No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kilpeck Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Kilpeck Inn, Kilpeck , Hereford, HR2 9DN
Our aim is to offer our guests a warm welcome in stylish yet authentic surroundings, with the very best in creature comforts, excellent cooking using high quality local ingredients, a range of local beers & ciders and great wines, all served by friendly & efficient village staff. In short a great taste of Herefordshire.

Our History:

The Kilpeck Inn was originally a cottage built circa 1650 from stones taken from the local Norman castle when it was broken down during the English Civil War. The Castle’s mound & moat are adjacent to the renowned 12th Century Kilpeck church, described by Simon Jenkins as ‘England’s most perfect Norman church, which is just 200 yards from the Inn’s front door.

The Inn opened as a small village pub, known as The Red Lion, around 1750 and held an important role in village life for over 250 years.

In 2005 it sadly closed and repeated attempts were made by the new owners to get planning for conversion to a private house. A vigorous ‘Save Our Pub' campaign successfully fought this and the pub was then bought by its current owner and after 18 months of sensitive restoration it re-opened as The Kilpeck Inn in May 2010.

Our creature comforts:

In all our bedrooms we offer:

Quality pocket sprung mattresses, pure crisp Egyptian cotton sheets, soft down filled duvets & pillows,
Contemporary en-suite marble bathrooms with Arran Aromatic toiletries
Hairdryers & wooden hangers
Large flat screen TVs with built-in DVD players, we provide a selection of films to borrow
Coffee & tea making supplies with china mugs to make you feel at home.

Our Green credentials:

We think we could be the greenest pub in the UK. How many other establishments will have built in the following?

Heating – a wood pellet boiler provides underfloor heating assisted by a wood burning stove
Solar Heating – two panels on the roof heat the hot water
Rain water recovery plant – tank buried under the garden collects rainwater to flush all toilets
Insulation – minimum 100mm (4”) in the walls, ceilings and under floor, all windows double-glazed
All our appliances are low consumption and the mainly LED or halide lights are on sensors or timers
All the food we can we source locally – so are the staff! - so food and staff miles are minimised
Picture of The Kilpeck Inn, Hereford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
A lovely pub with superb accommodation, lovely food and lovely staff.
Breakfast was delicious and perfectly cooked. (The best poached eggs ever)
At last we have found a place in Herefordshire that ticks all the boxes.
Will defiantly be going back!

Reviewed by
Mark Edwards

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Countryside break
Excellant room and food .Staff very attentive--nothing too much trouble.

Reviewed by
J McLellan

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Kilpeck Inn - Clean, lovely village and surroundings but they have some work to do
We stayed at The Kilpeck Inn as we were working nearby the next day. The village of Kilpeck is gorgeous with an 11th century church and castle ruin just up the lane to wander around at sunset with fantastic views.
Our first impression of the inn was that it was nicely done out if not a little staid and a bit too perfect and tidy which which made it lack character where it should have abounded.
The rooms were tastefully decorated with good clean bathrooms. Our bed however was very soft meaning that we rolled uncomfortably into the centre and the pillows weren't great.
There was no milk in the bedroom for our morning cup of tea and the pub wasn't open so we had to go without until we went into the pub for breakfast. Breakfast was good.
There was a problem with sound travelling from the bedroom next to us as their TV was mounted onto the wall backing onto ours. We had to knock on their door and ask them to turn the volume down as it was midnight and we had to sleep.
Dinner the night before was too pricey for what we were served, the food was dry with no sauces on either. A main was about £15.00 where it should have been a few pounds less for the standard of the food, disappointing.
In all an ok stop over which did the job seeing as we were there on business. We could have done with a better nights sleep as we managed about 5 hours, not enough for a full days work ahead.

Reviewed by
J Cunningham

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

University Run
We have stayed here at The Kilpeck Inn which is in a lovely village setting with wonderful country views. (Good walking country). We had dinner which was very good and they were happy to modify the menu to suit our needs. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Memory foam super king size bed, very comfy. Breakfast was also...
More

Reviewed by
Gerald Y

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic country pub
We have just enjoyed a two night stay at the Kilpeck. Lovely large, clean room. The food in the evening was excellent and the breakfast was freshly cooked which makes a nice change from the corporate, business type hotels that i normally have to stay in. All of the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Fully recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet place to stay in Herefordshire.

Reviewed by
P Black

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A genuine little Gem in the Herefordshire countryside
This is a genuine little gem in the Herefordshire countryside. The accomodation is clean and tidy, the food is great, although the service in the bar was a little slower than I expected. My table in the bar was laid and ready for me at the time I booked for my evening meal and I was shown to the table with menu in hand, but waited nearly 20 minutes to be served. A small comlaint maybe in what was otherwise a very enjoyable stay. This was my fourth visit and I will no doubt be back when I am next in the area.

Reviewed by
Jeff Allen

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good night in a nice location
Had a really good evening here in a nice clean and well laid out room. Friendly staff and a lovely view to top it off. Will stay again when I am next working in the area.

Reviewed by
Rob G

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fab pub with lovely food and excellent accommodation. Definitely worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Teresa Baker

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem !
Stayed here for business, as I liked the look of the Inn on the website and I wasn't disappointed. My colleague and I arrived from Birmingham around 4 and although not open had a couple of well earned 'Butty Bach' in the bar. The staff were extremely hospitable, and showed us to our rooms, which were outstanding. Stayed for dinner and enjoyed the pork belly and tenderloin, colleague had a steak. The food and service again was excellent. Zoe and her staff made us extremely welcome, and by the end of the evening felt like locals ! A real hidden gem, off the beaten track but within touching distance of where we needed to be. 100% fantastic experience, and have just booked today to return later this week on business. Already looking forward to the very generous hospitality ! Paul

Reviewed by
Paul Redders

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit. Enjoyed every minute.
Stayed in the Monnow. Excellent size room, bed and bathroom. Egyptian cotton sheets, good quality pillows and attention to detail? Friendly staff and good quality food made this a lovely one night break..

Reviewed by
Colin McMillan

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next