You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Bowes Incline Hotel


Bowes Incline Hotel, Northside Northside, Chester le Street, DH3 1RF

Price From 112.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (21)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lyn Y

  • September 2016

Brilliant, but...sssshh....

This is the second time we have stayed here and found it faultless both times.

Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are very pleasant, bed comfortable and the food is fabulous. Just worried in case the good reviews mean we will find it hard to get a room in the future!

  • Tim C

  • August 2016

Return visit

Stayed here 6 months ago.

Good venue and good VFM. Room showing signs of the need for a little maintenance - shelf needing repair in bathroom. As previously commented, breakfasts aren't the best. Token fru it offer, greasy fry up, cheap sausage. Don't let this put you off unless breakfasts are a big thing for you. I (we) would return.

  • A Morgan

  • May 2016

Good business hotel maybe not so for a leisure visit

The Hotel is far out of Chester-le-Street and so the address is a little misleading.

The staff, food and cleanliness are very good but the outside garden area is not well kept and being so close to the A1 is very noisy. There is also a lack of a lounge area to sit after a meal and maybe have a coffee and as it is so isolated there is no-where maybe to have a stroll at night. Our room for 2 only had one chair, another minus point. The bathroom radiator was burning hot, a hazard to touch and made the room unbearable and that was made worse as the traffic noise limited our opening of the window. Maybe not for a leisure break.

  • s spoors

  • May 2016

The Bowes Incline Hotel

A hidden Gem on the outskirts of Newcastle.

Myself, husband and son stayed in this lovely little hotel from 29th April - 1st May 2016 and were very impressed with this lovely little place. All rooms are on the ground floor and very nicely decorated. The hotel is not far from the A1 and just outside of Newcastle, it only takes 10 mins or so to reach the city centre, and when at the hotel you don't really get the impression that you are anywhere near the city at all. We only had the breakfast at this place, but that was cooked and presented very well, and there was plenty of it. Our son has special needs and only eats certain things, and they were happy to accommodate his needs and gave him the food he asked for. The food was well prepared and very tasty and perfectly cooked (I have a background in hospitality and as a chef I know what I am talking about). This is a lovely little gem of a place where it is peaceful and quiet and where you get a warm welcome, a bit of a home from home and comfortable. Having stayed in a lot of larger more expensive hotels this is one place we will definitely be returning to in the future. Oh, and I nearly forgot - you have plenty of parking places to choose from which you won't get in the city centre.

  • Patrick Quigley

  • December 2015

Fair Enough

The accommodation was lovely and the room's attractiveness and warmth was most welcome on what was a freezing winter evening.

The staff were attentive and the pleasant atmosphere of the restaurant and bar made for a very enjoyable stay.

  • alexandra B

  • December 2015

A great place to stay - very friendly staff and warm and clean accommodation

  • H Ellison

  • November 2015

Great stay, quiet room, comfortable and staff friendly

First stay and will be back again.

Didn't try the restaurant but will next stay as the menu looked great and varied. Good choice of cooked breakfast, well presented. Good value for money.

  • Brian Mason

  • September 2015

Good place to stay clean room good food

This is a 1st class hotel

  • M La Costa

  • September 2015

Welcome driving break, London to Dundee

Felt good the moment we saw this place, and so it turned out to be.

Duly refreshed (slept well) and victualled (amazing food), we easily completed the second half of our journey.

  • Kevin Mchardy

  • September 2015

Excellent service

I will definitely stay here again.

Room was spotlessly clean with great facilities. Staff were highly trained and very friendly and helpful. Fantastic menu and food was served in my room. Breakfast was quick and again great menu choice. Best hotel I have stayed in the Newcastle area.