Reviews - The Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marstons Inns



Price From 130.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Simon Price

  • November 2015

bad nights stay

i was very disappointed with my stay.

the shower was not working, but not only that , there was no bath plug either. there was black mould around the edge of the bath. there were workers working on the road outside. all in all a very poor nights stay.

  • Tracy Lawrence

  • September 2015

more than ample

Reception staff where great , rooms where basic but clean good linen on beds plenty of lovely white towels , powerful hot shower

  • Richard J

  • September 2015

Ideal Location for shops restaurants and bars.

Staff and location perfect, stayed on a B&B basis, breakfast spot on, bar prices very good and ideal for all amenities.

Can't beat value for money. Need to sort out the shower though.

  • TINA H

  • August 2015

Great wifi

The room had damp on the wall by the window and in the bathroom.

The WiFi is very good and the bar food is good pub grub.

  • TINA H

  • August 2015

OK stay

This was my first stay at the Wynnstsay Arms Hotel.

On arrival the receptionest was amazing and so helpful. The room was still being cleaned on arrival, even though I arrived after check in time. I had a meal in the bar both evenings and the food was goog pub grub. Breakfast was very slow.

  • graham d

  • August 2015

our stay

First let me say big thank you to receptionist jean she was excellent.cannot say that about rest of staff encountered.the room is of good quality apart for the shower it is less than useless.the water coming from it was a trickle,to get any water on you you had to stand right against the wall not good.the breakfast was very good and the service was fair.they need to check there cleaning we arrived Thursday evening ,on stairs going up from reception there was a cigarette end on the stairs it was still there when we left on Saturday morning.the management really need to get a grip on things there seems staff did as they pleased.

  • Susan P

  • July 2015

The Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marstons Inns

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, we were staying in Wrexham on business and it came up on late rooms.

We were pleasantly surprised by the whole thing, room, food, staff, everything.

  • J Davies

  • July 2015

The Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marstons Inns

Nice place to stay, very helpful.

  • Steve H

  • June 2015

Disappointing stay

I stayed here and after studying the reviews and wish I'd paid a little more for a Premier Inn!.

I decided to stay here originally as I like my real ales and I read that there was a good Chinese Restaurant across the road. The Chinese is indeed excellent and great value for money. The beer is cheaper than the pub!. When I eventually got to the pub and checked in the room was very dated and in the morning when I wanted a shower it would not work so I had to spend extra time running a bath. The carpark was hard to find too and after 11.20 I had to walk down a dodgy, badly lit alley where some youths were hanging out to come in via the car park entrance. I wouldn't have had to go out if the 5 out of 6 real ale pumps were in use (for a Marston's Pub I thought that this was shocking). When I checked in I waited for someone to appear at reception (despite ringing the bell) and then had to chase them in the bar area where they had been helping with breakfasts. When paying the bill the printer was not working for a VAT receipt (which the receptionist said she would email and I am still awaiting it).

The room itself was very small and dated and the window did not stay open on its own and the room was very hot (no aircon) so I had to wedge it open with the bin in the room. The reviews were very mixed on the hotel. It appears if you stay in the front above the pub the rooms are lovely but the rooms in the annex part have had plumbing problems are in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was OK but not Prmier Inn/ Holiday Inn type standard and guess I was unlucky with my selection of hotel. If you do stay in Wrexham and can find the hotel, I can't recommend the Chinese Restaurant across the road enough. It is tiptop and I was pleasantly surprised at the prices and the portions. As for the hotel, I guess I have to put it down to experience!!

  • Paul S

  • May 2015

Winnastay dissapointment

Summed up by the photograph provided by the review request this hotel did not match the reviews and adverts.

The room provided was in a very tired ensuite in desperate need of updating. The bed was old and far from luxurious. Whilst quiet during the night, the location was noisy (mostly from the car park). Breakfast was hot and quickly delivered, but tea/coffee was minimal. Service was fine, although staff seemed rushed, an aspect reflected in how the room was presented for our second night, minimal effort - bin emptied and tea/coffee kind of replenished. Not our best choice of overnight location