No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashton House Hostel

Not Classified  Hostel Ratings explained
Ashton House 196 Corporation Street, Manchester, M44DU
Ashton House is a hostel which dates back to early 1900's and was originally built as a hotel to serve Manchester Victoria Railway Station. It is now a Grade 2 listed Victorian property. In April 2010 Ashton House was acquired by its present owners and has now been sympathetically restored to its former glory.

The ground and basement floor has now been completely refurbished and has just recently opened again with over 130 beds. The hostel boasts Plasma screen TVs, 24 hour reception on Fridays and Saturdays, 65 internal CCTV cameras, secure lockers, shared dormitory bedrooms and private rooms that sleep from 2 - 9 persons. Everything is brand spanking new.

Unlike any other hostel in the UK we have installed Massage Showers with radio, LCD lighting, seat massager with 2 different showers and jet washers. These showers are the best and most luxury on the market. They have been installed to leave you secure in the knowledge that you will feel relaxed, fresh and comfortable. Ashton House provides free WIFI throughout the full building including all bedrooms unlike most. The site also benefits from Internet café - £1 per 15 minutes of internet – the machines are coin operated.

We have vending machines for snacks and tea and coffee. Accommodation is sold on a room only basis. We also have a small communal room with a plasma TV as well as microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge. Please note we do not have cooking facilities!

Other facilities include: secure lockers - £5 refundable key deposit and £2 p/day to use; towels - £5 refundable deposit and £3 for the use of a towel.

We have small shared rooms, private rooms, en-suite rooms, party rooms, a common room and longer term hotel style accommodation.
This hotel is situated less than 5 minutes walk to the Manchester Evening News Arena and Victoria Station, the finish on the property is to a nice standard and is ideal if you are visiting the city for business or pleasure

CHECK IN POLICY!
Check in is between 3pm and 11pm Sunday to Thursday and 24 hours on Friday and Saturday. If you do need to check in after 11pm, please contact us on 0161 834 3423 or 07931 396 970 at least 48hrs before your arrival date to make further arrangements.
CHECK OUT is 11am
Picture of Ashton House Hostel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place
great hostel, great staff, definately recommend this place. room was pretty small but still enough room for 3 of us to get ready without falling over each other. showers were amazing. location was good. we arrived back at the room pretty late (4am) and still heard people moving around after this however the noise was not excessive, not enought to keep us up.

Reviewed by
sam m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some where to sleep. Cant go wrong

Reviewed by
Jennifer Omalley

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay with teenage daughter
Receptionist very helpful. Double room with comfortable bed, had complimentary towels. Showers and sinks clean. Recommend earplugs as near a very busy road and noisy with passers-by, luckily I had some and had a good nights sleep. The hostel was full due to 1D concert, all the guests were quiet and well behaved. Remember photo id for check-in.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline W

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we called it the dungeon all night.
The only reason I gave it a 1 is as there no -10
On arriving I knew it wasn't going to great but nothing prepared me for it. The celling tiles are half hanging off, there was no Window, no ventilation, for a room for 9 people this was bad, but the dirty carpets, dirty bedding (sick on one of the sheets and short and curlys on two other bed sheets) was horrendous. We were told on the phone we had a separate bathroom but it was communal and also dirty. After complaining about the state of the room (before we saw the bathroom) the staff apologised gave us an explanation and a part refund but we were to hot, disturbed all night by the toilet and shower room doors banging. fortunately I have friends who made the best out of a bad thing and it will be something we joke about for a long long time, but I was embarrassed as I booked it and it could of ruined the night for us.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damages
Despite the shower rooms being upgraded, on my visit there were several broken and the cleanliness left much to be desired.
There was also buzzing and high pitch squeel that was consistent through out the night, believed to be coming from the florescent lighting.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was quick & easy 2 to get 2 check in & out was great service phoned cabs for us there information sheet was easy to follow had a great nights stay

Reviewed by
marie Welsh

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sad rooms but excellent customer service
The rooms were cold and largely unoccupied. The kitchen was quite pleasant. If you just want a bed to crash in for the night, it makes the cut. But if you expect more, I am afraid that you would be disappointed. There are cameras around though so I felt safe. The person who was at the reception did an excellent job at maintaining order at the place.

Reviewed by
C Ho

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the showers were enjoyable, and the place was clean, it was quite unpleasant to be in a small room where the windows don't open and the radiator doesn't turn off.

Reviewed by
WILLEM O

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A game of two halfs
The place is cheap and close to town.
But at night there is little control of the building
No lock on toilet doors.

Reviewed by
John K

From Co Durham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashton House
Located close to the Northern Quarter area of the city, Ashton House is ideal for travellers, people or groups who simply need a room to get there head down after a night out. There were 6 of us including myself so we were able to book a private room which simply consisted of three bunkbeds. Basic but clean. The wash room was located down the hall and again not flashy but adequate. Ideal for unfussy travellers.

Reviewed by
G Henderson

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next