No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tal Y Don Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Tal Y Don Hotel, High Street , Barmouth, LL42 1DL
The Tal y Don Hotel is situated in the middle of the small seaside town of Barmouth in Gwynedd, north-west Wales, and is just a 2 minute walk from the main beach and 3 minutes from the picturesque harbour. It is an ideal place to book a room for bed and breakfast, have lunch or an evening meal, or visit for a drink in the evening.

Barmouth is a popular coastal holiday resort situated between the mountains and the sea, at the mouth of the beautiful Mawddach estuary.

The Tal y Don Hotel offers bed and breakfast accommodation, restaurant, home cooked foods, a popular large comfortable bar and an enclosed attractive beer garden with a water feature and children's play area.

We have 5 individually styled en-suite bedrooms, and we accommodate guests with dogs.

The hotel bar has a fine selection of cask conditioned ales and premium lagers with an extensive range of single malt whiskies, spirits and wines.
Picture of Tal Y Don Hotel, Barmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family fun
Hotel great location,for base , we stayed 2 nights & a group of .Breakfast & staff very friendly and polite ,we all had a great time,

Reviewed by
Kate B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
We arrived Thursday afternoon.
The room was very pleasant although the window did not open properly.
There was a fire escape door but you couldn't leave that open all night.
It was very warm when we stayed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
There appears to be less pubs in Barmouth now as there used to be.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay.
Would definitely go again.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly family run hotel.
No window to open on a hot night but fan in the room. Only a fire door to open. Breakfast very good but had to be eaten before 9am.

Reviewed by
T Tyler

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
Very pleased with the room, lovely decoration, lots of space, very clean, comfortable bed, only small thing was a bit noisy as fire escape door in room overlooking side of hotel so lots of noise from street and seagulls! But quality of room and good price made this unimportant would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
dawn h

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Taly Don Barmouth
Landlady and staff very helpful and pleasant. Room was quite adequate for our two night stop over.
Nice big breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Grogan

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly, nice location, lovely beach, good food, resort was very dog friendly, a very enjoyable break.

Reviewed by
J Musgrave

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb accommodation right in the centre of Barmouth
This was our third visit to the Tal-y-don. We like the position of the hotel, the cleanliness of the hotel and the marvellous breakfast.

Reviewed by
G Gray

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight experience
Excellent service, lovely breakfast and very welcoming. The only negatives - no onsite parking and no opening window in room.

Reviewed by
marie farnan

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in an excellent location with friendly and helpful staff

Reviewed by
ian w

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tal Y Don; warm,welcoming and well worth a visit
We only stayed at the Tal Y Don for 2 nights, but because of its location we were able to cram in a whole holiday's worth of enjoyment. The best bonus for me was the stunning coastal path that starts almost from the back garden of the pub. After 10 minutes of steep walking you are so far above the town that you can look back and see the whole beautiful coastline. Then the way steadies to a rambling, green path where you can see rare birds, plants and butterflies.
5 minutes from the sea and within easy access of the town's shops and pubs meant that we didn't need to drive at all. Although there is no parking at the b & b, there is a reasonably priced, long stay car park within easy distance.
As for the b & b itself, the room was clean and homely and the staff could not have been more genuinely welcoming. The extra sausage for the dog at breakfast was a lovely touch, making you feel that your dog was not just welcome, but appreciated.
All in all, for a seaside holiday with the surprise of the mountain walk, I would recommend the Tal Y Don to anyone.

Reviewed by
D Robinson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next