No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Salford Arms Hotel

Not Classified  Small Hotel Ratings explained
146, Chapel Street , Salford, M3 6AF
Bar, Non-smoking rooms, Express check-out, Heating, Luggage storage, All public and private spaces non-smoking, Designated smoking area.

Games room, Billiards, Karaoke

Free! Wi-fi is available in the entire hotel and is free of charge.
Picture of Salford Arms Hotel, Salford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolute rip off, room was rubbish, even poor students would not stay here!!!!!
£94 for three wee beds in a very insecure room above a very insecure area filled with drunks and whatever, Do not go there, proprietor needed payment before I saw the room, should have seen that one coming!!

Reviewed by
Phil D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dilapidated, depressing and over-priced
For £69 a night I expect more than a bare, featureless room with no en-suite toilet, no breakfast, and no servicing of the room on day 2. It's literally a place to doss if you can't find anywhere else. On the positive side it's a traditional pub with good beer, friendly staff and it is just 25 minutes walk from central Manchester. It has a lot of potential, but it is in sore need of renovation and cheering up. The rooms are accessed via smelly, unloved and unpleasant corridors and the whole place needs upgrading.

Reviewed by
Tony Coll

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Hotel - You get what you pay for
Just as the title states, good for the price. If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep the night with a few friends, this is certainly the best place for it.
Don't expect bed and breakfast, spa, facilities or a full treatment. But the manager was excellent and incredibly helpful with anything we'd want. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.
Keep in mind, it's above a pub, so if you're a light sleeper, or mind that type of atmosphere, I wouldn't recommend it. Otherwise, if you like to grab a drink with friends, it's perfect. So i'd recommend this place to the lads, rather than a tea-total family.
It's dead in the city center, so everything else should be nearby.

Reviewed by
B Al-Kattan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The whole experience was shambolic, I was put in a room with my son who had just travelled from Germany just above the hotel smoking area. One was the noise from the smokers and secondly the window didn't close properly so I tried the blind which was broken so a no win situation. One bath towel was provided so my son had use the hand towels to dry after a shower, towels were stained. No tea coffee facility, bedding inadequate, the stairway to the bedroom filthy and smelly. This is not a hotel more like a hostel, I have stayed in hostels and they are a lot better than this accommodation. I paid £84 for me and my son for one night, no tea coffee no sleep and no breakfast, avoid this place, I should have listened to the taxi driver who took me there and he warned me about the hotel, it's advertised as a hotel (no chance)!!

Reviewed by
David N

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room facilities
Better tea and coffee in rooms we had no milk and only 1 cup for a double room

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really shabby hotel
This has been the worst hotel I stayed in fro the last few years. Entrance to the hotel from the pub is through a door which leads to the men's toilets. The smell was disgusting and it was detected up t o the first floor. My room on the top floor was reachable through several narrow and steep staircases. The door lock wasn't working properly and the person accompanying me had to demonstrate how to operate it. Room was dirty (apart from the bed sheet and towels which were crisp and clean). Light at the basin wasn't working, blind at the window were broken, there was a piece of laminated floor tile missing near the window. tea facilities were very poor (not even a teaspoon to stir the sugar) and in general the floor was dusty and dirty. I paid £60 for a night stay (no breakfast) but it was not definitively a good value for money. The only reason I decided not to leave is that I arrived at 10pm and I already paid for the room before viewing. No need to say I would not go back there. I am actually surprised Late Rooms has this level of accommodation within their offers.

Reviewed by
MAURIZIO G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap hotel m
Checked in behind the bar and had to stand around awkwardly for a while with suitcases around punters. Shown to room. Had to walk past male toilets which stank of urine and made all the bottom of the stairs smell (we all held our breaths whenever passing by to stop heaving). Room was okay, beds very comfy and an amazing shower!! Opened the bedroom window but couldn't close it again because it was the wrong size?!? Bathroom window also wouldn't shut. Blind was hanging off in the bedroom so couldn't close that properly. Hadn't restocked toilet roll we had to go and ask for one? The sides were also grubby. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to be honest but the staff were friendly and helpful and it was okay for a cheap nights stay.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this is not a hotel. When i arrived i was dismay to see that what was called a hotel was in fact a pub with a few rooms above. This website should be ashamed of itself for false advertisement. had to look for alternative hotel. As a i would not let my dog stay there.

Reviewed by
A Martin

From mullingar,, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I will start with the positives for the Salford Arms Hotel. The hotel was easy to find, directly oppposite Salford Central station, and despite been above a pub there really wasn't much noise in the rooms from the pub. I stayed in a room with a shower, which was good, although it was just in the corner of the bedroom.
There are some negatives, although the hotel is in the cheap section of the market I would still expect something a little better, as my stay did cost 45 a night. The main things were the general cleanliness of the hotel, the rooms and communal areas were quite dirty especially the floors. Secondly I had a window in my room that was broken so wouldn't shut, which wasn't ideal as the hotel is opposite a train station and on a fairly busy road. It also meant the blinds on the window didn't stay closed, so I had a couple showers in the dark to save Manchester catching a glimpse of me mid-shower, really don't think the people of Manchester needed to see that! I did have a kettle in the room too, but no cups/mugs although I am sure they would have happily provided them should I have asked.
It would be an OK place to stay for people going out in Manchester and just needing somewhere to crash for a few hours, preferrably after a big night out.

Reviewed by
D Potts

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
My room was very clean and comfortable ( that would receive top marks if it hadn't been for the loo), the room didn't have an ensuite toilet, there was one down the hall, the toilet was filthy, skid marks in the pan, no loo roll and no soap at the sink. There was no soap in my room, also I wasn't so sure about the locks on the doors, they didn't seem that secure, some of them definately looked like someone had tried to get in, you had to leave the pub by a back door if you left during the pub being shut, the staff were very helpful and friendly. I did think the room was expensive as I have stayed in much cheaper accomodation and better quality. No breakfast. It is very noisy from live music at night but does quieten down at a reasonable time.

Reviewed by
Maxine M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next