No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
69 Derby Road, , , Melbourne, DE73 8FE
Whether for business or leisure, a warm and friendly welcome awaits you at The Coach House, a popular AA 4 Star Guest House offering great value comfortable rooms, all with modern ensuite facilities. We have a number of ground floor rooms, free parking and free WiFi access. Enjoy a fabulous English breakfast plus cereals, fresh fruit & home made jams. Look out for our Weekend Discounts! The Coach House is just out from the centre of historic Melbourne, a village with pretty houses, friendly people, lots of pubs and good restaurants, a supermarket and a good range of shops (including a great shoe shop!), all just a short level walk away. Melbourne Hall (open in August only) and Gardens (open April to September) was home to Queen Victoria's first Prime Minister, Lord Melbourne, who gave his name to Melbourne in Australia. Browse round the Visitor Centre (open most days) where the Gift Shop and Estate Workshops provide a fine selection of unique gift ideas. Well worth a visit is the Parish Church, one of the finest in England and described as “a cathedral in miniature”, followed by a walk round Melbourne Pool (remember to feed the ducks!) and a visit to the Hall Tearooms. Thomas Cook was Melbourne born, and started his travel empire from here selling train excursion tickets. Melbourne is easy to get to, just 6 miles from the M1 and M42 motorways and with excellent access to Derby, Nottingham and Donington Park. Melbourne is at the southern tip of The Peak District and in the central region of The National Forest, and is surrounded by Historic Houses such as Chatsworth House and Hardwick Hall, Walking and Cycle Routes, great Shopping and fun family activities whatever the weather (ask us for a brochure with discount vouchers worth over £100). Nearby attractions include 3 stunning National Trust Estates (Calke Abbey, Kedleston Hall, and Sudbury Hall), Twycross Zoo, National Memorial Arboretum, Royal Crown Derby and Alton Towers.
Picture of The Coach House, Melbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb!
Beautifully decorated, superbly equipped, clean room. Warm, welcoming proprietor. Would definitely stay again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind review and great comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the décor, we keep it simple but use quality furniture and soft furnishings. Many thanks and kind regards, Beverley

Reviewed by
Jill M

From Battle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely, Comfortable & Friendly
Our host welcomed us on arrival and made us feel at home. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast choice was wide and varied and to a very high standard. Some may find the stairs quite steep but there is a downstairs bedroom. In all a very pleasant stay.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are quite right about the stairs, they are steep, but 3 of our 6 rooms are on the ground floor so we do have plenty of options. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast, it's such a nice treat to have cooked breakfast when you are away I find. Many thanks, Beverley

Reviewed by
Malcolm W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful staying there!
It was a pleasure to visit the town of Melbourne and The Coach House. Beverly is an excellent host and made me feel right at home!

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you found out, Melbourne really is a lovely small town to visit. Kind Regards, Beverley

Reviewed by
Ines Neves

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay at The Coach House
Beverley and Adrian were helpful and welcoming. The Coach House is situated in a pleasant village with a variety of good places to eat within easy walking distance. My room was spacious with good facilities and an extremely comfortable bed. A cooked breakfast was included in the price, which made the stay extremely good value for money. I would most definitely return, if working in the area again. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Lynn S

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommened
Friendly host, great location, plenty of places to eat within walking distance, nice indian restaurant close by, property well looked after. would stay again if working close by.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As you found, Melbourne has plenty of places to eat, and a great deal of variety. Kind regards, Beverley

Reviewed by
andrew h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a pleasure to stay and meet the lady in charge made my stay great
Will go back again

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Beverley

Reviewed by
Nigel Payne

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay
We came across this hotel because of delays at East Midlands airport. The hotel is close near by and the welcome, even booking at the last minute, was very warm and friendly. The service was excellent and the breakfast first class. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the coach house at Melbourne!

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you at such short notice and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Beverley

Reviewed by
Rob C

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
The accommodation was excellent in all respects. Facilities and service first class. The parking was a little limited but we did not find for ourselves it to be a problem. The only drawback to the locality was that all the restaurants in the town were heavily booked.

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to review The Coach House. Melbourne certainly was busy that weekend not even sure why. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a small carpark but as you found it isn't usually a problem. Thank you again. Regards, Beverley

Reviewed by
John H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great !
Great host; good breakfast, nice location. Excellent value for money.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Coach House. Kind Regards, Beverley

Reviewed by
alex p

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

AN ENJOYABLE VISIT
The Coach House was very very good. Our room was spacious modern and very comfortable.
The breakfast was great and the couple who own it were very sociable.
There were lots of walks and very interesting places to see.
We will return and stay longer.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind review. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Coach House. Like many people who visit our small town. I see that you found a surprising amount to see and do. I am pleased that we were able to point you in a couple of interesting areas. We look forward to welcoming you back one day. Kind regards Beverley

Reviewed by
P Burnham

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.