Reviews - Porthcawl Hotel


Porthcawl Hotel, John Street, Porthcawl, CF363AP

Price From 75.37 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (43)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • soundoss hamza

  • April 2015

All in one hotel

Me and my partner had a really nice stay overall.

The only thing that was a little disappointing was the condition of the ceilings in the room. It was discoloured and looked like it was damp which put us off a little bit. However the staff was lovely and very helpful and we loved the sea view from the room. We have already recommended the hotel and will be staying there again.

  • s thomas

  • March 2015


was given room over the nightclub even though i asked for a quiet one, music banging until 3am..floor felt like it was vibrating...breakfast was standard but seats were mostly ripped and damaged in some way...

2nd time ive been here and decided to give it benefit of the wish i hadnt..will not be booking Porthcawl Hotel again.

  • Chris Evans

  • March 2015

Adequate for 1 night

Basic room in the middle of town.

Breakfast was below average with the most disgusting sausage I have ever had.

  • Llio Davies

  • January 2015

very cold and summer duvets/blankets in the middle of winter.Also shower not working

I felt that the staff didn't care about the service.We were left to our own devices.I was ok for price but nothing more than that

  • Martin Blomfield

  • December 2014

Porthcawl Hotel 7th December 2014

I would come back and stay here again.

Good value for money and a reasonable breakfast. Overall for what I paid I'm satisfied. It's pretty basic in the room I had (203) but it was clean and tidy.

  • Will Brown

  • December 2014

OK for the price

I stayed here with a group of friends to attend the Planet Rock festival.

We were made very welcome, the room was warm, clean and comfortable. Breakfast good.

  • S Bockett

  • November 2014

Above a nightclub!.

Bed were hard. Small tv with 3 channels about 200 steps to climb no lots so had to struggle with buggy

  • Nic D

  • November 2014

In desperate need of a make over

Whilst the accomodation was reasonably clean, there were issues with the lighting, heating, a small portable tv with the worst signal ever and the nightclub below in full swing until 0200hrs was not pleasing.

Overpriced for its value.

  • A Jones

  • November 2014

Good value for your money

Well worth the money.

Good clean accommodation with extras like gym entry and nightclub entry including in your price. Also good live entertainment in the bars.

  • Clara S

  • October 2014

excellent for short term visiting

Very good position, nice staff and good food.

room spacious but a bit cold and some noise from the yard and from downstairs. Lovely live music on saturdays.

Internet connection poor in the room but free wifi downstairs and probably in the lowest floor rooms.