Reviews - Porthcawl Hotel


Porthcawl Hotel, John Street, Porthcawl, CF363AP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (43)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Helen G

  • September 2015

Vey good value

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room was basic (no hairdryer) but clean and had a sea view. The breakfast was very good. Overall excellent value for money and ideal for a short break in Porthcawl or if attending a special event.

  • p l

  • August 2015

Weekend Break

Hotel ok !.

But disco going on till 2 oclock not good when you looking to relax !!.

  • S Wright

  • July 2015

Good Value

Stayed here for a week on business, as Swansea was completely full.

Good value hotel with very friendly staff. A nice change to have such good customer service. Music from the gym was pretty loud though and was easily heard in the room. Must admit, it didn't bother me too much though and was usually turned down at a reasonable time. Rooms were adequate and cleaned everyday. Could do with a makeover, but for the price - it was reasonable I think. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • I Webb

  • July 2015

I was not happy with the idea of techno bass music coming out of the gym from 8.00am every morning .

having stayed for 3 nights at the weekend.

I was not impressed with the noise from the nightclub situated within the hotel and the fact the taxi office is also connected to the same building having my windows open it was a very noisy night until at least 3.00 am. I feel the gym also starts banging music out with bass thumping from first thing in the morning is not a good addition. all in all its very noisy whilst you are still in your bed. Having arrived for breakfast, I was first told its only available to residents I informed them I was a resident they then said ..oh sorry breakfast finished 10 minutes ago even though I had not been informed of breakfast times.

  • mark bunce

  • July 2015

Porthcawl Hotel

Room wasn't ready when we arrived although it was 2:30 pm had to wait an hour, all other service was good tho, room was clean but very outdated and drap in need of redecorating, old tv with only 3 channels and remote didnt work, noise from bar and nightclub meant we didnt get to sleep till around 3am both nights we were there, excellent view from room tho of the sea and beach so good and bad points

  • Rosemary F

  • July 2015

Good basic accommodation

The rooms are tired and could do with a coat of paint, the pumbing is old fashioned, But the room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful.

I could barely hear the music from the Gym classes, and it was quiet between 9pm and 7am. During the week this is great hotel for business travellers. Good value for money. I'm booked to stay again.

  • Diane Davies

  • June 2015

Good Value

I stayed here Saturday 20 June, the staff were curious and friendly.

We ate a meal when arrived it was lovely also the breakfast the following morning was basic 1 sausage 2 rashes of bacon 1egg. This was enough for me but there was a group of young men who passed comment saying 'Nice but could have been a little more on the plate.'

The room was basic only one cup for two people, toilet roll half used. Overall what you pay for you get. It was well worth the money also great artist there.

  • Dean L

  • June 2015

Fine for an overnight stay

Good location, we were attending a wedding around the corner so it's fine for a one night stay.

Yes rooms are dated but it was clean. Breakfast was nice. We were above the gym and could here the early morning roid-heads growling from 7am as they lifted their weights, also the music from the gym was quite loud from this time. If you have a room away from the gym I'm sure you won't have a problem though.

  • Sally Owen

  • May 2015

Porthcawl Hotel

Lovely hotel in the town centre very friendly staff will def stay here again

  • S Strak

  • April 2015

Avoid like plague!!


If u planning to stay there over the weekend avoid rooms 202 or 203 and run away before u pay. They are above nightclub with wooden floor. Rooms furnitures inc. bed will jump up from 10pm till 3am and shaking with bass frequency. Average noise in your room will be btw 80-100 dB (checked by noise app). 2. I understand the hotel have nightclub but it is on the 1st floor - all rooms around should be banned for accommodation over the weekend then.

3. When I did complain about it receptionist was very rude and started screaming - "what I want" !!!. Ridiculous !!.

4. When the party is over and u got room 203 be ready for another fun - Night Clubbers will play up under your window till Police coming. I'm travelling around the world - I've been sleeping in many strange places but that was the worst experience in my life. If LateRooms respect their own customers they should remove this hotel from their offer. Never again!