Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff Hotels > Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
23 TYNDALL STREET , CARDIFF, CF104BE
Ibis Budget Hotel (previously Etap Hotel) Cardiff Centre is a low-cost non-smoking hotel offering essential comforts at modest price. Hotel is located in the heart of Cardiff just between City Centre and Bay area within short walking distance to the shopping and nightlife of Welsh capitol, with easy access to the M4. The hotel has 157 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

A good value all you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at additional charge of £4.95 per person. Available
Monday to Friday 6.30am – 10.00am; Saturday to Sunday and Bank Holidays 7.00am – 10.30am.

The hotel has limited amount of indoor parking available at extra charge.

Places of interest:
* St David's 2 Shopping centre - 0.4 mile (approx. 10 min walk)
* Cardiff Motorpoint Arena - 0.4 mile (approx. 10 min walk)
* Mill Lane - 0.5 mile (approx. 12 min walk)
* St. David's Hall - 0.6 mile (approx. 14 min walk)
* Millennium Stadium - 0.8 mile (approx. 16 min walk)
* Cardiff Castle - 0.8 mile (approx. 16 min walk)
* Wales Millennium Centre - 0.9 mile (approx. 18 min walk)
* Cardiff Bay - 0.9 mile (approx. 18 min walk)
Picture of Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 196 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Good Value, clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Steve T

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Problematic
A fight occurred in the room next to ours in the early morning around 2/3 am. Someone had been thrown up against the wall waking everyone in our room. The following morning we went downstairs to pop outside and on our way down we noticed blood covering the door where the boys on the previous night had clearly had a fight. I was surprised that it hadn't been cleaned up in the night so other guests wouldn't have to see it. We mentioned it to the lady behind the desk and she basically brushed it off as if it didn't matter. Very dissapointed with the customer service and it was a terrible nights sleep although I must say it was very clean but that was about it.

Reviewed by
C James

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Very clean room but basic room. Staff were very helpful even providing me with an iron when I asked at no extra cost. Would stay again!

Reviewed by
Ashley J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Cardiff, with cheap parking,clean sheets,quiet night sleep,great Value. Basic but spotless.
Really , what more do you want ! As a business traveller , it's bang in the middle of the city, it's clean, quiet, free wifi, cheap safe parking, and plenty of hot water. . Very close to places to eat, meet up with people .really great value .

Reviewed by
Polly Wells

From Langport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will never stay at IBIS after this
I booked 2 nights at IBIS Budget, on the first night there were students/young chaps staying few rooms down. I asked reception if they could ask them to keep the noise down. I never complain about noise etc i understand im in a city centre too but this was rediculous! they were clearly playing drinking games and they were banging on the tables in the bedrooms egging each other on and then kept on carrying it out into the hallways. All this after travelling 6 hours to attend a job at 8am with a days work and i was looking forward to hitting the sack. The reception staff never attended so it persisted. Then at 2/3am they came (and i dont mean this lightly) barging in from the lift lobby which could have woken the Novotel next door up. Im upset i paid for 2 nights upfront. Its my fault for not cancelling the second night the next morning but i was up early, to sum it up i drove the 6 hours home at 6pm to avoid staying in this dive for another night and gave up on asking for a refund as the staff were useless. To sum up the staff.....Lorry....from calais.....social skills of a pigeon......Shouldnt be there!

Reviewed by
christopher moore

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but a bed
really basic but good value for money. It was a bit noisy to be honest as it was opposite a car park and seemed to be a party or people going out, or having a party in the room. Was going to ring down to reception but no phone in room. I don't know if I would stay in an Ibis Budget but the location was good and I might give it another go. The bed wasn't that comfortable and there didn't seem to be any extra bedding so it was a tad cold.

Reviewed by
m deery

From Londonderry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is a quiet hotel, with a confortable bed. We have been there several times. There is no hairdryer
Certainly I will stay again in this hotel but I would like to have some cafe, tea and milk facilities.

Reviewed by
Lina Pascoal

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

budget stay
It was clean and tidy, and the staff were great. Which is better than most budget hotels. However it felt like a false economy. No breakfast included or tea and coffee, but mainly because it was in such a desolate area that as a woman travelling alone I had to get taxis to get to the events I was there to attend. Also I was kept up late with loud drunk hen and stag dos. In future when I'm on a budget I'm going to look at other ideas like air bnb.

Reviewed by
V Hoper

From Clapham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean room, good price
Good, clean room. Good price. Friendly receptionist.
They had us down for a triple room rather than the double we booked, but that was quickly sorted on arrival.
Able to park on site which was great (£4 for 24hrs), (receptionist warned us before we paid that if we went out we might not get a space on our return).
Only negatives were that there was traffic noise despite the double glazing and being on the 4th floor, I don't know if that was due to excessive traffic or poor DG, also the roon lock swipe card was very temprmental and took many attempts to unlock the room.
I would stay here again, but I'd also look to see if somewhere else which had tea and coffee in-room was available for ismilar price.

Reviewed by
Glenda T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Cardiff
The room was functional but not overly comfortable there was no proper chair to sit which as an older traveller proved to to difficult to get comfortable. The breakfast whilst continental was not lavish and the dining area was small and cramped. Having said that it was cheap and served a purpose of somewhere to sleep.

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next