No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tanes Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
148 Newport Road, Roath, , Cardiff, CF24 1DJ
Tanes Hotel has been welcoming guests under the personal and friendly supervision of the family that own and run it for nearly 40 years. A local institution, Tanes Hotel is a large Victorian house built in 1888 (retaining many original internal and external features), that prides itself on its quality, comfort and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel recently completed a major refurbishment to keep itself fresh and up to date. We are exactly ½ mile (approx. 15 minutes walk) from the City Centre of Cardiff, the Capital City of Wales and close to all local attractions. Guests can relax and unwind in our large front sitting/drawing room after a day’s sightseeing, or indeed after a hearty, freshly cooked breakfast enjoyed in our pleasant dining room appointed with bone china plates, cups and saucers for that superior service. Accommodation is provided in nineteen attractively furnished rooms that have all modern facilities. We look forward to meeting you and aim to provide the highest standards of service and comfort for your stay.
Picture of Tanes Hotel, Cardiff at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not welcome before 1pm checkin
stayed rugby weekend, had to return from city after game for second time to checkin. wasn't allowed to do so earlier even without wanting to visit room. theres need to have frontdoor key, has no one to let u in even around midnight. car parking can be bit of problem for large cars .narrow lane to entrance two suppurate parking areas first not marked tanes. room ok and clean tidy quiet. but shower didn't have hotwater working ? but basin did ?like all Cardiff rugby weekend hotels are over valued . could be ok at normal rates only

Reviewed by
o williams

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely welcoming hotel in a great location for a great price.
We have stayed here a number of times and have always been made to feel welcome and the room has been clean and nice. The bed is very comfy too which is great. The hotel offers great value for a nice pleasant room. We will be trying breakfast next time too which was offered for a very reasonable price. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Paula F

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really bad
Was promised one room, but finally was given a make shift optional room in a hotel opposite to The one i had booked.
The worst part was when i was informed that the room i had paid for is pre-occupied and the previous travellers had not left.
Ironically the hotel still had the Vacancy board on, but he was not able to get the room i had booked for.
Room provided was claimed to be an upgraded room, but it was too small and could accomodate only 1. Had to choose it with no option left as i had reached around 8 pm after a long drive

Reviewed by
Raghul A

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel with very nice room

Reviewed by
David M

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply lovely!
The room I had was spotless, and breakfast delicious.. The staff obviously cared about their guests and couldn't do enough to help.. Loved sitting in the lounge area working! Thank you all...

Reviewed by
Sharon W

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at tanes hotel
nice room close to bus route clean room staff attentive

Reviewed by
cliff chapman

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Stayed here for one night. Staff were friendly upon arrival and everything was explained. The room was spacious for a single and although it was a shared bathroom it was very clean. Great facilities provided and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was lovely and great value for money. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
c kane

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay over
I required a one night stop over in Cardiff. Tanes was perfect. Easy to find with parking & close to city centre, with bus stop right outside. Very friendly and helpful staff. A very spotlessly clean and comfortable room and bed. And the same with the bathroom, with lashings of hot water. A hair drier would have been usefully, but I'm sure if I'd asked one would have been produced. Fantastic value!

Reviewed by
Helen G

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and efficient, minor problems encountered
Tanes Hotel is situated centrally enough to be able to walk downtown; it's spotlessly clean and refurbished to a high standard (our room, the bathrooms and the corridors all looked brand new). We stayed in room 17 which faces the street and we couldn't get the window to close tightly, so not all the traffic noise was blocked out. The shower was right next door and there was a sink in the room so it's almost like ensuite:) (but dear owners, please fix the shower lift so that it can be used, just one screw needs to be tightened!)
There is parking at the back of the house - note that there is a gate next to the house for direct access, they forgot to let us know so we walked needlessly around the block several times. Also, the backyard is locked for the night, so ask for it to be opened for you before you leave in the morning:)
Breakfast is nothing special but OK for the cost of it and there isn't anything else to choose from nearby. Beware of the instant coffee though!:S

Reviewed by
Kitty M

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The hotel was excellent and the breakfast in the morning was to a very high standard. I left my phone charger in the room which they quickly send on to me at no extra cost. Great value and easy walk into Cardiff and you can park safely.

Reviewed by
Matthew s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next