Reviews - Monachty



Price From 139.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Richard H

  • July 2015

Touring break

As my first stop in Wales I found that the hotel was comfortable and central in Aberaeron town.

A good centre for visiting this coastline.

  • susan r

  • July 2015


Only draw back to the stay was the constant humming every few minuets, from what we thought was the cellar cooling system.

  • roger e

  • May 2015

Arrived 6.30pm,checked in at bar reception, & in room within 5 min, which was warm & spotless.

In room there was tea/coffee/biscuits/bot water, well presented and a dreamy k/s bed. Bar & restaurant very quiet but had a relaxing feel to the place. Inclusive breakfast was good, evening bar meal was good, although some items were not available. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive. Only one downer, being a big lad,I found the bathroom facilities a bit cramped, otherwise a great midweek break in a perfect location.

  • B Morgan

  • February 2015


Upon arriving at the hotel first impressions were good.

Our room was plenty big enough and although it wasn't very modern it was ok and what was expected for the price that we had paid. The first night we stayed there was ok although the bed did seem a bit small and we are not particularly big people.

The second night however was absolutely horrendous. We went out for a drink and to see what else there was around town and when we returned about 11pm our room was freezing. We visited in November obviously packed appropriate clothing and nightware but I feel a season 4 sleeping bag may have been appropriate. The pub had shut and there was nobody on site to help. We spent the whole night too cold to even get out of bed to use the toilet, I even got out once made it half way across the room and ran back into bed because I couldn't bare how cold it was. We spent most of the night awake cuddled up under the duvet to keep warm waiting for the sun to come up. Not something you expect when you are staying in a hotel. The following morning we packed and when we went downstairs to check out and complain they simply nonchalently told me that the boiler had broken the night before and was only now being fixed!!. I was absolutely furious there was nothing left to advise us that the boiler was broken and none of the staff made an attempt as we left the building at about 8.30pm to let us know (Ok they may not have know it was a problem then) but there was no note left on the door of our room, no extra bedding left for us and we had no idea why it was so cold. When I raised the issue of no extra blankets or bedding left for us the member of staff she simply said "There should be extra in the room." Well there was nothing extra in the room not even a spare pillow.

All in all the hotel was ok but I felt that the staff could have done a lot more on the night the boiler was broken to let us know and provide us with additional bedding just incase regardless of whether they thought there were extra in the room or not. Then to not have an apology from the girl who checked us out in the morning means I wouldn't recommend this hotel or consider going back there for a night.

  • Sebastian W

  • August 2014

Great hotel in the best location

  • D Smith

  • May 2014


Business Trip

  • K Mahers

  • April 2014

Good value

Overall, the hotel was good, although the carpet in the room could have done with a good clean.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • A Whelan

  • February 2014


Was nicely surprised with the Monachty.

  • a livingstone

  • December 2013

Great pub, great atmosphere, and very welcoming staff.

Had a great night topped of by a great place to stay, would recommend.