky, In general we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

  • T Creed

  • February 2016

Fawlty Towers

Tea stains over bed side cabinet

Chef turned up late on Tuesday morning, many customers left before breakfast could be served.

  • John S

  • December 2015

Clean and tidy. Good value

Clean and tidy will go and stay again.

Quilt a bit to hot for me

  • Duncan R

  • November 2015

A great place to stay

I arrived at the Cardinals Hatt at 8.45pm after a long drive.

I asked if the kitchen was still open and was told that it was open until 9pm. I ordered my meal and it was it's usual excellent quality. Bearing in mind that this was a very quiet Monday evening and there were only 4 other people in the restaurant who were finishing off their meals when I arrived. I am sure that the kitchen would have been cleaning down and not expecting any further customers that evening. There was never any question of the kitchen being closed or a reduced menu and my food was served from very friendly staff. This is the third time I have used the Cardinals Hatt and each time I have found everybody very friendly, the food to be excellent and the rooms are good. They even serve cask ales which is a bonus to me, especially in a hotel. Overall they offer excellent value for money and I would have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • B Wilson

  • November 2015

Nice and quiet

Perfect spot for a quiet holiday without city hassle

  • M Lengthorn

  • September 2015

This is not a Hotel as advertised, this is digs for builders, car park full of vans.

Overpriced accommodation with horrendous decor, the room I stayed in had beige wood chip wallpaper, a nylon carpet that was sticky it stuck to your feet so couldn't walk around bare footed, cheap lumpy mattress, and dangerous showers that fall apart whilst in the shower.

The staff were not interested especially the manageress who I complained to regarding the broken shower head, she had a couldn't care less attitude and was not interested. I had booked the room for 3 nights and it wasn't cleaned during my stay in that room. This is the first review I've ever left regarding the many years of travelling around the country for my job, and it's a real shame that this first review has had to be a very dissapointing one.

Response from hotel

I have been expecting your negative review, since your bid to blackmail us out of additional money did not work.

The claims you are making could not be further from the truth and are simply the words of a disgruntled man who did not get his own way. Granted our accommodation is not the Ritz, but it is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Our housekeeping team work very hard and claiming that your chalet was not cleaned in 3 days is a far stretch of your imagination.

I would like to apologise, again, for the shower head falling off and hitting your foot however the manner in which you dealt with the situation was completely uncalled for - your threatening behaviour to a female member of staff will not be tolerated and for this reason I regret to inform you that you are not welcome back to the Cardinals Hatt.

Kind Regards,

Nadine Evens,

The Cardinals Hatt

  • Ray Jones

  • August 2015

disappointed

Planned a 2 night stay but checked out after 1 night due to very poor standard of room.

Hotel itself was beautifully appointed but outside the chalet type rooms were a real let down. There was a notice in the bathroom stating that the water was not fit to drink, there were no headboards or valances on the 3 single beds and the bases all had stains on them. It was obvious from the number of vans parked outside that the majority of rooms were let to contractors. It was a non smoking room but there was a pile of cigarette stubs right outside the door to the room. The room rate of £80 per night certainly did not reflect the standard of accommodation. We spoke with other guests who also expressed similar views. However, the Manager dealt with our complaint in a professional manner and refunded the 2nd night and also offered us u complimentary breakfast. She explained that the rooms were due to be refurbished.

  • James P

  • August 2015

Not what I expected or anything like what is advertised on their website

It was clean but very very basic.

But the beds were old and really worn, the bathroom was simply bizarre (no taps for the bath) and tiles & shower curtain looked like they'd been put up by my 4 year old. This all said the staff were lovely and the girl and guy in the bar were really helpful and nice. Clearly doing the best they could. But essentially I wouldn't pay half of the £90 I paid. Sorry.

  • C Bermingham

  • August 2015

nice hotel, great prices

The room (cabin) was clean and quite

Hotel had good food at very reasonable prices

Staff were very helpful