No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Tregenna Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Park Terrace , Merthyr Tydfil, CF47 8RF
Tregenna Hotel is a family run establishment set in Merthyr Tydfil at the foot of the Brecon Beacons.

The superb facilities, which include luxurious accommodation and a superb restaurant, means that although we are a 3 star hotel we offer the quality of a 4 star, making the Tregenna Hotel the ideal stopping point for both the business and holiday guest. The Brecon Beacons just to the north of Merthyr boasts wonderful scenery and plenty of things to do.

Just to the north of here you will find one of the great little railways of Wales, the Brecon Mountain Railway.

The Dan Yr Ogof Showcaves to the west of the town provide spectacular underground sights. Venture into Cardiff for a day-trip and see the sights; there's Cardiff Castle, Cardiff Bay on the water front and you can also take a tour round the Millennium Stadium.

Please Note: All Children are Welcome. We are a Non-smoking accommodation.

Pets are permitted in selected chalays. Both private and off street parking facilities are available.

We do not accept Stag and Hen/ Single Gender Group parties. Check-in time: 12:00 check-out time: 12:00
Picture of Tregenna Hotel, Merthyr Tydfil at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value and warm welcome
I was really taken aback from the warm welcome I received from the staff. The room I stayed in (room 1) was lovely and spacious. Excellent value for money! The breakfast was simply amazing. I would definitely recommend this welcoming hotel and I will look forward to more stays here when I'm working in the area. Well done - thumbs up for me!

Reviewed by
Vicky Bowen

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and clean but dated
Arriving at night it was difficult to find the way in from a very dark car park - had to walk all the way round the hotel to find my way in even though I had already been to the front door and met the night porter.
The room was very clean, the bed reasonably comfortable
The furnishings are very dated but functional
Breakfast choice was reasonable although very greasy when served, and my toast a little burnt but was adequate in terms of portion and quality
Overall an acceptable option for price

Reviewed by
p green

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Very basic... Clean enough for price but very dated and customer service was not very friendly.

Reviewed by
r bush

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class stay. Great value for money .Good location

Reviewed by
phillip slade

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, cheap accommodation
We found the room to be spacious and well laid out and very clean. Even though we had informed the hotel my wife was disabled we were still put on the first floor when chalet accommodation is available. My one complaint is the poor Wifi reception. They do state Wifi is free and available in all rooms but the only signal I could connect my notebook to was my mobile connection.

Reviewed by
Geoff Palmer

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean good location for walking on breacon becons
great

Reviewed by
c burrows

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect little get away
We booked to stay in a double room for the weekend however when we arrived, we were given a chalet to ourselves which was lovely..
The room was lovely and warm which gave us somewhere nice and cosy to relax at the end of the day, and the bath was lovely which just allowed us to unwind that bit more!
Overall a lovely stay for us with the added extra of getting engaged, so a great weekend for both of us!

Reviewed by
Cameron C

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly & helpful team would stay again

Reviewed by
L Connolly

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun to Find
This hotel is difficult to find but once closed it is sign posted.
Good size double with three windows so plenty of light.
Clean room but paint work a little aged.
Breakfast was good.
Good value would stay again.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good and value for money

Reviewed by
Stephanie Tee

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next