No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Punch Bowl

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Barrows Green, , , Kendal, LA8 0AA
We are well situated for a visit to the Lake District. Whether it be a relaxing break away from home or a more energetic walking, climbing or cycling trip. Being just 3 miles from the M6 and even closer to Kendal, Windermere is about a 15 minute drive and Ambleside a further 10 mins. Oxenholme main line train station is just over a mile away. We are perfectly placed at the gateway to the lakes whatever the reason for your trip. We have a friendly team here (mostly family), and we really appreciate how lucky we are to live and work in such a beautiful part of the world, so feel free to ask any questions during your visit. If we don't know the answer we'll probably know a chap who does! Our rooms are a real home from home - cosy with a contemporary feel. No "strict" times for breakfast, so if your body needs a little extra rest then thats fine, have a late breakfast. All rooms have flat screen digital tv's, free unlimited wifi, super comfy luxury king size beds, quick boil kettles, soothing powerful showers, big fluffy towels, complimentary bottled water, complimentary cookies and even a complimentary bar of Kendal Mint Cake. Our rates include a Full English Breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, juice and hot drinks.
Picture of The Punch Bowl, Kendal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem!
Really warm reception from David the landlord,beautiful room with lots of little touches that made the room special. Super comfy bed and the food was delicious.

Reviewed by
Tina LePoidevin

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem
What a hidden gem! The room was superb!!! with such thoughtful touches it just added to the luxury of the room....The moment my partner and I stepped into the pub, we were made to feel so welcome and at home without Dave his lovely wife and staff being obtrusive in the their attention to our every need..
We slept so well and to have the breakfast sourced from their family farm the next morning was amazing and just added to the overall experience..
We would have happily ate at the pub that evening of our stay but we were meeting friends, the homemade dishes on the menu looked awesome..
I would recommend the Punch Bowl to anyone, (however we may selfishly just want to keep this little gem for ourselves,) as we will definitely be returning again..
Thank you so much for such a memorable stay!!

Reviewed by
S Jackson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Lovely clean quiet room with some nice little touches. Great value

Reviewed by
Matt Beckett

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional
It is rare that I leave reviews but the Punch Bowl deserves one. Fantastic in every way. Little touches in the room that show the owners care about their guests. Superb food at reasonalble price and good beer to boot.
Internet was slow but maybe that is a plus!

Reviewed by
george h

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and 1st class
We were just staying overnight and due to unforseen circumstances we did not arrive till 10.30pm. Phoned and it was no problem at all, in fact nothing was to much trouble excellent customer service - something that is so much lacking these days. Breakfast next morning was steaming hot and tasty again you dont find breakfasts like it at the majority of places.
Excellent excellent and excellent a real pleasure.

Reviewed by
c constant

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hidden gem
Stayed here when we visited Leighton moss rspb, only 20 minutes away. Lovely room, food and real ale was well kept. Recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Karen Brown

From Liversedge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Country Inn
The Punchbowl Inn is a refurbished country inn with a couple of en-suite rooms. Its a couple of miles outside Kendal with a rural feel by a road. The accomodation was modern , clean and compfortable with a rapid boil kettle the like of which I'd never seen. Breakfast was excellent with local produce and a good selection of fruits and cereals. Very friendly. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From arriving to leaving a very happy and satisfying experience. The weather could have been kinder, but it did nothing to spoil our stay, Dave , Laura and the rest of the gang made it a great short break. A very friendly atmosphere , and very friendly locals who came into The Punch Bowl.
They introduced themselves and made us feel welcome.

Reviewed by
G Ritchie

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoying the hospitality
We did enjoy the hospitality of the owners very much and were extremely satisfied with the services provided. We were cared for in every sense. The provided meals were extraordinary tasty and home made from local produce. Extremely recommendable for friends and further visits. We will return for sure in the future.

Reviewed by
B Svajker

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
I found the friendly reception we received really nice. Everyone was more than accommodating making us feel quite at home.

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Loughton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next