Reviews - Castle Hotel



Price From 146 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (17)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • ivars ozolins

  • August 2015

Wonderful 3 day experience

Staff were wonderful - when they found out stay was part of our honeymoon we received room upgrade and they secretly decorated our dining and breakfast tables with flowers etc provided by my sister, and allowed her to decorate our room as a surprise before we arrived.

Many thanks.

Hotel is wonderful old world. I believe the chef was a stand in, first breakfast was poor but third was very good as with the evening meal. Overall cannot fault our stay. Real ale on tap also.

  • E Hughes

  • July 2015

welsh rarebits hotel

This hotel was in the welsh rarebits hotel brochure.

fortunately it didn't live up to other hotels in this publication. we stayed in room 9, there were 2 bulbs blown in main light and the en-suite door had recently been changed but not finished. But it was an old building with plenty of character. The food was OK but as I cant eat potatoes I asked for a salad with my gammon but all I got was the gammon and a few lettuce leaves as a garnish, definitely not worth the money.

  • David W

  • June 2015

The food and character of the hotel make it memorable.

I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience.

A great location in a small town ideal for exploring the Brecon Beacons. The food was excellant, breakfast good but dessert choice was disappointing. Rooms were good but as always seems the case with hotels, not everything worked properly in the room. Very clean but towels left on the floor to be changed were hung back up. All in all, a good value hotel that i would recommend but not perfect.

  • Stephen Hall

  • June 2015

Simply excellent!

We had some strange requirements as we were there for a photography project, but the hotel were happy to arrange a late breakfast at 11am for us after we'd returned from shooting and got some sleep.

  • roger lovely

  • November 2014

castle hotel stay

arrived and greeted at the hotel.

We were very pleased with our room,slept well although a little noisy from outside with the traffic but that never bothered us. Had a lovely meal and the service was very good. So all in all would highly recommend this hotel.......thankyou Roger and Pauline Lovely......East Sussex

  • Graham G

  • November 2014

Great service at this historic lodging.

The welcome was warm amd service great.

The room was in good order with an exceptional shower. Bar food was very good and there was plenty of choice for the evening meal. Breakfast; superb!

  • V Woods

  • September 2014

Very friendly staff, good location, food excellent and generous portions.

Room spacious, very clean and quiet.

  • A Anderson

  • September 2014

Weekend break

This is a lovely old inn and yes some of the areas are looking a bit worn but somehow it all adds to the character.

The loft bedroom was lovely with a large bathroom. It was the attention to detail that made this place special - the lovely toiletries in the bathroom, the branded tea, coffee etc and the jar of home made biscuits.

  • william a

  • July 2014

Hotel fine, beer not too good

  • Sharan Edwards

  • June 2014

Excellent 2 night break

We were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff and given an instant up grade to a superior room as it was unoccupied.

A very pleasant start to our stay. At our meals in the evening the staff were attentive without being intrusive, The young lady who served us at breakfast on both mornings was very helpful, on the first morning she offered to arrange a packed lunch and on the second she remembered our plans for the previous day to visit my mother and asked if all was well with the visit. Small touches which made us feel as if we mattered!