No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Porthcawl Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Porthcawl Hotel, John Street , Porthcawl, CF363AP
The Porthcawl Hotel is situated in the centre of Porthcawl town. With a Health CLub, Night Club, Sport's Bar & Diner and Restaurant, the Hotel is the perfect place for an entertaining stay in a seaside resort.

Porthcawl as a town has a great deal to offer from fantastic local attractions such as beaches, bars, restaurants and golf courses, as well as laying between Cardiff and Swansea.
Picture of Porthcawl Hotel, Porthcawl at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel great location.
How people compared this to fawlty towers I'll never know, I didn't see any hot tempered managers, rats called basil or the health inspector calling. There's a night club on the hotels grounds but it's only open on the weekend. The beach is a 5 min walk away along with the fair, and the hotel is right in the town centre. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly. There are 2 floors of stairs to the rooms so if you have physical difficulties this hotel isn't for you. The rooms could have had better equipment, a phone a better tv with a remote and actual chanels. Nice breakfast in the morning. I'm sure there is noise from the night club but I do find the other reviews a bit melodramatic, I found the hotel a good value, with a great location, and a nice clean comfortable bed. I'd come back here.

Reviewed by
mathew w

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, food was lovely. Room was bit dated. Shower wasn't really shower (shower head with very little flow of water) bed linen was clean and had comfy bed.

Reviewed by
t peregrine

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good would stay again, staff very helpful.good breakfast

Reviewed by
b smallwood

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired rooms, need updating, carpet in the en suite was very dirty, TV in room but only had sky sports channel no others. Staff friendly and food ok, we did get a very nice pack lunch, location very good.

Reviewed by
D Simon

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel great value
Lovely big rooms bit of cock up where I thought I paid on line then to find out they don't take payment on line had to pay on day

Reviewed by
G Walsh

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected.
No running cold water in basin in sink, reproted this 10 minutes after arrival.
Was told the next day that this had been fixed, yet it had not been.
No remote for the television so could not get any channels only bbc1 and itv1.
Altough no one waiting to be served at the bar on Friday, I waited 15 minutes to palce a food order.

Reviewed by
P Woolley

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arriving, it appeared our quad room booking had been lost or not made it through despite us having a confirmation email. After a bit of faffing, we were given the alternative of 2 double rooms at the same price as that's all they had left. Rooms were perfectly serviceable. Very accommodating with breakfast as we were leaving shortly after 6 and they still provided a cooked breakfast at this time on a Sunday morning!

Reviewed by
David V

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take earplugs
I'd read that the hotel had a nightclub & emailed in advance to ask for a room in a quieter part of the hotel. I didn't get a reply and on arrival the receptionist said "I hope you don't mind the music as my room was directly above the Club and as they were "rammed" with stag & hen do's they couldn't move me.
Arrived back from dinner at 10.30, a rock band were playing in the pub part of the hotel, the sound carried throughout the place. When that finished the club took over the job of keeping us awake. Thankfully it finished at 2am and it was really quiet.
The rooms are clean but very dated, the staff are really friendly, breakfast was fine as long as you stuck to the full cooked breakfast as they don't do variations!

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm and comfortable stay
The room and the bathroom are warm and comfortable, I even had a lovely deep bath, so relaxing !
A couple of downsides, there is a gym underneath that is pounding out music from early until late, also I had no kettle in my room , only the rest of the tea stuff ! and the TV plays only 1 channel apart from sport channels, despite what the label may say ! Also , I had a steak in the restaurant, and they were obviously waiting for the chips, as they were piping hot and the steak , onion rings , tomatoes and peas were cold. The breaksfast was lovely, and I muxt add the staff here were great, so friendly and hard working, and I must say I got a free cuppa at the bar when I asked for a kettle ! So, comfy, warm with a good hot breakfast and bath, but bring a book and earplugs !

Reviewed by
emma s

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking breakfast
Lovely breakfast the eggs were amazing! Rooms were standard but had everything we needed in there the staff were all very friendly, nice sports bar area with numerous television each displaying differnt sports.

Reviewed by
Robert F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next