No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown & Anchor

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
41 HILTON STREET , Manchester, M1 2EE
The Crown & Anchor is a Family run Bed & Breakfast, situated in the northern quarter of Manchester city Centre, just five minuites from Piccadilly train station and a stone's throw from Piccadilly gardens where all amenities, good shops, bars and restaurants can be found.15 minuites from City Stadium, G Mex Exibition and the Manchester Evening news arena. All our rooms are tastefully decorated with clean and comfortable beds, coulour TV with Tea & Coffee making facilities. Our cosy well stocked bar is open from noon until midnight offering great food, a selection of wines and traditional cask ales.Ideal for the budget concious, small groups and contractors, you can be guareenteed a welcoming, relaxed and homely envirement. Upon check in guest's will be issued with keys allowing 24 hour access to the B & B via the residents entrance.
Picture of The Crown & Anchor, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic
Pretty basic accommodation. Close to major road so noisy. Old building that has seen considerable use and is pretty tired.
Shared toilet/shower.
Reasonable value in comparison to 'business hotels'

Reviewed by
Tony D

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay
I stayed for 3 nights and it was very good, the room was comfortable and good value for money, the breakfast was good and the owners were very friendly, a good family run business. I will be going back to Manchester and I will stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Simmonds

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
A bit run down and needing some upgrading, wardrobe did a great impression of leaning tower of Pisa very dusty inside poor fitting window which did not keep noise of neighbours out.

Reviewed by
Martin M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Good location near Piccadilly Gardens
Can be a bit noisy late at night with the pub downstairs and another opposite
Rooms tidy, shared shower area well kept too

Reviewed by
M Brown

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yapping Dogs
I didn't expect the Ritz but was very pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room. Breakfast was was good, offering cereals, tea coffee and juice, followed by a traditional cooked breakfast. (had we been o the other side of the Pennines then no doubt it would be described as a "Yorkshire" breakfast.)
The one one down side to my stay were two dogs. I'm not sure whether they belonged to a staff member or a guest, but I am sure that their owner should have more consideration to guests and not leave them barking their heads off for half an hour from from midnight

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst place I have stayed at
From moths in the bedroom, to sticky floors, to dirty sheets from a mouldy shared bathrooms to the staff being very unhelpful. When I wanted to cancel my booking within minutes of arriving due to my dissatisfaction, they refused to refund me. It was a horrible place to stay.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended if you actually want to sleep
I arrived here for a night's stopover before an early flight the next day and I didn't get a wink of sleep. You'd think that the fact that the pub owners are the ones renting the rooms would mean that they'd have some courtesy towards the people staying in them, but no. Pumping bass until midnight with no sound proofing whatsoever. The hotel part of this business is definitely an afterthought, and this was summed up when they turned the (free) wifi off when the pub closed. Even after it closed, the room looked out onto a very noisy Friday night street, and this wasn't helped by the fact that my window was broken and wouldn't shut properly. By about 3am, the street got a bit quieter, and then it was the turn of my fellow guests, arriving back after a night out, slamming doors and shouting across the landing. They certainly had the right idea, because a place to crash after a night out in the centre of Manchester really is all this B&B is good for. Perhaps on a weekday, it might be a bit more tolerable.
The room itself was basic, with a washbasin, TV, an okay bed and a generous number of tea bags. The bathroom was spacious, but as others have said on their reviews, you have a choice between a boiling shower and a freezing one.
So in conclusion, decent enough room, but you can't sleep in it. Decent enough bathroom, but you can't have a proper shower. Pretty fundamental problems, really.

Reviewed by
Joseph P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly place.
Booked a single room only to be to find to suorise I had a twin room due to no single rooms. Lots of different largers, spirits and wines on offer. I didn't eat here in the evening but seem to have a good choice of meals. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was spot on (full English).

Reviewed by
G Eastham

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff where pleasant. Communal bathroom and no hot water, spoiled our stay.

Reviewed by
S Callister

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Review
The room was clean but the decoration was unfinished. The bathroom was drab and the handbasin not fitted properly. The service and food were both good.

Reviewed by
G Miller

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next