Reviews - Tregenna Hotel


Park Terrace, Merthyr Tydfil, CF47 8RF

Price From 83.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (19)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Karl H

  • September 2015


Stay was ok but had a bit of a shock when arrived to see the the food hygiene rating was a 2.

Decided to have evening meal some were else.

  • Paul B

  • July 2015

Tregenna Hotel

The room was very old.

fashioned with two small single beds. Décor and furniture was tired and outdated. The wardrobe had no rail for hanging clothes. The shower did not work properly (no hot water) or the light in the bathroom. I paid £45 without breakfast which considering the state of the accommodation was poor value for money. The only positive things that I can say is that the room was clean and although the shower didn't work I was able to have a bath.

  • Susan T

  • June 2015

Main meal was so bad I couldn't eat it - walls in rooms paper thin I was woken twice in night by noisy guests in nearby rooms

  • D Jones

  • February 2015

Very no frills hotel

Very good breakfast and staff very for the down bits, there was no wifi, bathroom smelt of a sewer very noisy next door neibours, at 2-3 am, radiator did not work but kept being very noisy.

Good job we only used the room for a place to put our head down after the Wales / England rugby game and not to spend time in the hotel.

  • deborah slade

  • January 2015

Very nice staff, very helpful

  • David Allman

  • December 2014

very nice hotel, very friendly.

room large and very warm considering freezing outside. good breakfast. nothing a trouble. good nights sleep. would deff stay here again.

  • P Jolly

  • December 2014

Not enough parking but lovely room.

Not an easy place to find and proved even harder to find a parking space as they have a very small car park for the amount of rooms they have and there wasn't much space on the road either.

However it was a very nice, large and comfortable room and i did enjoy the meal that i had in their restaurant.

  • p green

  • November 2014

Comfortable and clean but dated

Arriving at night it was difficult to find the way in from a very dark car park - had to walk all the way round the hotel to find my way in even though I had already been to the front door and met the night porter.

The room was very clean, the bed reasonably comfortable

The furnishings are very dated but functional

Breakfast choice was reasonable although very greasy when served, and my toast a little burnt but was adequate in terms of portion and quality

Overall an acceptable option for price

  • Vicky Bowen

  • November 2014

Excellent value and warm welcome

I was really taken aback from the warm welcome I received from the staff.

The room I stayed in (room 1) was lovely and spacious. Excellent value for money. The breakfast was simply amazing. I would definitely recommend this welcoming hotel and I will look forward to more stays here when I'm working in the area. Well done - thumbs up for me!

  • r bush

  • November 2014


Very basic...

Clean enough for price but very dated and customer service was not very friendly.