Reviews - The Black Lion Royal Hotel



Price From 129.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • s jones

  • September 2015


Had a lovely stay room was nice and clean but very hot as we could,nt turn the heating off.

We where told that the hotel needs updateing but found it okay. Food was really good and plenty of it enjoyed.

  • Sarah L

  • August 2015

Review of single room

Room was very nice.

The bed was large for a single and very comfortable. The en-suite was bigger than my own bathroom and had both a bath and a shower (it was nice to have the option of a soak at the end of a busy day, and there was plenty of hot water for it). Cleanliness was superb. Breakfast was good but I didn't sample an evening meal because when I arrived ~8 in the evening they said they had run out of food. Surely they must have had something they could offer, even if it was a reduced menu. The only thing I would say about the room is that there is a door somewhere that made my headboard shake every time it slammed that needs a soft-closer on it, and a thicker underlay for the corridor carpet would reduce footfall from the corridor. But basically the room was clean, comfortable and excellent value for money.

  • antony o

  • July 2015


TV didn't work, no warning for the scalding water .

Locals showboating their "loud" exhausts into the early hours of the morning, local drunks shouting on the street until 4am, dining area not hoovered.

  • Amanda T

  • June 2015

Trade show

We needed a cheap room for a trade show.

This fitted the bill nicely. A bit tired but perfectly adequate. Only complaint would be the temperature - it was far too hot even with the window open.

  • Neil Goodall

  • May 2015

Good value

This overnight stay was short notice business and I was not disappointed.

The staff were friendly and the room was clean and tidy. What more could you ask for the money. Highly recommended. It's not the Hilton but fantastic value. Happy days :-)

  • David Parry

  • March 2015

Lacking in basic requirements

Our room, which overlooked the High St and the Bus stop, had a dirty window that was jammed open, net curtains that had not been washed for months and wall-paper that was peeling from the wall.

There were no bed-side lamps and the room lighting of insufficient strength to easily read by. The catering facility, kettle etc was in the darkest corner of the room with the desk and one chair. One double electric socket on the wall had only one side working, but the bathroom was clean and tidy, although you banged your elbows on the glass screen containing the over bath shower, so close was it to the wash basin. Lots of clean towels, no shampoo and a sticky floor. The TV remote was missing. When we complained to the staff, the first evening about the room we were told that guests steal everything and anyway the hotel was "waiting for a re-furb". That was before we ate dinner in the restaurant. which turned out to be a complete disaster. My wife's Fish and Chips was the "Worst meal she has ever been served" as the Cod was slimey, not flakey, the tomatoes were left whole in the salad which accompanied it and the chips were just about acceptable when dipped in mayonnaise. My "Minty Lamb" was nice but the carrots were undercooked (not even "al dente", but rock hard)

Needless to say we didn't stay for puddings

The receptionist/ owner?/breakfast waitress was willing to accept our complaint and promised to do something about it. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choices. Against my wife's better judgement we stayed a second night (pre-booked) Did not take dinner but again breakfast was good and when we settled the bill there was no charge for the first night's dinners. Thank you

We would not stay there again nor recommend it to our friends.

  • e Lewis

  • February 2015

Good place to stay

I was only here for one night but was treated well.

I was booked in and shown to my room. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. On Suite was very clean room was clean and tidy. I would definitely use again and plan to if I am able to get there in May.

  • a turner

  • January 2015

Value for money - maybe - maybe not

A booking for 1 night.

A little tired but clean and tidy. The downside - no remote for the TV. Only 2 available channels and no hot water through the shower and only tepid for the bath. Didn't eat here but the food looked good. One of the only saving graces of having to stay away from home for work purposes is a good shower - and how disappointed was I - heartbroken.

  • Ian P

  • September 2014

Great value for money

The room was of a nice size and was clean and tidy.

WIFI was available in the room which made up for the poor TV reception, which was the only thing that was a little lacking. The food and ales on offer were excellent and the breakfast was also very good.

Excellent value for money. Will consider a visit with my wife later in the year.

  • alan harris

  • June 2014

a nice hotel in a small town and good value for money .