No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tal Y Don Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Tal Y Don Hotel, High Street , Barmouth, LL42 1DL
The Tal y Don Hotel is situated in the middle of the small seaside town of Barmouth in Gwynedd, north-west Wales, and is just a 2 minute walk from the main beach and 3 minutes from the picturesque harbour. It is an ideal place to book a room for bed and breakfast, have lunch or an evening meal, or visit for a drink in the evening.

Barmouth is a popular coastal holiday resort situated between the mountains and the sea, at the mouth of the beautiful Mawddach estuary.

The Tal y Don Hotel offers bed and breakfast accommodation, restaurant, home cooked foods, a popular large comfortable bar and an enclosed attractive beer garden with a water feature and children's play area.

We have 5 individually styled en-suite bedrooms, and we accommodate guests with dogs.

The hotel bar has a fine selection of cask conditioned ales and premium lagers with an extensive range of single malt whiskies, spirits and wines.
Picture of Tal Y Don Hotel, Barmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 99 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast is fantastic and Jane is a complete star......thank you!!!

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Took the dog
A wonderfull hotel couldn't do enough for you It's a pet freindly hotel so wasn't expecting a fantastic place but I was wrong it was as good as you will ever get we could not ask for more thank you

Reviewed by
mark amy

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely centrally placed hotel. Parking can be a problem and needs some planning. There is a lot of good parking very near the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and when I asked for a first floor bedroom when booking they went out of there way to accommodate us. Lovely friendly staff. Good clean accommodation with comfortable bed. Very good value for money. The scenery was stunning. Would definitely go back there.

Reviewed by
E Davies

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
very pleasant and well decorated room.great beer.breakfast left a lot to be desired.seemed to be cooked and left in the oven.tough bacon,fried bread and over done fried egg.

Reviewed by
m hicks

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly licensed hotel
very handy for the railway station which suited us but probably not so good for those arriving by car as there is no car park (although there are many public car parks close by). Nice atmosphere and a cheerful assembly of locals.

Reviewed by
j brooks

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Tal Y Don
Tal Y Don hotel was an excellent choice for staying over in Barmouth. It was convenient for sightseeing in the area and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Jepson

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On route
Warm welcome and helpful with parking the bikes for the night. Really nice room and comfy bed. Good location to all Barmouth has to offer

Reviewed by
Nicky P

From Cradley Heath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for us
We was expecting a hotel, it's a pub with rooms above. The staff are friendly enough and the food was nice. The room was above the bar and extremely noisy, so sleep was impossible until the pub closed, it's on the Main Street and very noisy in the morning too. Nowhere to park. Do not use the car park to the left, the old man who works there is the rudest man in wales. Wouldn't go again if it was free.

Reviewed by
michael p

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In the heart of the towns hustle and bustle.
We really enjoyed our stay, the pub is situated right in the centre of a Barmouth which is a lovely town, which made it an ideal base. We had our two dogs with us which represented no problem at all as they they were welcomed by the staff just like us! Even in the middle of the holiday season there is ample space for taking the dogs onto the beach and dunes as there is plenty of dog freindly areas to go at, and some lovely walking elsewhere on the countryside paths ect. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves but future customers should be aware there is no car parking at the pub which can present a problem if you are unaware as we were. We also found it difficult to get to sleep before midnight in our room as it was directly over the beer garden/smoking area which could get on the noisy side!

Reviewed by
Martin W

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good overall. Staff were friendly, room was clean and tidy. Made to feel welcome. Great location. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Jamie M

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next