Reviews - The Punch Bowl


Barrows Green, ,, Kendal, LA8 0AA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (44)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Stephany M

  • November 2015

The Punch Bowl

This is a little piece of heaven in this mad fast world...

No mobile phone service, peaceful, quiet. You would never believe you where above a busy pub. Perfect place to escape everything

  • Mark Hourston

  • October 2015

Lovely coach house in the middle of stunning Lakes country side

We stayed one night but wished it was more.

The hosts were very welcoming with nice touches like showing us to our room and the famous Kendal mint cake on the pillow. Big hearty breakfast served at the time we wanted, excellent personal service. I would thoroughly recommend the Punch Bowl.

  • J Hoult

  • September 2015

Top marks for friendly pub accommodation

Reviews don't do this accommodation and staff justice.

It really has to be experienced. On the edge of Kendal it was very quite, with cows and sheep in the field next door. Lots of free parking next to the accommodation. There was lots of information on the surrounding areas should you wish to visit them. The room was traditional with modern touches. Wonderfully comfortable bed. A "one-cup" kettle, which is brilliant. Small bowl of sweets, small packets of biscuits and a large Kendal mint cake bar. David, Chris and the staff were very friend.y, but not pushy. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was delicious, with very generous portions. My husband ate all his but sadly I could only eat half of mine. No disrespect to the chef at all. The menu is varied and on the first night I had a starter as a main meal. No room for dessert though. I only managed dessert one night but I had to take it to the room to eat later. I couldn't miss sampling a baked cheesecake, whisk is the best I've tasted with millionaires shortbread slices on the top. Heavenly. We joined the Quizz on our last night (Monday) and it was really good. It's only the second one we've ever taken part it and we knew more than we thought. We'll definitely visit again.

  • peter f

  • August 2015

2 day short break

We enjoyed 2 nights at The Punch Bowl.

The service, food and drink was great and the atmosphere was lovely, wish we could have stayed on the Sunday to try Sunday Lunch.

  • T MacLeod

  • July 2015

The Punch Bowl

Excellent customer service and excellent accomodation.

  • Richard M

  • June 2015

Cracking little B & B Nicer Touches than most hotels

Really nice pub with nice rooms and great little touches, i.e.

sweets and Kendal mint cake. Nice food. I would stay again no hesitation. Some road noise in morning as on busy road but I had to be up so it didn't matter!

  • John B

  • June 2015

Accommodation for Great North Swim

From the first point of arrival we were made to feel very welcome, it was almost like coming home and yet we had not stayed at the Punch Bowl previously.

The room was contemporary, very clean and extremely comfortable (with a big bowl of toffees and fudge). A good nights sleep was had. The evening meal was excellent and service was very efficient and unobtrusive. Well what can I say about breakfast after the previous days swim. A full English to remember with locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. This was accompanied by the freshest bread served with homemade Jams (Cherry, Strawberry, Marmalade) wow. Dave the owner is clearly a busy man who is passionate about the customer experience and he still managed to find time for a friendly chat about the b&b, food, local walks and was interested to hear about my swim. Dave, you have got it just right, don't change anything.

  • Tina LePoidevin

  • February 2015

What a gem!

Really warm reception from David the landlord,beautiful room with lots of little touches that made the room special.

Super comfy bed and the food was delicious.

  • S Jackson

  • February 2015

A hidden gem

What a hidden gem.

The room was superb!!. with such thoughtful touches it just added to the luxury of the room....The moment my partner and I stepped into the pub, we were made to feel so welcome and at home without Dave his lovely wife and staff being obtrusive in the their attention to our every need.. We slept so well and to have the breakfast sourced from their family farm the next morning was amazing and just added to the overall experience.. We would have happily ate at the pub that evening of our stay but we were meeting friends, the homemade dishes on the menu looked awesome..

I would recommend the Punch Bowl to anyone, (however we may selfishly just want to keep this little gem for ourselves,) as we will definitely be returning again.. Thank you so much for such a memorable stay!!

  • Matt Beckett

  • November 2014

Great Value

Lovely clean quiet room with some nice little touches.

Great value