No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Salford Arms Hotel

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
146, Chapel Street , Salford, M3 6AF
Bar, Non-smoking rooms, Express check-out, Heating, Luggage storage, All public and private spaces non-smoking, Designated smoking area.

Games room, Billiards, Karaoke

Free! Wi-fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge.
Picture of Salford Arms Hotel, Salford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
53% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel I ever see or stayed in. Absolutely discussing.

Reviewed by
Martin Harrison

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced even at bargain basement cost
This was the cheapest single room available in Manchester when I booked the night before travelling. At £50, I was not expecting much. There is no doubt that the Salford Arms is a pretty ropey establishment and I was prepared for that. However, the bed did not appear to have been changed since the last guest, there was a single hand towel provided, there was a kettle and coffee but no cup, the window was broken and would not shut (the room overlooked a busy junction and the noise was awful), the TV didn't work and the blinds did nothing to keep out the streetlight. All in all, I would have been about as comfortable if I had slept in my car.

Reviewed by
A Ashworth

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay at the Salford Arms!
The Salford Arms Hotel was very welcoming and clean, the staff were all extremely friendly and prepared to help you with anything you should need within reason. The locking system on the doors up to the rooms made me feel secure about leaving my things unattended and the staff where all very unobtrusive! The location is great, just on the outskirts of the city center and in very close proximity to two of manchester's great museums (a great wander for a hangover :))
I would say to those of you looking for a luxury experience, and prepared to pay the price of a small european holiday to stay in one of manchesters more premium Hotels, the Salford arms probably isn't for you.
However if you're Like me and my partner and travelling to manchester to enjoy a little more than the room you all but sleep in. The Salford arms is a great budget choice!

Reviewed by
Ben S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend in Manchester

Reviewed by
Roger A

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolute rip off, room was rubbish, even poor students would not stay here!!!!!
£94 for three wee beds in a very insecure room above a very insecure area filled with drunks and whatever, Do not go there, proprietor needed payment before I saw the room, should have seen that one coming!!

Reviewed by
Phil D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dilapidated, depressing and over-priced
For £69 a night I expect more than a bare, featureless room with no en-suite toilet, no breakfast, and no servicing of the room on day 2. It's literally a place to doss if you can't find anywhere else. On the positive side it's a traditional pub with good beer, friendly staff and it is just 25 minutes walk from central Manchester. It has a lot of potential, but it is in sore need of renovation and cheering up. The rooms are accessed via smelly, unloved and unpleasant corridors and the whole place needs upgrading.

Reviewed by
Tony Coll

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Hotel - You get what you pay for
Just as the title states, good for the price. If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep the night with a few friends, this is certainly the best place for it.
Don't expect bed and breakfast, spa, facilities or a full treatment. But the manager was excellent and incredibly helpful with anything we'd want. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.
Keep in mind, it's above a pub, so if you're a light sleeper, or mind that type of atmosphere, I wouldn't recommend it. Otherwise, if you like to grab a drink with friends, it's perfect. So i'd recommend this place to the lads, rather than a tea-total family.
It's dead in the city center, so everything else should be nearby.

Reviewed by
B Al-Kattan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The whole experience was shambolic, I was put in a room with my son who had just travelled from Germany just above the hotel smoking area. One was the noise from the smokers and secondly the window didn't close properly so I tried the blind which was broken so a no win situation. One bath towel was provided so my son had use the hand towels to dry after a shower, towels were stained. No tea coffee facility, bedding inadequate, the stairway to the bedroom filthy and smelly. This is not a hotel more like a hostel, I have stayed in hostels and they are a lot better than this accommodation. I paid £84 for me and my son for one night, no tea coffee no sleep and no breakfast, avoid this place, I should have listened to the taxi driver who took me there and he warned me about the hotel, it's advertised as a hotel (no chance)!!

Reviewed by
David N

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room facilities
Better tea and coffee in rooms we had no milk and only 1 cup for a double room

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really shabby hotel
This has been the worst hotel I stayed in fro the last few years. Entrance to the hotel from the pub is through a door which leads to the men's toilets. The smell was disgusting and it was detected up t o the first floor. My room on the top floor was reachable through several narrow and steep staircases. The door lock wasn't working properly and the person accompanying me had to demonstrate how to operate it. Room was dirty (apart from the bed sheet and towels which were crisp and clean). Light at the basin wasn't working, blind at the window were broken, there was a piece of laminated floor tile missing near the window. tea facilities were very poor (not even a teaspoon to stir the sugar) and in general the floor was dusty and dirty. I paid £60 for a night stay (no breakfast) but it was not definitively a good value for money. The only reason I decided not to leave is that I arrived at 10pm and I already paid for the room before viewing. No need to say I would not go back there. I am actually surprised Late Rooms has this level of accommodation within their offers.

Reviewed by
MAURIZIO G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next