No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alara Bed & Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
981-987 Penistone Road, , , Sheffield, S6 2DH
The ALARA B&B has been successfully running for the last 13 years and we would like to extend our homely welcome to you. ALARA is a family run bed & breakfast that is nestled on the A61 North also known as Penistone Road between the Sheffield Wednesday Football Stadium and the Hillsborough park, the park is ideal for that early morning run before breakfast or a game of tennis (weather permitting). We are a few hundred yards from the Napoleon Casino, The Dog Track, Hillsborough Swimming Baths and the Hillsborough Barracks. A short car journey up the road, leads to the countryside and Rivelin Valley Park and the Pennines. Take a tram ride to either the city centre or Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Both offer fantastic shopping facilities and eateries. Don't forget that all important 'night out', the Sheffield MotorSport Arena is just a short tram ride away. Within ten minutes drive to city centre, you are able to visit the Botanical Gardens, the Peace Garden, Lyceums and Crucible where the World Snooker Tournament takes place. We are also on the same side of city as Sheffield Hallam, Sheffield University, Hallamshire Hospital and Northern General Hospital.
Picture of Alara Bed & Breakfast, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Experience!
It was all great!

Reviewed by
Franklin Rogers

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place just to rest your head. Don't stay if you cant manage stairs!

Reviewed by
s hargreaves

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outward appearances were very deceptive. I was a little concerned at the need for a little TLC, but I need not of worried. The inside was very pleasant.

Reviewed by
E Vince

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly staff would stay there again.

Reviewed by
L Cooper

From Stowmarket, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and a great location
A bit of confusion about the credit card payment - but quickly sorted out. A comfy room and very well situated for public transport - tram to Don Valley and into town. Easy walking distance from Hillsborough Stadium - ideal as a base!

Reviewed by
S Doughty

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend
Was not friendly or inviting. In middle of nowhere. Arrived late(8ish) after visiting critically ill family member and could not get in for about five minutes. Difficult to find entrance. Was also much further from Royal Hallamshire than blurb indicated. Room clean but thats all. Bathroom not inviting and breakfast greasy.

Reviewed by
Mary F

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for what it is
Friendly and helpful staff, this B&B does what it says on the tin no more and no less which is fine with me and suited my stay. Conveniently located if you're an Owls fan, there are several fast food chains nearby and other amenities. Whilst I was the only person staying that night it would have been good to have the heating on a little higher/longer but apart from that no problems whatsoever.

Reviewed by
James C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly and personel service with a great traditional English breakfast.

Reviewed by
Martin B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay!
i really enjoyed my stay although i booked the wrong day the staff were very helpful with this. i felt at home straight away. i would of preferred a ensuite but toilets were close by, and clean and private . initially did not like the outside but inside was clean and lovely. loads of funny pictures and nice furnishings. would defo stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mesha smith

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3