Reviews - Porthcawl Hotel

Porthcawl Hotel, John Street, Porthcawl, CF363AP

Price From 71.31 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (45)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • mark bunce

  • July 2015

Porthcawl Hotel

Room wasn't ready when we arrived although it was 2:30 pm had to wait an hour, all other service was good tho, room was clean but very outdated and drap in need of redecorating, old tv with only 3 channels and remote didnt work, noise from bar and nightclub meant we didnt get to sleep till around 3am both nights we were there, excellent view from room tho of the sea and beach so good and bad points

  • Rosemary F

  • July 2015

Good basic accommodation

The rooms are tired and could do with a coat of paint, the pumbing is old fashioned, But the room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful.

I could barely hear the music from the Gym classes, and it was quiet between 9pm and 7am. During the week this is great hotel for business travellers. Good value for money. I'm booked to stay again.

  • Diane Davies

  • June 2015

Good Value

I stayed here Saturday 20 June, the staff were curious and friendly.

We ate a meal when arrived it was lovely also the breakfast the following morning was basic 1 sausage 2 rashes of bacon 1egg. This was enough for me but there was a group of young men who passed comment saying 'Nice but could have been a little more on the plate.'

The room was basic only one cup for two people, toilet roll half used. Overall what you pay for you get. It was well worth the money also great artist there.

  • Dean L

  • June 2015

Fine for an overnight stay

Good location, we were attending a wedding around the corner so it's fine for a one night stay.

Yes rooms are dated but it was clean. Breakfast was nice. We were above the gym and could here the early morning roid-heads growling from 7am as they lifted their weights, also the music from the gym was quite loud from this time. If you have a room away from the gym I'm sure you won't have a problem though.

  • Sally Owen

  • May 2015

Porthcawl Hotel

Lovely hotel in the town centre very friendly staff will def stay here again

  • S Strak

  • April 2015

Avoid like plague!!

1.

If u planning to stay there over the weekend avoid rooms 202 or 203 and run away before u pay. They are above nightclub with wooden floor. Rooms furnitures inc. bed will jump up from 10pm till 3am and shaking with bass frequency. Average noise in your room will be btw 80-100 dB (checked by noise app). 2. I understand the hotel have nightclub but it is on the 1st floor - all rooms around should be banned for accommodation over the weekend then.

3. When I did complain about it receptionist was very rude and started screaming - "what I want" !!!. Ridiculous !!.

4. When the party is over and u got room 203 be ready for another fun - Night Clubbers will play up under your window till Police coming. I'm travelling around the world - I've been sleeping in many strange places but that was the worst experience in my life. If LateRooms respect their own customers they should remove this hotel from their offer. Never again!

  • soundoss hamza

  • April 2015

All in one hotel

Me and my partner had a really nice stay overall.

The only thing that was a little disappointing was the condition of the ceilings in the room. It was discoloured and looked like it was damp which put us off a little bit. However the staff was lovely and very helpful and we loved the sea view from the room. We have already recommended the hotel and will be staying there again.

  • s thomas

  • March 2015

horrendous....noisy

was given room over the nightclub even though i asked for a quiet one, music banging until 3am..floor felt like it was vibrating...breakfast was standard but seats were mostly ripped and damaged in some way...

2nd time ive been here and decided to give it benefit of the doubt..so wish i hadnt..will not be booking Porthcawl Hotel again.

  • Chris Evans

  • March 2015

Adequate for 1 night

Basic room in the middle of town.

Breakfast was below average with the most disgusting sausage I have ever had.

  • Llio Davies

  • January 2015

very average.room cold and summer duvets/blankets in the middle of winter.Also shower not working

I felt that the staff didn't care about the service.We were left to our own devices.I was ok for price but nothing more than that