No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Stag Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 High Street, , , Lyndhurst, SO43 7BE
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 10th June 2014 TOTALLY REFURBISHED 1st March 2012 throughout including bedrooms, dining & bar areas. Situated in the heart of the New Forest National Park,The Stag Hotel in Lyndhurst offers quality accommodation at affordable prices. If you want a quiet break with relaxed hospitality and friendly, attentive service, The Stag is the perfect location. If you feel more active, it is the ideal centre for walking or cycling the lovely forest trails, or perhaps playing golf at the local course only a stone's throw away, or try horse-riding at one of the many local stables. The Stag offers a variety of comfortable rooms, a warm welcome, tasty food and free parking.(access in wellands Road Lyndhurst) All the rooms are ensuite and have been recently refurbished. Much of the food is sourced locally and is always fresh and tasty. There is a cosy bar serving real ales, wine, spirits and snacks and a lovely panelled dining area where you can enjoy sumptuous dinners and hearty breakfasts. The staff make every effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible and are always on hand to help. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable. The hotel is conveniently situated within 30 minutes drive from Southampton, Bournemouth and Portsmouth and is only about 3 miles from the M27. There are many local attractions such as the Beaulieu Car Museum, Exbury Gardens, the Owl and Otter Sanctuary, Buckler's Hard and Paulton's Park. A short drive will bring you to the coast to enjoy the charm of Lymington or to stretch your legs taking in the many coastal walks. Sorry, but we do not accept dogs.
Picture of The Stag Hotel, Lyndhurst at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced
For half the price this would have been a reasonable bed and breakfast but for almost £100 this hotel is seriously over priced. Very basic and cramped rooms. Very old tv and the rickety old fan did nothing to help cool the baking hot room down.
The breakfast was the worst part of the stay...a greasy spoon cafe could have done a much better job. I actually don't think I have seen a worse breakfast.
Stay well away...spend your money elsewhere

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay at Lyndurst
Excellent lovely couple who run it and very friendly. Great location on the high street and terrific breakfast. Why anyone would pay the ridiculous rates of Southampton is beyond me. I will stay there again and recommend this to everyone as they deserve the business. Lots of restaurants around if you don't fancy eating at the hotel / pub but from what I saw it looked excellent and good value.

Reviewed by
Robin Colton

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff good room good food what more is there to say all good

Reviewed by
d cribben

From dover, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stag that's not too "deer" (sorry!)
Really helpful and pleasant staff, excellent room (bit tired) and breakfast. I ate elsewhere for dinner, but menu dishes looked good "pubby" when I stopped in for an excellent pint later. Previous reviewers moaned about the carpark location, but it's dead easy to find really!

Reviewed by
Mike R

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful, finding car park though a bit of a nightmare, but with directions from hotel got there in the end. Room was clean and comfortable, although floorboards were creaky, but to be expected from an older property. Furniture in room could do with some repairs, wardrobe doors wouldn't shut properly but wasn't a great issue. Food in hotel restaurant was very nice and breakfast was good too. Would recommend hotel for a short break, we stayed 2 nights.

Reviewed by
S Savage-Brookes

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location
The Pub/Hotel was located in the high street, so very convenient for a wander around. Room was lovely, large, and clean. Wifi signal was weak (I was on the top floor), but I just went downstairs to the bar, so was not a problem. Two Aussie barmaids were lively.

Reviewed by
S Cansdale

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly - Traditional Inn
Staff were very friendly and approachable - A relaxed and pleasant atmosphere. Loved the eclectic decor in the breakfast area! Room was cosy and very clean. Only negative was that the bed was extremely noisy and the curtain to the bathroom was not fixed properly, other than that it was great :)

Reviewed by
Danielle N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Lyndhursg
Stag Hotel
Nice hotel
Nice big room
Bathroom needs updating, perfectly clean and functional,but a bit old

Reviewed by
Grant P

From Bourne End, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, once we found the car park!
On entering Lyndhurst it would be helpful if there was sign directing guests straight to the car park. We found the front of the hotel easily, but had to drive twice round the town's one-way system before we found the rear car park & it was only just off the road we had come into town!!!
The room was comfortable apart from the leaking toilet cistern with a towel that had already been carefully placed under the constant drip. We told the staff but I guess nothing was going to be done at 7pm on a Friday evening. We lived with it, & just hoped we weren't going to get people below compaining of a leaking ceiling. The lady who booked us in was nice & friendly; but she was new & didn't know the area when we asked for directions, although she kindly printed directions off the internet for us. The breakfast was good, again served by the friendly, new lady; however, she didn't appear to have any back-up support from any other staff when we mentioned the toilet again at check out. Leak not so bad that it would need a specific complaint but a small reduction in price might have been nice. All in all, although breakfast was good & staff were friendly, we paid for a central town location but with not many other endearing features, given that it's in such a beautiful part of the country. Overall a bit disappointed really.

Reviewed by
Fiona W

From High Wycombe, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a fab stay,ticked all the box's. Warm and friendly atmosphere very good and pleasant staff,nothing to much for them. Definitely be back again when visiting daughter at uni would recommend to anyone. Good work guys. Room 7 Ford family.

Reviewed by
d ford

From Seascale, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next