No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashton House Hostel

Not Classified  Hostel Ratings explained
Ashton House 196 Corporation Street, Manchester, M44DU
Ashton House is a hostel which dates back to early 1900's and was originally built as a hotel to serve Manchester Victoria Railway Station. It is now a Grade 2 listed Victorian property. In April 2010 Ashton House was acquired by its present owners and has now been sympathetically restored to its former glory.

The ground and basement floor has now been completely refurbished and has just recently opened again with over 130 beds. The hostel boasts Plasma screen TVs, 24 hour reception on Fridays and Saturdays, 65 internal CCTV cameras, secure lockers, shared dormitory bedrooms and private rooms that sleep from 2 - 9 persons. Everything is brand spanking new.

Unlike any other hostel in the UK we have installed Massage Showers with radio, LCD lighting, seat massager with 2 different showers and jet washers. These showers are the best and most luxury on the market. They have been installed to leave you secure in the knowledge that you will feel relaxed, fresh and comfortable. Ashton House provides free WIFI throughout the full building including all bedrooms unlike most. The site also benefits from Internet café - £1 per 15 minutes of internet – the machines are coin operated.

We have vending machines for snacks and tea and coffee. Accommodation is sold on a room only basis. We also have a small communal room with a plasma TV as well as microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge. Please note we do not have cooking facilities!

Other facilities include: secure lockers - £5 refundable key deposit and £2 p/day to use; towels - £5 refundable deposit and £3 for the use of a towel.

We have small shared rooms, private rooms, en-suite rooms, party rooms, a common room and longer term hotel style accommodation.
This hotel is situated less than 5 minutes walk to the Manchester Evening News Arena and Victoria Station, the finish on the property is to a nice standard and is ideal if you are visiting the city for business or pleasure
Picture of Ashton House Hostel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No heating in the hotel slept in the cold TB avoided dirty full off damp and not female friendly
boiler broke no heating and no alternative
Too much damp & humidity window condensation. No view out of the windows
Not very clean either
Not female friendly. My girlfriend told me males would repetitively walk in the female toilet and say oops sorry, she had only spend few minutes in the toiled.

Reviewed by
F Nguebeng

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If all you want is a bed for the night in Manchester, this is a great place
We stayed here for one night on Friday 12th December. 9 of us stayed in a 10-bed dormitory and it worked out at less than £15 per person....! Great location, just a couple of minutes walk from Victoria Station. Yes, the room wasn't immaculately clean (although the bedding was fine) and, yes, the whole place is a bit run down but the staff were very helpful before and during our stay and we would definitely book here again if we needed to stay over following a future Manchester night out. What do you want for the price? It does the job.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
The beds are clean and comfortable. Rooms are warm, but rooms and accommodation are basic.

Reviewed by
E CLARKE

From Ballynahinch, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolute dump
moved out after first night no light in room no carpet trying to get our money back dump

Reviewed by
gordon donaldson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad night
Room was next to main road had to leave £20 deposit for tv remote. No place to was and had to use shared toilets that was dirty and door did not have handle only a hole you had to put your finger in to open it.

Reviewed by
Glenn Jones

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Happy
I stayed in this Hostel with 7 others, and after reading the negative reviews, we were a little worried... But after the stay, I have decided to leave a review to point out to others that its no where near as bad as what some people have made out. I never leave reviews but feel like its needed as we had a good stay - yeah the room was small and there was nothing in there other than beds (and a mirror lol) but we slept well, friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Id recommend it if you just need a cheap place to crash, like we did.

Reviewed by
Luke K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for.
Stayed 3 nights at 13.75 per night can't complain about that. Only gripe was £3 to rent a towel is a little steep.

Reviewed by
S Jackson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for prise
Was better than what I expected, if you are thinking about staying here I would recommend you get the private room as you get a comfy double bed with a t.v, the toilets and showers were clean. Only problem is it can get realy hot at night as the windows do not open so if you have a fan bring it!

Reviewed by
s fleming

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. Clean room and helpful service

Reviewed by
Joe H

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for losing weight through sweat and illness. Also, please never go there.
I and a group of friends were quite pleased to find this place. We confirmed how close to central Manchester it was, the facilities, etc, and it all seemed good enough for the price. However, we never thought to ask if oxygen was provided. It doesn't really cross your mind in these matters. Even the filthiest, most cockroach-infested places I've stayed in have had a window or ventilation. This was a nice enough place, but which genius was it that decided a twelve-bed, 5m x 3m room, would be perfect if it was underground with nothing to stop it becoming moist? All the sheets and mattresses felt damp as soon as we walked in. The bathrooms (next door, I might add) smelt like the fungal kind had died in there, and several of out party had to leave a night early because they were either becoming ill or they just couldn't survive another night in there. We had to sleep with the door open to be able to breathe during the night, and since our room was next to toilets and showers, we constantly had people walking past us. We at one point discussed sentry duty. I feel like if I'm paying over £100 per night for a room, I shouldn't have to choose between the safety of the things I've brought and the potential to not drown in the combined sweat of twelve people. When I asked at reception if there was anything that could be done, I was told there was nothing, not even a fan that we could borrow, and that they have had similar complaints many, many times. So why hasn't something been done? It's ridiculous. Every single person was adversely affected by staying in this hostel. I personally was put back several months of healing with a skin condition, others have lung problems due to the damp conditions.
On the upside, the kitchen area was quite nice. Although we didn't know about it until our final morning there. So it turned out there were no redeeming features during our visit.

Reviewed by
Laura B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next