You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Crown & Anchor


41 Hilton Street, Manchester, M1 2EE

Price From 143.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • geoff s

  • October 2016

Good location, cheap and cheerful

great spot close to the centre of town - bit of noise associated with that, but nothing too severe...

windows are double glazed. Budget accommodation - shared bathrooms etc - but clean enough and friendly people. Breakfast was pretty good for the price.

  • Darrell Barnes

  • September 2016

Avoid this place

The worst place I have ever stayed in anywhere.

No hot water in either of the shared bathrooms (mentioning this didn't produce any result); the electric power shower produced a thin trickle of tepid water; the TV remote didn't work; the TV aerial came adrift because it wasn't attached properly; I had asked for a quiet room so was placed in a room barely big enough to swing a cat opposite a bar; the breakfast was just about passable; the staff were lukewarm in their welcome; the thin broken blinds did next to nothing to keep out light. The sooner this place is pulled down the better Manchester's reputation will be. I found it an utterly depressing experience.

  • A Taplin

  • June 2016

My Stay

Could not use the shared bathroom as previous guest flooded the floor.

The blinds in the room did NOT block out the light and it was in a very noisy location. Very helpful taking my suitcase up the stairs and the breakfast was passable.

  • Alan Hunt

  • February 2016

Fantastic place

Staff very nice and polite look forward to staying here again superb value.

Amazing breakfast and all for such a small price

  • N Swan

  • January 2016

Friendly place to stay and perfect location within central Manchester!

  • Andrew Talbot

  • December 2015

One night gig stay

I stayed in The Crown & Anchor while up in Manchester because I was watching a gig in the nearby Ruby Lounge.

I found the staff courteous and helpful. The bar was very nice and the breakfast was very good all at a reasonable price. Maybe 1 mark down on room because I had no open window but for a trip like mine it was ideal and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • B Procter

  • October 2015

Very friendly

I found the Crown and Anchor very convenient to the City Centre and the staff are very friendly and obliging.

My only problem was another guest snoring loudly in the next room from 3am. Not the fault of the management though!

  • jacqueline h

  • October 2015

Happy Camper

Very good central area.

Had two small niggles but they were dealt with immediately. The breakfast was excellent and nice homely feel to the place.

  • Nicholas G

  • September 2015

One night stay

Good location and easy to find.

Clean room and shared bathroom. Great cooked breakfast in the morning.

  • j hudgell

  • March 2015

crown and anchor review

a nice pub with friendly staff right near the city center close to mainline stations and metro the pub was busy and there was a lot of noise outside.

the room was good but small the door was broken and I had to use brute force to close it