No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl

4Swaklasifikasi Penginapan Ratings explained
Barrows Green, , , Kendal, LA8 0AA
We are well situated for a visit to the Lake District. Whether it be a relaxing break away from home or a more energetic walking, climbing or cycling trip. Being just 3 miles from the M6 and even closer to Kendal, Windermere is about a 15 minute drive and Ambleside a further 10 mins. Oxenholme main line train station is just over a mile away. We are perfectly placed at the gateway to the lakes whatever the reason for your trip. We have a friendly team here (mostly family), and we really appreciate how lucky we are to live and work in such a beautiful part of the world, so feel free to ask any questions during your visit. If we don't know the answer we'll probably know a chap who does! Our rooms are a real home from home - cosy with a contemporary feel. No "strict" times for breakfast, so if your body needs a little extra rest then thats fine, have a late breakfast. All rooms have flat screen digital tv's, free unlimited wifi, super comfy luxury king size beds, quick boil kettles, soothing powerful showers, big fluffy towels, complimentary bottled water, complimentary cookies and even a complimentary bar of Kendal Mint Cake. Our rates include a Full English Breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juice and hot drinks.
Picture of The Punch Bowl, Kendal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
I found the friendly reception we received really nice. Everyone was more than accommodating making us feel quite at home.

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find
Great location to visit Lake District attractions.
Friendly staff, excellent service, fab food and lovely room as well.
On the list to go back......a happy customer.

Reviewed by
Jan B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

punch bowl
There are three Punch bowls within 5 miles of each (allegedly) other so make sure you know which one you have booked. This one only has only two letting rooms but the service, hospitality, room comfort and food are of a high standard, evening meal has a large choice with a specials board, breakfast is at a time to suit the customer and uses excellent ingredients, they may have to watch quantity control, we waddled out! Nice touches in the bedroom, sweets, Kendal cake and usual tea/coffee, shower only in the room we were in but more than sufficient

Reviewed by
M G

From Chalfont St Giles, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience at this friendly inn
The owner of the Punch Bowl Inn has thought a lot about the customer experience and it shows - from the comfortable rooms (with Kendal Mint Cake thrown in for good measure!) to the great food in the bar, all pulled together by friendly staff. Would totally recommend.

Reviewed by
Robert F

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Fabulous
Our stay here was excellant. The room was lovely and then little extras meant a lot. We stayed for dinner which was outstanding. Breakfast in the morning was too die for.

Reviewed by
Martha W

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay
From the minute we arrived to the time we left we was so well looked after, the accommodation is exactly what we expected, clean, comfortable. Dave and his family and staff do an excellent job running this Inn nothing is to much trouble his breakfast is to die for it kept us going all day until we returned early evening to dine with them the food choices are just perfect. We have already recommended their Inn to our family and friends.

Reviewed by
Ann Jauncey

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There are three establishments of the same name within a small radius of one another, and we visited the other two in error whilst seeking this one! On finding it however, we were not disappointed, being warmly welcomed by the friendly and courteous staff and shown to our comfortable room. The room was clean and met all our requirements, with adequate towels and toiletries, and complimentary extras. The food in the hotel was first class, breakfasts and evening meals alike, and there was a warm, friendly atmosphere in the pub which was busy each evening with events such as pub quizzes and local club meetings. The situation of the hotel was ideal for our needs, perfectly placed for exploring the Lakes and Dales, and with on-site parking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return.

Reviewed by
M Morrison

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing place, friendly staff, definitely recommend
Absolutely fab hotel, lovely hosts clean rooms very modern decor will be staying again

Reviewed by
Samantha Johnson

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great start ot our visit to the Lake District
Luxury room and nice touch to leave Kendal Mint Cake. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We ate in the pub for our evening meal, and food was really nice, huge portions. The road outside is busy, and did quieten at night, didnt bother us at all. There was a lovely atmosphere about the place and was run very well. Great location to explore Windermere Lake.

Reviewed by
D Dipietro

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Lovely clean room. Wonderful shower with quality towels. Staff all really nice ,friendly and efficient.
Went for a walk across the road from the Inn up a hill which rewards you with a fantastic view for very little effort!
Breakfast excellent
Only drawback was my room was at the front which meant there was noise from passing traffic through the night

Reviewed by
D Stevens

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next