Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff Hotels > VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Cardiff
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Cardiff

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
29 PENDWYALLT ROAD , CARDIFF, CF14 7EF
Village Cardiff is perfect for leisure and business travellers alike with road, rail and airport links close by and within easy reach of nearby attractions. Embrace the culture at Caerphilly Castle, shop till you drop at St Davids Dewi Sant and keep active at the Red Dragon Centre.

Village Urban Resorts offers you everything under one roof: cool room big bed; a pool you can swim in; a gym and spa to relax in; a choice of stylish dining or traditional pub grub; a Starbucks and FREE Car Parking. All rooms are uber chic and include FREE wifi which is also available in all public areas. Why not upgrade to an UpperDeck room – the must-have room with genuinely good extras!

Enjoy the wonderful amenities and great service at the Village Urban Resort Cardiff.

Picture of VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Cardiff, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 112 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night away

Reviewed by
A Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lesson learned - make sure you get the room you paid for.
We booked a superior double room, which of course costs extra, but when we saw our room we suspected that we hadn't been given the room we booked. On questioning someone at the desk when we checked out we found that we had indeed been given a standard double room - and suffered noise from the bar below and the room was located right over the main door, so noise from out side constantly. There was a wedding there on the first night and when we arrived we were asked if we had stayed there before, and I think because we said no, they thought they could give us an inferior room because we wouldn't know any better. We did get a bit of a refund, but it wasn't the difference between the price of the superior and the price of the standard. This is quite a nice hotel considering its location near the motorway, but we weren't impressed by the service either at the main desk or in the restaurant at breakfast. On the plus side the swimming pool and spa facilities are very nice.

Reviewed by
Cheryll Hodgson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Leisure Facilities & Excellent Room Service
Overall our stay was very comfortable and relaxing although I would like to raise a few areas of concern where I think improvements can be made. Firstly, I would like to see the implementation of a meet and greet service at breakfast as there was no allocation of tables which meant having to track down a waitress to ask her for a table. A meet and greet service would also prevent non hotel guests from entering the restaurant as meet and greet would confirm room numbers etc. Secondly, I would redesign the buffet area as hot food difficult to access and this encouraged long queues which made it awkward for all guests. Please please ensure that your bacon is grilled and not boiled as this ruins the texture of the bacon which seemed under cooked. The Leisure Club was superb, but one rude female staff member on Leisure Reception made me and my twin brother feel like a freak show as on both nights she asked us uncomfortable twin questions and drew unnecessary attention to the both of us. There is being friendly etc, but on both nights, my brother and I just wanted to sign in and be handed a towel and would prefer more of a professional friendly service as opposed to feeling uncomfortable. Thought the room service was excellent and dinner very tasty - especially the burger!

Reviewed by
Simon P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved it so much we stayed and extra night
I had to stay in Cardiff initially for business but as it was school holidays my 15 year old daughter came with me. We had a wonderful time -enjoyed the stay especially the gym and pool which was fabulous. When we went down to breakfast late the first morning thinking it finished at 10.30 (a poster in the lift which on closer inspection was for sat and sun) instead of 9.30 they we're very accommodating putting a tray of goodies together for me to take to the room which was very nice of them as it was our mistake for misreading the poster.
The reception were excellent at all times. We had a meal in the pub which was quite pleasant if slightly pricey. We had never been to Cardiff before but will definitely be back and will certainly stay at the village again!!!

Reviewed by
SALLIE S

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Great hotel.

Reviewed by
James I

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, First class service
Lovely clean hotel, staff were first class, only thing that let the hotel down was the lack of A/C in the bedroom which was very hot even with the window open.

Reviewed by
Gail M

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value for money
My double room cost 140 pounds for two. There was one small towel and one large towel. There were large chunks of paint missing from the wall in the main room and the ensuite. The extractor fan in the en suite did not work. The bath was dirty with hair and filth in the plug hole. Altogether a poor effort on quality control!

Reviewed by
S Broughton

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Facitities If You Like the Pool & Gym
Only stayed for one night a Saturday in mid July 2013.
Very nice hotel with great pool and associated facilities. Gym area was well stocked and not busy.
Unfortunately the Beer was poor (Cloudy / Off) & the Restaurant was pricing above its station.
Would probably give the Hotel a 2nd chance if i'm stopping in the area again, but only because of the pool.
Oh. Ask for a room above Level 1. Accommodation is mainly over the bar & restaurant so an early quite night is a no no. No AC either.

Reviewed by
Mike Y

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top accommodation, excellent service and facilities
Can't fault the venue, excellent facilities, staff are very friendly, had a pleasant stay would definitely go back :-)
Thank you for a lovely stay!

Reviewed by
Gareth G

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attended Nephews Wedding
Very pleased with the venue. Room was outstanding. Everything you could possibly need when travelling a good distance. Very clean. What more can I say - excellent. Good value. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
A Walker

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next