No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Liston Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
5 Wollstonecraft Rd, Boscombe Manor, , Bournemouth, BH5 1JQ
Set in a matured garden in the peaceful Boscombe Manor, only two minutes walk from Bournemouth's ornamental cliff top gardens and a few minutes walk from the safe and golden sands of the blue flag awarded beaches, away from the hustle and bustle but under two miles from Bournemouth town centre. The Liston Hotel boasts 25 en-suite bedrooms, all tastefully decorated and very comfortable, all available with colour televisions and tea making facilities. Choose from our standard rooms, mid-range or our large and modern luxury rooms and enjoy continental style or traditonal English breakfast in our dining room. During your stay you may wish to compliment your visit by dining at Gilbey's award winning restaurant, or take lunch on the decked area in our matured garden surroundings during the summer.
Picture of Liston Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasent Surprise
We stayed Friday and Saturday night. We upgraded to a better room and were rewarded with a junior suite with balcony. We had a fridge and safe in the room along with iron and ironing board. The room was clean and tidy. My partner was a little disappointed that the towels were not changed after the first night but other than that everything was perfect. The view from our balcony was excellent in that we overlooked an attractive garden. The room was very quiet at night.
My partner was unable to climb stairs so we had to use the lift. This was poor in that it was very slow and jerked so causing discomfort to her back.
We had a meal in the restaurant on the Friday night and this again was excellent for both service and quality of food. It was not cheap but of lovely quality.
This hotel does have coach parties and we missed them so it was very quiet.
It is located just off the sea front so is only a short walk to the sea.
There are no shops nearby and parking is restricted but adequate.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet stay and certainly try the evening meals.

Reviewed by
David A

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was large and very comfortable large balcony with seating
The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful
Really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again

Reviewed by
A Wrobel

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely not worth the money
We were very disappointed by our experience here. There was a function going on (UKIP!) in reception which meant there was no parking when we arrived and being close to the seafront no parking near the hotel. It took about ten-15 minutes to book in and at 100 per night - additional charge was made for breakfast for the two of us. There were no directions to the rooms and as the corridors are warrens we spent a long time looking for our room which was at the back and through three fire doors. The room was also poorly decorated with what appeared to be ex kitchen cabinets with worktops painted over in grey paint. The bed was a small double and the TV didn't pick up all the channels. The best thing was the door opening onto a balcony which enabled us to keep cool. The bar was not very friendly and we felt out of sorts staying around so went to bed early. Its a shame because we only saw the garden and the rooms in the morning at breakfast (which was functional) . I can imagine this being a good place for a function though and the indoor decoration although old-fashioned was lovely. But we won't stay again as for what it is - it is overpriced and poor value for money.

Reviewed by
K Frost

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was fabulous!! A little dark in the main area where the beds were but the balcony more than made up for that!! Only wish I my trip wasn't so short so I could have stayed for longer!

Reviewed by
M Street

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff our all very friendly and welcoming , the rooms are very tidy and contemporary.
Would definitely stay at the Liston hotel Again, same room with the large balcony as was spot on.
Staff were pleasant and helpful. Overall very nice hotel and room was very modern and elegant with everything you could ask for.

Reviewed by
Ben C

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised by the Other Reviews
I'm at a loss as to how this got such a good customer rating.
On check in I was ignored for a few minutes until I pointedly asked to check. While the lady was attending to me the phone went with what was obviously a dinner booking. On answering it she then walked off to another part of the hotel and just left me standing there!
The room was OK and for the money fine. Very clean. However it was a very hot day and it was baking. The window was closed and the curtains opened. It would have been thoughtful as there was no AC and no fan surely to have opened the window and closed the curtains. I slept badly there was a lot of noise from other rooms. Creaking, taps, people talking and I think even snoring!! You could hear the water running in other rooms all the time.
I didn't eat here - the smell of cooking through the hotel put me off.
Having said that I only paid £40 and had it not been so hot I probably would have slept!

Reviewed by
dianne b

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot Stuff
Can't blame the hotel for the hottest, stickiest night of the year, but after looking forward to a nice cooling shower I discovered that the shower controls were faulty and only ran at scalding hot!. They need to fix this before somebody sues them.

Reviewed by
A Gooch

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Liston
Friendly lady on reception clean room just as advertised

Reviewed by
David Jones

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bournemouth

Reviewed by
Mike Skelly

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend at The Liston Hotel
Can not fault The Liston Hotel, friendly helpful people.
Clean, quiet and a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
david l

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next