You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Windermere Hotel



Price From 136.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Charlotte L

  • May 2016

Romantic weekend away

Nice but not as relaxing as other hotels we have visited...

Had fun though but improvements could be made. Loved Windemere, hotel is in a good location to have a nice walk around the town down to the lake etc:) overall good break

  • a gibson

  • March 2016


Hotel being in a exposed position would benefit from from some form of secondary glazing although local planning regs may prevent this

  • a foulston

  • March 2016

room 41 is not up to standard of other company hotels

as above

  • Janet L

  • February 2016

The Windermere Hotel

We booked a standard room at a Special Price offer but have to say that we wouldn't have liked to pay any more for it.

It was clean, warm and adequate. This was our third visit to the hotel since 2014 which has always been in February and we have always been given the exact same basic room at the back of the hotel - in view of the fact that the hotel was extremely quiet which I believe has been caused by the bad weather of late then a slight upgrade would have been very much appreciated and made a nice change. However the staff are pleasant and the location is very good for all the lovely surrounding areas.

  • Suzanne Robinson

  • February 2016

Hotel room was freezing 5 degrees.

Not fery clean and very dated. We were offered a portable heater after having to complain. The hallway of the hotel was so warm we were tempted to sleep out there. Breakfast was great and staff very friendly. Bar area not up to much and only one draught beer and quite over priced. Seems to be aimed at the older generation on coach tours.

  • Paul H

  • January 2016

Beautiful Location - Very nice hotel - Impeccable and polite staff

My girlfriend and I arrived and the whole of the countryside was covered in snow including the hotel, this made it quite magical.

I know that this wasn't compliments of the hotel but it certainly made the atmosphere perfect for the romantic getaway. The hotel was great, the breakfast was okay. The staff were friendly. The room wasn't very modern which was disappointing based on the photos given when you book. It wasn't a true representation of the room, but overall we had a great time and would go back.

  • Chris C

  • August 2015

The Windermere Hotel

Reasonable value for money, but you do have to pay £5 for parking.

I'm not sure it mentioned this when I booked my stay online.

  • Steven A

  • April 2015

Pleasant but tired in parts

A fair hotel.

A bit tired in places. The rooms could do with redecorating and the furnishings replaced. The bathrooms are utility, though clean. There was an electric towel rail in the bathroom that came on periodically, but you could not control the on/off cycles. There was a radiator in the room but that was turned off and no doubt controlled centrally. With no other form of heating available we felt it to be rather chilly in the evening and night. The breakfast was waiter/menu based in part. I chose the full English and that consisted of beans, an egg, a hash brown, a tomato and the smallest rasher of bacon ever. My partner chose the full English vegetarian option and was not impressed. Aside from that there was a buffet table with a very limited choice. There was only corn flakes, muesli, frosties and there were prunes and grapefruit segments. There was limited fresh fruit and a choice of orange, apple, grapefruit and tomato juice. Tea & Coffee and toast was provided on a waiter basis. So a very limited choice really, ie no breads, cheese, meats or yoghurt. The common areas of the hotel are decent and there was some decorating going on near the restaurant. The wallpaper in the room is yellow and frankly looks shabby and it doesn't blend well with the predominantly red brash curtains. Skirtings could do with cleaning/painting. Luckily we stayed on the warmest day thus far this year, but if we hadn't then lack of heating in the room could have been a real issue. The bed was really comfortable and we slept well. Check-in time is a strict 3pm, which is rather late in our view and conversely check out time is a rather early 10am. We checked out at 10am and the corridors were laden with fresh linen. The staff were cheery and courteous.

  • J Singleton

  • March 2015

Great staff.

Another good stay at the Windermere.

The staff are excellent, especially reception and bar. Very good value for money. Will return again soon.

  • Barbara Middleton

  • February 2015

Pleasant hotel for your Lakes stay

Overall, a good experience.

Will return for more in the future.