No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alara Bed & Breakfast

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
981-987 Penistone Road, , , Sheffield, S6 2DH
The ALARA B&B has been successfully running for the last nine years and we would like to extend our homely welcome to you. ALARA is a family run bed & breakfast that is nestled on the A61 North also known as Penistone Road between the Sheffield Wednesday Football Stadium and the Hillsborough park, the park is ideal for that early morning run before breakfast or a game of tennis (weather permitting). We are a few hundred yards from the Napoleon Casino, The Dog Track, Hillsborough Swimming Baths and the Hillsborough Barracks. A short car journey up the road, leads to the countryside and Rivelin Valley Park and the Pennines. Take a tram ride to either the city centre or Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Both offer fantastic shopping facilities and eateries. Don't forget that all important 'night out', the Sheffield MotorSport Arena is just a short tram ride away. With-in ten minutes drive to city centre, you are able to visit the Botanical Gardens, the Peace Garden, Lyceums and Crucible where the World Snooker Tournament takes place. We are also on the same side of city as Sheffield Hallam, Sheffield University, Hallamshire Hospital and Northern General Hospital.
Picture of Alara Bed & Breakfast, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly cheap and cheerful
1 nights stay as saved travelling early morning for a meeting in Sheffield, room nice and clean and fairly quiet. Very small and steep steps up to the rooms but was ok for me. Small on-site car park but enough room for the 2 or 3 people staying. Breakfast very good and nice choice. Overall cheap and cheerful stay for 1 or 2 nights max. Only problem I had was the room was very cold overnight did effect sleep somewhat but id booked a single room a double may be better.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good services. But will need improve on heating facility

Reviewed by
C NWABUEZE

From BONNY ISLAND, RIVERS STATE, Nigeria
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, just round the corner from the centre. The owner of the hotel was lovely and helped out with anything extra you needed

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From Bradford, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you are looking for somewhere to stay on a budget just outside Sheffield city center, then this is the hotel is for you. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms and shared bathrooms alike are kept very clean. You will struggle to find anywhere better value for money anywhere in the area.

Reviewed by
Nick W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Stopped one night. All I needed was the basics - a bed to sleep in, a shower to use in the morning, and breakfast. The Alara provided this, so I was happy.

Reviewed by
Niall H

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Who should stay here
Bit of a throwback to the seventies. Converted house with very steep stairway. I would not recommend to families with small children or older people

Reviewed by
Rod Pickard

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very freindly place

Reviewed by
Andrew Gray

From Kington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Experience!
It was all great!

Reviewed by
Franklin Rogers

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place just to rest your head. Don't stay if you cant manage stairs!

Reviewed by
s hargreaves

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outward appearances were very deceptive. I was a little concerned at the need for a little TLC, but I need not of worried. The inside was very pleasant.

Reviewed by
E Vince

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next