Alara Bed & Breakfast

3

981-987 Penistone Road, ,, Sheffield, S6 2DH

Price From 96.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • m s

  • February 2015

Alara Bed & Breakfast

It was ok but I was asked to give my card security code and told to pay upfront.

Also given an invoice for £50 but booked with late rooms cheaper. It was confusing - place was ok as a one off. Plesant people.

  • R McKenzie

  • January 2015

Alara Bed & Breakfast

Very nice b&b friendly staff

  • Paul Mason

  • October 2014

Review of stay on the 03/10 - 4/10

Made to feel very welcome on arrival.

They had a record of my booking straight away, and what I had already paid, and the balance that I had left to pay. Given a description of the premises and how to get back in out out, what time brekkie was served, and then shown to my room, all very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast in the morning was good, and the staff were very friendly. The room was enough for what I need, and was clean and comfortable.

  • Paul C

  • October 2014

It was OK

Room was ok, and worth the money.

Comfortable bed and warm. The guy who runs it was nice and friendly. The only problem I had was with the drunks roaming the corridors shouting and banging on doors in the early hours, being woken up at 3am kind of ruined it for me. I'm sure it's not always the case though.

  • BARRY B

  • October 2014

Was in Sheffield for an overnight break and the Alara proved ideal for the night.

Easy to reach and find from the city via the trams, I found a pleasant clean and friendly environment. Was very happy with my stay.

  • Margaret M

  • September 2014

Alara Bed & Breakfast Review

Very basic but roughly £50 per night for bed plus breakfast was reasonable.

Breakfast was excellent value, but 2 shower/bathroom and toilets between 10 rooms was far from ideal. The steepness of the upper stairwells presented a serious concern (not suitable for small children, elderly, or people with mobile issues). One handrail on a steep stairwell appears a bit loose. Water tank and pipes were noisey from our room when residents were using showers.

Resident feedback

  • Jacquie Burnett

  • September 2014

Excellent in all aspects and thoroughly recommended.

  • Keith N

  • May 2014

Short stay

We only stayed a few hours as we were travelling in the early hours.

Comfortable room but very steep stairs so no use to anyone with mobility problems

Cant comment on the food as we left well before breakfast

  • T Walker

  • April 2014

Good night's sleep in a cosy b&b

I only stayed here a night, but it had everything I needed.

I imagine it would have everything you need from a B&B if you stayed longer too, comfortable bed, wash basin, tv, wifi, 2 chests of drawers, a space to hang clothes and tea and coffee making facilities all in the privacy of your room. The shared bathroom (2 toilets, one with shower cubicle, as well as a separate shower cubicle) was very clean and tidy, although water took a long time to drain from the shower, probably indicating that the drain needed cleaning.

Customer service was a little lacking, the guy who works nights will give you some information, but will disappear very quickly, as soon as he's said his piece, before you have time to ask further questions, although the women working on check out in the morning seemed very friendly.

The stairs are very steep. They probably wouldn't be suitable for the disabled or very elderly. All in all I had a good nights sleep in a cosy, comfortable and clean B&B. I wouldn't expect much more from a place like this!

  • Cheryl O

  • April 2014

good value and close to amenities

Room was basic with shard bathroom (fun in the middle of the night in attic room with very, very steep stairs....careful if been on a night out.

Lol)

It was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and close to the She field Wednesday football ground and greyhound stadium. Short taxi to city centre too. Good value, only paid £28 on a friday night.