Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff Hotels > Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
23 TYNDALL STREET , CARDIFF, CF104BE
Ibis Budget Hotel (previously Etap Hotel) Cardiff Centre is a low-cost non-smoking hotel offering essential comforts at modest price. Hotel is located in the heart of Cardiff just between City Centre and Bay area within short walking distance to the shopping and nightlife of Welsh capitol, with easy access to the M4. The hotel has 157 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

A good value all you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at additional charge of £4.95 per person. Available
Monday to Friday 6.30am – 10.00am; Saturday to Sunday and Bank Holidays 7.00am – 10.30am.

The hotel has limited amount of indoor parking available at extra charge.

Places of interest:
* St David's 2 Shopping centre - 0.4 mile (approx. 10 min walk)
* Cardiff Motorpoint Arena - 0.4 mile (approx. 10 min walk)
* Mill Lane - 0.5 mile (approx. 12 min walk)
* St. David's Hall - 0.6 mile (approx. 14 min walk)
* Millennium Stadium - 0.8 mile (approx. 16 min walk)
* Cardiff Castle - 0.8 mile (approx. 16 min walk)
* Wales Millennium Centre - 0.9 mile (approx. 18 min walk)
* Cardiff Bay - 0.9 mile (approx. 18 min walk)
Picture of Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 213 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Cardiff
The room was functional but not overly comfortable there was no proper chair to sit which as an older traveller proved to to difficult to get comfortable. The breakfast whilst continental was not lavish and the dining area was small and cramped. Having said that it was cheap and served a purpose of somewhere to sleep.

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget city centre hotel
Good budget choice close to the city centre.

Reviewed by
David H

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay, good value.
Room was rather small and minimalist, but in honesty you can't expect more for the money you pay. Breakfast had rather limited choice, although no issues with what was there. No significant problems and the location was great. Overall, very comfortable stay for the money.

Reviewed by
J Townsend

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be cheaper for the price
When checked in I was told the price didn't include breakfast and had to waste my time and luckily I had the confirmation email on my phone and when showed the staff apologized! Though I paid for the parking when I came back for the night there wasn't any space and was told to park at the nearby hotel which costs another £9.00. But the staff were all polite and pleasant and the rooms were clean though it was small.

Reviewed by
P Pillai

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfy and ok for the night.

Reviewed by
G Clemente

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were lovely! however....
Post code sent to wrong ibis hotel,
name not in system, finally found it, tried to over charge what we booked for, again had to faff to prove our reservation deal.
room was not what was advertised on website,
limited parking so had to walk 7-8 mins to multi-story parking,
only one channel worked on the t.v,

Reviewed by
Leigh G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The name says it all
After a mix up on a golf tour to South Wales, we were left without a hotel for the night and with the Speedway at The Millenium Dome and Tom Jones Concert going on the only hotel we could find was the Ibis Budget Hotel. It was booked on line at £160, and when we got there, we were told that the hotel had dropped the price from £200 an hour earlier.
I was speechless. The rooms are tiny, very basic and not worth more than £40 a night. It is so basic that shampoo is not provided just soap. The car park was full and we had to pay to park next door and one of the two lifts did not work. It also appears to be located in a light industrial estate, even though the name suggests it's in the City centre.
It was clean, at least.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Neil W

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

55 pounds how is that budget hotel not happy of room shower was on off cold all the time my partner had the same problem never again stay there very unhappy an had to pay 9 pounds for parking next door very pricey

Reviewed by
gabrielle gettins

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Quality Budget Hotel
The hotel was value for money. The room was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
W Foster

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next