No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Great House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
High Street, Laleston, , Bridgend, CF32 0HP
Welcome to The Great House Hotel, a grade II listed building, believed to have been a gift from Queen Elizabeth 1 to the Earl of Leicester for use as a hunting lodge. More modern day Royal connections are via His Royal Highness Charles, Prince of Wales who has visited when travelling throughout Wales.

Conveniently situated just 5 minutes from M4 junctions 35 and 37, the hotel is located in the heart of the Conservation village of Laleston and overlooks the ancient village church. Some of the places of interest close by include the old thatched village of Merthyr Mawr and Candleston Dunes. We are also well placed for a range of walks and 10 golf courses including the championship courses at The Royal Porthcawl and Pyle and Kenfig. Margam Abbey and Country Park are also just 5 minutes away.

Leicester's Restaurant at The Great House has twice been awarded Country Restaurant of the Year . A variety of dishes are served to 2 AA rosette standard, and food is made from high-quality local ingredients. Please note that the restaurant does not open for dinner on Sunday evenings.

There is also a small health suite with a sauna, Jacuzzi and keep fit equipment. Free wireless broadband access.
Picture of The Great House Hotel, Bridgend at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a wonderful hotel and the staff and food are excellent a real gem
We stayed for one night as visiting a friend but only wished I could have stayed longer as the staff and owners really take care of you. The spa I would of loved to have used but was not there long enough but will be back to try out the facilities. The food was excellent the staff very professional the restaurant is relaxing, cosy, and great for a special occasion. Our room was cosy clean and every comfort you could ask for and the home made cookie delightful. A real gem will be back.

Reviewed by
B Boughey

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old house in Wales
Had a very lovely stay. The restaurant was FANTASTIC... really incredible food. Enjoyed the lovely old house as well. The low doorways with red ribbon reminders really amused me. Overall we had a very nice time.

Reviewed by
Alex L

From Alexandria, USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money. Hospitable accommodation & good customer service

Reviewed by
A Macleod

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little jewel.
This sixteenth century manor house has been beautifully restored, and retains many of its original features. The standard of the accommodation is surely well above its 3* rating, with many touches of luxury. The owners are most welcoming and are usually in the hotel in the mornings and evenings. The staff are all very courteous and friendly and give an excellent service - nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfasts are especially good and the quality of the restaurant meals is very high, with local produce used wherever possible. The hotel is set in a quiet village location, just opposite the old church, but just a few minutes' drive from the M4 with easy access to much of South Wales and beyond. All in all this is a real little jewel of a hotel, and our experience was that it felt as though we were staying with friends.

Reviewed by
Karlyn G

From Llandudno Junction, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
This Hotel was maintained to a 5 Star, the staff were excellent, food wonderful, rooms of best quality.
Car parking onsite and inclusive internet left no surprise on the bill. I will stay again when in Bridgend.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind review, we really appreciate it! We shall look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
A Shah

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Experience
Excellent . A very warm, friendly welcome from the young woman receptionist. Very good room. Not very large but very well furnished.
good food

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We hope to welcome you again.

Reviewed by
Anni H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good

Reviewed by
James Britz

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
Lovely! Wonderful food and superb restaurant nicely priced!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review! We hope to welcome you back to The Great House in the near future! Kind regards, Stephen, Proprietor

Reviewed by
C French

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find
we spent a lovely new year's eve here. The food was great and we had a fantastic room

ManagementResponse

Thank you your kind review. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed by
F Bishop

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Experience
From arrival to departure after 2 nights staff were attentive professional and warm/pleasant towards me and other guests

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review The Great House. We hope to accommodate you again.

Reviewed by
David L

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.