Reviews - Castle Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (18)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Sharon c

  • November 2015

The perfect retreat

We loved staying here it was a very friendly,cosy hotel, even though this is situated right next to a busy road we could not here the traffic and slept comfortably.There was an issue with the room when we arrived it had been double booked but was soon sorted.The Nelson suite was stunning exactly as shown on pictures.Food was amazing but a bit limited with the menu and no healthy things on there to eat,maybe should think about having a little salad on the menu.Lovely lounge area which my partner and I appreciated as it was a kid free weekend of peace and tranquility,evening were sat in here with a nice tot of whiskey.

  • ivars ozolins

  • August 2015

Wonderful 3 day experience

Staff were wonderful - when they found out stay was part of our honeymoon we received room upgrade and they secretly decorated our dining and breakfast tables with flowers etc provided by my sister, and allowed her to decorate our room as a surprise before we arrived.

Many thanks.

Hotel is wonderful old world. I believe the chef was a stand in, first breakfast was poor but third was very good as with the evening meal. Overall cannot fault our stay. Real ale on tap also.

  • E Hughes

  • July 2015

welsh rarebits hotel

This hotel was in the welsh rarebits hotel brochure.

fortunately it didn't live up to other hotels in this publication. we stayed in room 9, there were 2 bulbs blown in main light and the en-suite door had recently been changed but not finished. But it was an old building with plenty of character. The food was OK but as I cant eat potatoes I asked for a salad with my gammon but all I got was the gammon and a few lettuce leaves as a garnish, definitely not worth the money.

  • David W

  • June 2015

The food and character of the hotel make it memorable.

I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience.

A great location in a small town ideal for exploring the Brecon Beacons. The food was excellant, breakfast good but dessert choice was disappointing. Rooms were good but as always seems the case with hotels, not everything worked properly in the room. Very clean but towels left on the floor to be changed were hung back up. All in all, a good value hotel that i would recommend but not perfect.

  • Stephen Hall

  • June 2015

Simply excellent!

We had some strange requirements as we were there for a photography project, but the hotel were happy to arrange a late breakfast at 11am for us after we'd returned from shooting and got some sleep.

  • roger lovely

  • November 2014

castle hotel stay

arrived and greeted at the hotel.

We were very pleased with our room,slept well although a little noisy from outside with the traffic but that never bothered us. Had a lovely meal and the service was very good. So all in all would highly recommend this hotel.......thankyou Roger and Pauline Lovely......East Sussex

  • Graham G

  • November 2014

Great service at this historic lodging.

The welcome was warm amd service great.

The room was in good order with an exceptional shower. Bar food was very good and there was plenty of choice for the evening meal. Breakfast; superb!

  • V Woods

  • September 2014

Very friendly staff, good location, food excellent and generous portions.

Room spacious, very clean and quiet.

  • A Anderson

  • September 2014

Weekend break

This is a lovely old inn and yes some of the areas are looking a bit worn but somehow it all adds to the character.

The loft bedroom was lovely with a large bathroom. It was the attention to detail that made this place special - the lovely toiletries in the bathroom, the branded tea, coffee etc and the jar of home made biscuits.

  • william a

  • July 2014

Hotel fine, beer not too good