Reviews - The Duke of York


North Street, Shepton Beauchamp,, Ilminster, TA19 0LW

Price From 198.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (10)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • S Rumbelow

  • July 2015

Silver wedding

The welcome was warm & the accommodation was clean & exactly as expected.The breakfast was tasty & hot, just what we needed.

  • Sue B

  • July 2015

Excellent pub with great accomodation

A very pleasant pub with accomodation, nice atmosphere, pleasant staff, good food.

The room was very well presented, TV and Wi Fi, can't praise it enough

  • Emily S

  • April 2015

Friendly accommodation in Idyllic country village

Really enjoyed our long weekend here.

The pub food was excellent and staff very friendly. Only minor points for me would be the weak shower in studio room. Other than that it was lovely.

  • Catherine S

  • February 2015

The Duke of York

Stayed here for a friends wedding, It was fab, staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed in the room with the four poster bed and the jacuzzi bath so luxurious, will stay again no problem.

  • N Kozlowsky

  • January 2015

Fab place to stay!

Everyone was lovely & friendly at the duke of north.

Couldn't do enough for us to ensure we had a great stay. Really nice room with comfortable bed. Very clean. Couldn't fault it. Would definitely stay there again!!!!

  • Jason M

  • January 2015

Hidden treasure, very very warm welcome from owners and locals.Food was fantastic (all 3 courses)

If you get a chance you should book a night at the Duke.From the minute we arrived there was such a warm welcome from staff and locals.Very relaxed atmosphere.Food was amazing and I had the most tender 16 oz steak it just melted in my mouth.It is only a few miles from the major routes in and out of Taunton but is a real fantastic country pub in the sticks.5 star and thanks for a great stay

  • A Jackson

  • October 2014

Great stay at the Duke of York

Great stay at the Duke of York.

Rooms lovely, warm and very clean. Breakfast was great aswell. Would stay again for sure.

  • Steve C

  • October 2014

Great location, Great service, Great accommodation & Great food

Very friendly and lively pub with excellent food and beer.

Clean quite room, good service and helpful landlords. Would recommend the Duke of Yorks to anyone wishing a relaxing break.

  • Iain F

  • June 2014

Ssh !! Hidden Gem. Don't tell a soul!!

The setting is quiet and feels really remote: the rooms are modern, spotless and very well appointed.

The service is low key, friendly and efficient. The Food is way above expectation. What a little treasure. Stay if you can.

  • Martin B

  • June 2014

Great atmosphere and a warm welcome.

Really enjoyed my stay and was made to feel welcome by staff and locals alike.

Room was clean and comfortable, food was good.