No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kilnhouse B+B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Kilnhouse, 7, South Maltings, Newton Of Falkland , Cupar, KY15 7QT
Clean,friendly B+B, set at the foot of the Lomond hills.Un-equalled views. A real home from home.
You will stay in a unique building that once was part of a brewery belonging to Falkland Palace dating from the time of Mary Queen of Scots.
A quiet location but a 10 minute walk in each direction will provide you with pubs and shops.
We offer evening meals on prior booking,prepared by a qualified chef .(we cater for vegetarians as well).
Rooms on the ground floor are good for disable access.(please call to check we have a downstairs room available).
Plenty of off road parking.

I do not Take debit/credit cards.
If you require an early check-in please contact me.

Picture of The Kilnhouse B+B, Cupar at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B, fantastic sleep, and great company
Dawn is a great hostess and the Kilnhouse is a super place. Took a bit of finding in the dark due to sat nav quirks. Twin room was great - really comfy beds, decent TV, powerful shower, and a great night's sleep. Lovely breakfast at very flexible times. Made a great base for two nights while we went to the ryder cup at Gleneagles. Made to feel very welcome and were able to eat our takeaway in the lounge-diner on the friday evening. Recommended and would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Tom C

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we needed
I stayed at The Kilnhouse for 8 days whilst working at The Ryder Cup. The accommodation was very comfortable and Breakfasts excellent. My Wife and Son joined me towards the end of the week and Dawn could not have done any more to make us feel welcome. For the price we paid for the week, this was excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Ray Johnstone

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Vacation
Friendly, homely stay.
Excellent treatment by B&B owner > really felt at home

Reviewed by
Rod D

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay, stayed here for T in the park and the lady who owned it was really helpful in helping us arrange transport to and from the festival.

Reviewed by
f anderson

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very Fridley , nice breakfast to start the day

Reviewed by
david b

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend stay in September
Lovely setting, quiet & peaceful, easy access & parking. Comfortable accommodation, good food & hospitable hostess. A perfect retreat.

Reviewed by
William Turner

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home away from home.
A real gem! We loved our stay - this is a wonderful home from home. Clean, quiet, comfortable and very relaxing. Wonderfully run.

Reviewed by
H Thomson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great host- Great Room- Clean- Spacious- Good Facilities
Great place.
Great landlady
Use of kitchen

Reviewed by
Yuvraj M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great peaceful location
Dawn is a wonderful host. Very clean and homely place. Felt very welcome there and would stay again

Reviewed by
James N

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kilnhouse B&B
The Kilnhouse was a little hard to find, but our hostess gave us good directions. The room was small, not finished off very well. The washbasin was standing in the room as was the shower. The toilet was in it's own closet but the door fit so badly you had to almost slam it to get it to close. The bed was comfortable and clean. The room felt like it needed a good cleaning and refresher paint around the windows. We even experienced some small spiders. Our hostess was a very nice lady. The breakfast was good. I paid more for this place than any other B&B on our whole 3 weeks in Scotland.

Reviewed by
l smith

From USA
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next