Reviews - Alara Bed & Breakfast


981-987 Penistone Road, ,, Sheffield, S6 2DH

Price From 104.55 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (28)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Cheryl O

  • April 2014

good value and close to amenities

Room was basic with shard bathroom (fun in the middle of the night in attic room with very, very steep stairs....careful if been on a night out.


It was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and close to the She field Wednesday football ground and greyhound stadium. Short taxi to city centre too. Good value, only paid £28 on a friday night.

  • Simon J

  • April 2014

ok for a place to crash but thats about it, staff friendly & good breakfast


  • April 2014

Alara Sheffield.

Ideal for football supporters as 5 mins walk to Wednesdays ground.

I stayed overnight for a function. A small hotel but very clean, warm and welcoming. Polite and professional staff night and day. Good personal service and an excellent full English breakfast recommended. Homely atmosphere to put up your feet and relax.

  • Sara E

  • March 2014

Overnight stay

The staff I met were very helpful from my I'm lost phonecall to a surprise cooked breakfast Sun am as the lady cook came in earlier than normal - thanku x However I was very uncomfortable with where the bathroom was in relation to the bedroom as I had my teenage daughter with me & men were walking around in their underwear to & from their rooms The bed was very uncomfortable - you could feel all the springs in the mattress which made for a fairly bad night's sleep.

The accommodation was however lovely and warm even in the attic - blinds of some sort needed in bathrooms as lights in at night reveals everything

  • David White

  • March 2014

Great value for money- with friendly reception and a fabulous breakfast

This hotel represents great value for money.

The room was basic and, frankly, would benefit from a little modernisation but, this was more than made up for by the welcome and the helpful atttitude of the staff. The breakfast was - fot any hotel - excellent. Well cooked and plenty of it. I will certainly say there again.

  • D Brooks

  • February 2014

The Alara experiance

Fabulous Full English breakfast .

one of the best , down side though is very ( dangerously ) steep staircases to rooms . also the mattress should have been replaced 20 years ago . other than that for the money a nice experience , clean and very friendly staff . I would stay again .

  • S Jones

  • January 2014

Nice friendly cheap and cheerful

1 nights stay as saved travelling early morning for a meeting in Sheffield, room nice and clean and fairly quiet.

Very small and steep steps up to the rooms but was ok for me. Small on-site car park but enough room for the 2 or 3 people staying. Breakfast very good and nice choice. Overall cheap and cheerful stay for 1 or 2 nights max. Only problem I had was the room was very cold overnight did effect sleep somewhat but id booked a single room a double may be better.


  • January 2014

Good services.

But will need improve on heating facility