No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Samuel Fox Country Inn

5AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
BRADWELL STRETFIELD, HOPE VALLEY, S33 9JT
The Samuel Fox at Bradwell in the picturesque Hope Valley is a country inn serving traditional and contemporary cuisine, using local, fresh ingredients and home-made produce. It has extremely well appointed en-suite bedrooms and it’s the perfect location for exploring Derbyshire’s Peak District National Park. The Samuel Fox is close to Castleton, Hathersage, Edale and the Pennine Way, and within easy reach of Chatsworth, Matlock, the spa town of Buxton, and the many historical houses run by English Heritage and the National Trust. For weekend breaks, longer holidays, excellent food, wine and real ales, you will always receive a warm welcome at the Samuel Fox. Since October 2012 the samuel Fox as been in the ownership of chef James Duckett.
Picture of Samuel Fox Country Inn, HOPE VALLEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and a fantastic breakfast.

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Enjoyed our stay very much, only wished we could have stayed longer,the samuel fox is excellent and the food is divine.

Reviewed by
Anne G

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings
This is really a restaurant with rooms - which is why I chose to stay here when I had a business appointment in Buxton. The accommodation itself is very good: comfortable rooms with good Wi Fi, television and various nibbles. From the bedroom windows you have a fantastic view of Bradwell Edge and in other circumstances I would have been getting my boots on for a walk. Food, as one would hope, is a highlight. At dinner you have a choice of an exceptionally good value Early Bird menu or a more ambitious a la carte. My meal was substantial, the ingredients were high quality and the cooking of a high standard. An early breakfast next morning was equally impressive. The chef and manager are both friendly and welcoming. In all, you will not find a better place to stay in this part of the world.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super stay
a quiet, peaceful inn, no fuss or nonsense but everything you need and a desire to please......

Reviewed by
m g

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to visit for a special occasion
This was our second stay and we had a great time again. Staff had changed from our last stay but were great and the place is in good hands with a friendly team. Our room was spotless and filled with some nice welcome tea, coffee, chocolates, biscuits and grapes.
Bradwell is a nice village to visit and we enjoyed a couple of drinks with a great view down the valley at the Globe pub in the village which is also worth a visit and good traditional and friendly pub.
Steak for dinner back at The Samuel Fox was a highlight and I just about managed a very nice chocolate pudding with white icecream for pudding. The Derbyshire breakfast the next day topped off a very nice stay and we look forward to the next time we visit. Thanks to all the staff for making it a nice stay.

Reviewed by
Michael D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and overated. Very very disapointed!!!!
I booked this hotel because the reviews were so good. We paid £260.00 for 2 nights B&B for my husband and I. The room was ok, but decor very floral and old fashioned. The entrance hall had coconut style matting which was marked in many places as was the stair carpet up to our room. The en suite looked ok, but all of the taps moved when they were being turned on and off. The blind had black dirty marks all over it. There was only the window sill in the en suite to put our toiletries, no shelves. The thing that made me most upset was that someone came into our room to replenish tea etc, but never emptied the bin or gave us clean towels. I definitely expected clean towels for £260.00!!!!! I did read in the handbook clean towels were available on request, but had to find that out for myself, so missed out on clean towels. Our room faced a busy road, which was noisy and kept us awake, so did the noise of music and voices from the dining room below. Breakfast was small portions and average tasting. We certainly did not receive the warm welcome everyone mentioned. All they wanted to do was try to get us to book evening meals. Another reason we booked was because Friday was stated as being Tapas night and the chef was award winning. The menu we were given for both nights was the same and there was not tapas on the menu. I am a vegetarian and there was only one vegetarian option, which i didn't like. I would not want to eat the same dish twice in a weekend if I had liked it, so we had to find somewhere else to eat. There were only 3 beer pumps. There wasn't anywhere to sit to just have a drink. It was clearly set for diners. In mine and my husbands opinion it was definitely not worth the money. We have stayed in much, much nicer and friendlier accomodation for £80.00 a night.

ManagementResponse

I am so sorry to learn of your disappointment, following your two night stay with us recently and unreservedly apologise for any shortcomings in service. I do wish you would have raised your concerns with us at the time of your stay so that we could have had the opportunity of addressing many of them at the time and thus making your stay more pleasant. At this stage, all I can do is to invite you to call me directly to see how we may go some way to repairing the damage done. I would like to comment on a few points that you raise. In January, we close for three weeks during which time we undertake various maintenance work, amongst which will be replacement of the entrance hall floor covering; small comfort for you, I realise, but we will be addressing this matter. I am aghast that your room waste bin was not emptied and cannot think how this could have happened. As for your towels, I believe we did replace discarded towels but not those that were on your towel rails which did not appear soiled and thus, were merely tidied. This is our normal procedure, but we will review this in the light of your comments. I am sorry that road noise disturbed your sleep, had you let us know we would have moved you to a quieter rear facing room but, in putting you in room one with its lovely views, we had believed we were doing the right thing by you. As for noise from downstairs, we play only the quietest of background music and our diners are mostly departed by 10:30. However, on your first night one table did not depart until 11:30 and I know that one of that party does have a hearty laugh; however I am a surprised to learn that your evening was disturbed as a result. As for breakfast portions, I'm not aware of criticism regarding quality or quantity of our breakfasts. However, we always ask guests if they would like more and we are pleased to do so should they so wish. I really do wish you had let Gareth know that your helpings were insufficient so we could have addressed this on both mornings. I'm equally sorry that you declined to try our restaurant for dinner on both evenings. My menus are relatively small, consistent with the fact that all my dishes are prepared from fresh and, wherever possible, local produce. On the evenings in question, my menu featured 5 starters, 5 mains and 5 desserts plus cheese for afters and there were two specials of the day. In addition, on the Friday there was an early bird menu of 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 desserts and the tapas menu to which you referred was also available. I always ensure there is a at least one vegetarian option for each course but because our dishes are all prepared freshly in my kitchen I am able to cater for all dietary requirements and, had we known you were a vegetarian I feel sure that I would have been able to offer you something to your taste. We only realised you were a vegetarian at breakfast after your first night when you declined the full English option. I'm sorry, too that you felt our welcome to be less than friendly and that you felt you were being coerced into dining with us. On your arrival Gareth asked you if you would be dining with us that night to which you replied, quite reasonably, that you were not sure but would look at the menu he gave you. So, later Gareth asked you again, when you said that you would eat elsewhere. The following day Gareth asked about dinner on the second evening, which in the light of our relatively small dining room and kitchen is our normal practice. Again you declined. I am so sorry if you felt hassled in any way; this was certainly not our intention and, again I apologise. At the time of your stay our restaurant area was fully laid for diners, reflecting bookings, and on one night one table in the bar side was set for dinner as we were relatively busy on that evening. Other seats were occupied by people having a drink but I am surprised there were no available seats for you to enjoy a drink. As for the range of beers on tap; we are quite small, especially in terms of bar sales and so, to avoid huge waste, we offer two real ales, one or two lagers, a draft heritage cider and Guinness, supplemented by a small range of bottled ales and lager. I am sorry this fell short of your expectations. In responding to individual criticisms I am, in no way, excusing the fact that we clearly disappointed you and your husband and that we should have done better. I can only hope that you will call me and take up my offer to explore how we may try to make good the disappointment you feel. We do pride ourselves on delighting customers and I hope that we will have the opportunity of doing so for you and your husband in the future. James Duckett Chef/proprietor

Reviewed by
p kirkham

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely destination restaurant and B&B. Everything was very good. Only complaint was duvet to hot and heavy for time of year and temperature and would have liked an extra pillow . Requested one but none available.

Reviewed by
J Moore

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food - staff are amazing but lacked a little ambience.
We stayed here a few years ago and it has since changed owner. The food is just as fabulous as we remembered from our previous visit. The staff are even better - the young gentleman we assume was the manager was extremely knowledgeable and recommended some excellent wines with our meal. The rooms are fairly small but immaculate and they have added some really welcoming extras (complimentary cookies, grapes and sherry etc). With all these positives you'd think we'd be planning our next visit but I'm not sure we'd stay again, as the place lacked ambience. The bar/restaurant décor is tidy but rather bland - without any real style or character. The owners deserve to do really well but the only way we'd return is if it was priced quite a bit less or the restaurant/bar had a make over, which I think would bring more people in as it was really quiet for a Saturday evening.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely superb 3 night stay. It is rare to find such friendliness, service and hospitality anywhere and the food is wonderful. It was a real joy to stay here.

Reviewed by
Patricia A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FAB PLACE TO STAY
We had a wonderful time here, some of the nicest food we've ever had, excellent customer service, really tranquil and relaxing, felt very at home.

Reviewed by
J CROCKER

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next