No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Porthcawl Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Porthcawl Hotel, John Street , Porthcawl, CF363AP
The Porthcawl Hotel is situated in the centre of Porthcawl town. With a Health CLub, Night Club, Sport's Bar & Diner and Restaurant, the Hotel is the perfect place for an entertaining stay in a seaside resort.

Porthcawl as a town has a great deal to offer from fantastic local attractions such as beaches, bars, restaurants and golf courses, as well as laying between Cardiff and Swansea.
Picture of Porthcawl Hotel, Porthcawl at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take earplugs
I'd read that the hotel had a nightclub & emailed in advance to ask for a room in a quieter part of the hotel. I didn't get a reply and on arrival the receptionist said "I hope you don't mind the music as my room was directly above the Club and as they were "rammed" with stag & hen do's they couldn't move me.
Arrived back from dinner at 10.30, a rock band were playing in the pub part of the hotel, the sound carried throughout the place. When that finished the club took over the job of keeping us awake. Thankfully it finished at 2am and it was really quiet.
The rooms are clean but very dated, the staff are really friendly, breakfast was fine as long as you stuck to the full cooked breakfast as they don't do variations!

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and comfortable stay
The room and the bathroom are warm and comfortable, I even had a lovely deep bath, so relaxing !
A couple of downsides, there is a gym underneath that is pounding out music from early until late, also I had no kettle in my room , only the rest of the tea stuff ! and the TV plays only 1 channel apart from sport channels, despite what the label may say ! Also , I had a steak in the restaurant, and they were obviously waiting for the chips, as they were piping hot and the steak , onion rings , tomatoes and peas were cold. The breaksfast was lovely, and I muxt add the staff here were great, so friendly and hard working, and I must say I got a free cuppa at the bar when I asked for a kettle ! So, comfy, warm with a good hot breakfast and bath, but bring a book and earplugs !

Reviewed by
emma s

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking breakfast
Lovely breakfast the eggs were amazing! Rooms were standard but had everything we needed in there the staff were all very friendly, nice sports bar area with numerous television each displaying differnt sports.

Reviewed by
Robert F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for singles or young couple
Only stayed one night but it was all good apart from the heating could have been on a bit more!

Reviewed by
Toussaint Chevallier

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good times
very enjoyable stay, room was clean and tidy, with a good breakfast. No complants of any kind, would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Dave B

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very good and polite, great venue, rooms and shower in need of some updating but did not spoil the stay.

Reviewed by
W Mahoney

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean and value for money

Reviewed by
t davies

From Swansea, England
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only 2 channels on the tv both showing sport or xfactor (it was a Saturday night) where as travel lodge give you the entire distal channel list and it was cheaper per night too, unfortunately it was fully booked.

Reviewed by
D Buchanan

From , England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

when we arrived at the hotel we were given room 302 which was disgusting, wallpaper peeling off the walls and a cracked sink.
On complaining we were given a better room, staff were very helpful, breakfast very good, we had dinner at the hotel which was excellent.
It was a shame that the first room was in a terrible condition and it left a bad thought, but otherwise very good

Reviewed by
Kashmir Kler

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Porthcawl Hotel
My wife and I booked into the Porthcawl Hotel because of its proximity to the Pavillion; where we attended a wedding reception on a Saturday afternoon / evening. We decided to leave our cases in the room prior to the party to save us having to bother later.
The booking in process was quick and easy. It was explained to me that we had full use of the hotel's facilities as well as entrance into the nightclub downstairs if we wished.
Our room was up several flights of stairs (no lift) , and at the end of an extremely poorly lit corridor. I found our room to be of a generous size with en-suite. It was light and airy, smelled clean and the beds were freshly made with clean sheets. The tea/coffee making facilities were well stocked. The bathroom was also spotless.
HOWEVER, after the wedding party, and slightly worse for wear it has to be said, we decided to turn in for the night and made our way to the hotel. It was about 1a.m. and the nightclub was in full swing. We had to convince a doorman that we were, in fact, guests and not one of the many of drunken revellers milling around the place trying to get in. We eventually gained entrance and made our way up to our room. THE NOISE WAS ASTONISHING!!! The whole building shook and vibrated with the bass thudding from downstairs and sleep was impossible. This continued until 2a.m. when the noise abruptly ceased.
I immediately fell asleep but my wife wasn't so lucky.
For some hours later, she was kept awake with our door handle constantly being tried, (other guests I assume), and general disturbance from the corridor outside. She deemed it necessary to wedge a chair against the door, such was her concern. Not fair.
Breakfast was served by a very nice lady the next morning who appeared to be the only member of staff in the whole place.The breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next