No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stag Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 High Street, , , Lyndhurst, SO43 7BE
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 10th June 2014 Situated in the heart of the New Forest National Park,The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. If you want a quiet break with relaxed hospitality and friendly, attentive service, The Stag is the perfect location. If you feel more active, it is the ideal centre for walking or cycling the lovely forest trails, or perhaps playing golf at the local course only a stone's throw away, or try horse-riding at one of the many local stables. The Stag offers a variety of comfortable rooms, a warm welcome, tasty food and free parking.(access in wellands Road Lyndhurst) All the rooms are ensuite and have been recently refurbished. Much of the food is sourced locally and is always fresh and tasty. There is a cosy bar serving real ales, wine, spirits and snacks and a lovely panelled dining area where you can enjoy sumptuous dinners and hearty breakfasts. The staff make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are always on hand to help. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. The hotel is conveniently situated within 30 minutes drive from Southampton, Bournemouth and Portsmouth and is only about 3 miles from the M27. There are many local attractions such as the Beaulieu Car Museum, Exbury Gardens, the Owl and Otter Sanctuary, Buckler's Hard and Paulton's Park. A short drive will bring you to the coast to enjoy the charm of Lymington or to stretch your legs taking in the many coastal walks. Sorry, but we do not accept dogs.
Picture of The Stag Hotel, Lyndhurst at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service
I stayed here on business last week on stop over to Southampton. The accommodation was excellent. Clean and comfortable. I ate in the bar and really enjoyed the food. The service was attentive and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. Good cooked breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
G Parton

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff shortage very apparent, though available staff were pleasant, friendly and as efficient as possible under difficult circumstances.

Reviewed by
S Alexander

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced
For half the price this would have been a reasonable bed and breakfast but for almost £100 this hotel is seriously over priced. Very basic and cramped rooms. Very old tv and the rickety old fan did nothing to help cool the baking hot room down.
The breakfast was the worst part of the stay...a greasy spoon cafe could have done a much better job. I actually don't think I have seen a worse breakfast.
Stay well away...spend your money elsewhere

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay at Lyndurst
Excellent lovely couple who run it and very friendly. Great location on the high street and terrific breakfast. Why anyone would pay the ridiculous rates of Southampton is beyond me. I will stay there again and recommend this to everyone as they deserve the business. Lots of restaurants around if you don't fancy eating at the hotel / pub but from what I saw it looked excellent and good value.

Reviewed by
Robin Colton

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff good room good food what more is there to say all good

Reviewed by
d cribben

From dover, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stag that's not too "deer" (sorry!)
Really helpful and pleasant staff, excellent room (bit tired) and breakfast. I ate elsewhere for dinner, but menu dishes looked good "pubby" when I stopped in for an excellent pint later. Previous reviewers moaned about the carpark location, but it's dead easy to find really!

Reviewed by
Mike R

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful, finding car park though a bit of a nightmare, but with directions from hotel got there in the end. Room was clean and comfortable, although floorboards were creaky, but to be expected from an older property. Furniture in room could do with some repairs, wardrobe doors wouldn't shut properly but wasn't a great issue. Food in hotel restaurant was very nice and breakfast was good too. Would recommend hotel for a short break, we stayed 2 nights.

Reviewed by
S Savage-Brookes

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location
The Pub/Hotel was located in the high street, so very convenient for a wander around. Room was lovely, large, and clean. Wifi signal was weak (I was on the top floor), but I just went downstairs to the bar, so was not a problem. Two Aussie barmaids were lively.

Reviewed by
S Cansdale

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly - Traditional Inn
Staff were very friendly and approachable - A relaxed and pleasant atmosphere. Loved the eclectic decor in the breakfast area! Room was cosy and very clean. Only negative was that the bed was extremely noisy and the curtain to the bathroom was not fixed properly, other than that it was great :)

Reviewed by
Danielle N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Lyndhursg
Stag Hotel
Nice hotel
Nice big room
Bathroom needs updating, perfectly clean and functional,but a bit old

Reviewed by
Grant P

From Bourne End, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next