No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Porthcawl Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Porthcawl Hotel, John Street , Porthcawl, CF363AP
The Porthcawl Hotel is situated in the centre of Porthcawl town. With a Health CLub, Night Club, Sport's Bar & Diner and Restaurant, the Hotel is the perfect place for an entertaining stay in a seaside resort.

Porthcawl as a town has a great deal to offer from fantastic local attractions such as beaches, bars, restaurants and golf courses, as well as laying between Cardiff and Swansea.
Picture of Porthcawl Hotel, Porthcawl at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent for short term visiting
Very good position, nice staff and good food!
room spacious but a bit cold and some noise from the yard and from downstairs.
Lovely live music on saturdays.
Internet connection poor in the room but free wifi downstairs and probably in the lowest floor rooms.

Reviewed by
Clara S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dawns review
Room 203 was very spacious with a double and single bed. The room was quite cold, troo cold to use shower. When I mentioned it to the lady in reception she said she was unaware the heating was not on.

Reviewed by
Dawn Wilce

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

saturday night stay
Can only pass comment on our one night stay. Staff were excellent kind considerate and chatty, however the room looks like its used for contractors staying during the week so very basic and tired. Bed was comfy and our bathroom (had a bath- excellent!) was down a flight of stairs. Unusual and quirky but no good if we were not steady on our feet. Bad bit. We had been to a wedding and were very tipsy so should have just fallen straight asleep. However the disco was so loud underneath that the radiator was vibrating on the wall, it finally all stopped circa 2pm but we were due out by 8 to go visit relatives in town. Didn't happen of course we were too tired. Breakfast was very basic. Usual stuff but bread was cheap and sausages inedible. Better quality for £4.99 in the cafe we passed. Good for a girls/boys night out especially if you are going yo the disco. Assume its quiet during the week. Cant complain over much I suppose it was on earlier comments.

Reviewed by
paul marlow

From Battersea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

porthcawl hotel
No one could tell me what time was breakfast
Music from Gym was obtrusive
General appearance of room ,staircases etc. was 'worn'
Staff were helpful and polite...just a little vague about breakfast times

Reviewed by
gareth h

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
The room was tucked away up a few flights of stairs. It was quite small but perfectly adiquate for my needs.
The decor was a little tired but was clean and warm.
Plenty of sockets for hairdryer etc and the bathroom was particularly clean.
My only issue was the lack of hot water.

Reviewed by
Hilary P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nightmare during our hotel stay at Porthcawl hotel.
We arrived at the hotel at around 10 pm. The manager informed us they did not have our booking but there was a spare room we could have. The band was playing full blast above the tolerable and recommended level of decibels all through the night making our stay a nightmare. There was no insulation from the flooring, the walls and the ceiling. The vibrations were like thunderstorm blasting over the hotel.

Reviewed by
B Kappala-Ramsamy

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, food great. Position of hotel great

Reviewed by
ann s

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well located reasonably priced hotel.
Helpful and friendly staff. Very relaxed breakfast.

Reviewed by
Michael Rowe

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Must Try harder
Location excellent, rooms need tlc, stayed 2 nights, music loud on 1st eve,2nd morning music loud from 6 am.
Rooms are dated, no remote for T.V, kettle didn't turn off

Reviewed by
Tim B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An honest review from Dawn
Hotel was very central and a few yards from the sea front. It was very good value for money. The room was spacious with a double and single bed. (no 207). The hotel does not have a lift so it is quite a hike to the upper floors. The breakfast was adequate with a selection of cereals. You make your own coffee/tea yourself and also the toast. The waitress brings you what cooked breakfast you require. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Dawn Wilce

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next