No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Hall Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Whitehough, , , Chinley, SK23 6EJ
The Old Hall Inn & The Paper Mill Inn are quintessential country inn's offering a famously warm welcome, with a strong local trade all year round making for a great lively atmosphere any time of the year. The Old Hall has been voted Derbyshire Pub of the Year 2010 and 2011 and have won the Great British Pub Awards for ‘Best Cask Pub in the East Midlands' for the last three years running, have gone in to the Good Pub Guide for 2011 & 2012 and been award numerous accolades for our commitment to using Peak District produce in our restaurant. The Saturday Times placed the Old Hall at number 7 in the weekend pull out '30 great pubs for summer' as selected by Alastair Sawday. Its busy restaurant & ale trade spills into the adjacent Elizabethan Minstrels Gallery making the Old Hall a truly unique place to stay. The menu changes daily as our chefs prepare from fresh every day, using local produce from the best suppliers and farms. Our menu is kept small, but gives a choice of traditional pub food along with more gourmet choices if you fancy something special. Its fresh, simple, great value and we hope you’ll agree, delicious. Your Steak & Kidney Puddings are things dreams are made of! -- Mark. NORWICH Lovely food with a great atmosphere. -- Ash & Leanne. LONDON Best food I’ve ever had in a PUB! I’ll be back. -- Jonny. SCOTLAND The Paper Mill Inn has recently been acquired by the owners of the Old Hall Inn and undergone a full and extensive refurbishment, offering a further 4 en-suite rooms. The Paper Mill Inn is located just across the road from the Hall, and breakfast is served in the Minstrels Gallery with all our other guests. The Paper Mill Bar is open in the evenings and all day at weekends, and offers more ales, more world beers and live sports, in a cosy bar with open fires, flag floors and a warm welcome. We hope to welcome you soon...
Picture of The Old Hall Inn, Chinley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Country Inn
I lovely place where I have stayed before, with particularly comfortable bed-linen (pure cotton and with feather pillows, not synthetic) - this means I sleep really well there. It is located in a quiet hamlet, the food is superb and the owners and staff are very friendly helpful. Also there is a good range of local real ales available in the bar.

Reviewed by
Gabrielle L

From Gunnislake, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, friendly staff
Lovely room, described at time of booking as a small double but was plenty big enough for a comfortable weekend stay. Extremely friendly and hepful staff. The food was wonderful and both The Old Hall Inn and The Papermill had a great selection of ales. Would definitely visit again, just a shame I won't be able to make it back for the beer festival in September.

Reviewed by
R McAvoy

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st class in every way

Reviewed by
Tim Heape

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
Great for a weekend get away

Reviewed by
T LEIGH

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent - will definitely be going again
This was a shot in the dark, but couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. We got a really warm welcome. The staff were friendly. Food and atmosphere excellent. Really well situated for good walks - we'll certainly be going back. Thank you

Reviewed by
Louise N

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I will try to get a room here again when next working in the area

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing was too much trouble
On arrival I was given an upgraded room to the one I had booked, in the main Old Hall Inn rather than the adjoining Papermill Inn - it was really superb, spacious, nicely appointed with a balcony, and had the most comfortable bedding I have ever experienced at a hotel. I was a little late arriving for dinner (after a long drive from Cornwall) but I was still able to be served and they gave me a vase to keep the flowers fresh, which I had been unable to deliver before arriving. Breakfast was superb, served in part of the Old Hall itself. This Inn has a great deal of character, real ales (with interesting information on the art of brewing) and in short, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Reviewed by
Gabrielle L

From Gunnislake, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A historic retreat
Historic Inn in the Peak District which did much to enhance its reputation through good beer, good food and great service

Reviewed by
John D

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit for the spectacular views
Excellent place to stay, superb views, very friendly staff, would recommend to any of our friends. Good food although a slightly limited menu. Breakfasts very good.

Reviewed by
Kevin R

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
Lovely pub with rooms in pretty location. Very busy in evenings so book in advance if you plan to eat.

Reviewed by
Julia B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next