Reviews - The Mole & Chicken


Mole Chicken, Easington Terrace, Aylesbury, HP189EY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (32)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mike P

  • July 2015

A great place stay, quiet location

A minor point: the pillows on the bed are too high to sleep on, it would be good to have a couple of thinner pillows too.

  • L Daley

  • June 2015

Excellent find

Stayed 1 night on the way down to Guildford found just by sheer chance as all accommodation around my destination was booked due to races being on.

Will definitely be returning with my wife in the future.

You are doing it all right, good. Ive stayed in a different accommodation nearly every night for 4 months & your in the top 5....

  • K Coffin

  • May 2015

Lovely room, can't wait to return

  • Christopher M

  • April 2015

Too Twee for me

Although my stay was for two nights only I stayed in a different room on each of the nights.

The first room (room 2) was cluttered with old fashioned furniture and too many embroidered cushions on the bed. The curtains were heavy and much grander than the room warranted. The walls were covered in small unattractive pictures which I found quite depressing. Strangest of all was the fact that there was no door to the bathroom. I am a bit old fashioned I guess, but feel that when it comes to the bathroom I would prefer, especially if staying with my partner, for some activities to be not of the sharing type. In addition the room was cool and the mobile electric heater didn't work. The second room (room 1) was quite an improvement. It was lighter, warmer, slightly bigger than my first room and there was a door to the bathroom. The restaurant was popular with a good choice of food and drink although the food was quite expensive. Overall one that will remain in my memory but not for all the right reasons.

  • Georgina C

  • March 2015

Loved it!

I had a fantastic stay at The Mole and Chicken, the room was superb and very quiet, the hosts were helpful and welcoming.

I stopped off here whilst on a business trip and I would definitely visit again. Can't recommend enough. Thank you!

  • Eleanor G

  • March 2015

Mini mini break

We booked for 1 night, a short stay for my partners birthday so we could relax, enjoy some good food & wine and then stay overnight.

Great idea. Gorgeous room (No1 Duck Egg) which was ready for us on our 3.30pm arrival & literally right next door to the pub. Handy. No noise heard from pub or people leaving late. Evening meal was great, likewise was the breakfast on Sunday. This place is only about 40 minutes drive for us so was ideal for a one-nighter. We'll go back in the summer to enjoy outdoor dining with the stunning views on offer.

  • Malcolm Williams

  • December 2014

The Mole & Chicken


  • G Newberry

  • November 2014

The Mole & Chicken

The hotel is in a superb location and is lovely.

The food was as good as I have had at a hotel / pub accomodation, and the staff were very friendly and warm. The only issues I had was 1. I could not get my shower to work (although it looked amazing), and I would recommend that if you are assigned Room 3, that you ask to be shown how to switch it on (it may have been me being thick, but I tried for ages!). 2. There was also some boiler noise which caused me difficulties in going to sleep; but other than these issues the place is 5 star all the way!

  • I Hutton

  • November 2014

Very nice venue, food excellent, friendly staff.

Well worth a visit.

  • d orchison

  • September 2014

Didn't actually get a room.

I got a phone call from the hotel at 1pm ish on the day I was due to stay .

They told me that there was actually no room. Very apologetic and blamed Laterooms - no attempt to take responsibility and no attempt to offer a solution. I phoned Laterooms who were very apologetic and blamed the hotel - and said they'd get the hotel to sort it out. Mole and Chicken eventually found me a room at the Swan Hotel at Thame - which was great. Room nice, clean & quiet. People great, friendly and couldnt do enough for me. Top breakfast too.