No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ashton House Hostel

Not Classified  Hostel Ratings explained
Ashton House 196 Corporation Street, Manchester, M44DU
Ashton House is a hostel which dates back to early 1900's and was originally built as a hotel to serve Manchester Victoria Railway Station. It is now a Grade 2 listed Victorian property. In April 2010 Ashton House was acquired by its present owners and has now been sympathetically restored to its former glory.

The ground and basement floor has now been completely refurbished and has just recently opened again with over 130 beds. The hostel boasts Plasma screen TVs, 24 hour reception on Fridays and Saturdays, 65 internal CCTV cameras, secure lockers, shared dormitory bedrooms and private rooms that sleep from 2 - 9 persons. Everything is brand spanking new.

Unlike any other hostel in the UK we have installed Massage Showers with radio, LCD lighting, seat massager with 2 different showers and jet washers. These showers are the best and most luxury on the market. They have been installed to leave you secure in the knowledge that you will feel relaxed, fresh and comfortable. Ashton House provides free WIFI throughout the full building including all bedrooms unlike most. The site also benefits from Internet café - £1 per 15 minutes of internet – the machines are coin operated.

We have vending machines for snacks and tea and coffee. Accommodation is sold on a room only basis. We also have a small communal room with a plasma TV as well as microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge. Please note we do not have cooking facilities!

Other facilities include: secure lockers - £5 refundable key deposit and £2 p/day to use; towels - £5 refundable deposit and £3 for the use of a towel.

We have small shared rooms, private rooms, en-suite rooms, party rooms, a common room and longer term hotel style accommodation.
This hotel is situated less than 5 minutes walk to the Manchester Evening News Arena and Victoria Station, the finish on the property is to a nice standard and is ideal if you are visiting the city for business or pleasure
Picture of Ashton House Hostel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Ashton Hostel
I have seen many negative comments about Ashton Hostel, but what a bunch of moaners! What'd ya expect for £22 a night!? The Hylton? As for myself, I can only compliment the VERY friendly reception staff. Lovely girls. The rooms are basic, but for the price, it's cool...All I needed was a warm, clean bed, and thats exactly what I got..Nice clean bed, snug and warm, and kitchen facilities are basic..fridge, microwave and kettle in shared kitchen (so take your food snacks with you). But short of pitching up a tent in the local park, you won't find anywhere cheaper for a weekend in Manchester, and I will defo be staying there again..So stop yer moaning you bunch of miserys and get real! I have stayed in hotels all over the world, inc:4-5 star, and so I know the difference between luxury accomodation and basic...so for £22 a night, you can't go wrong!

Reviewed by
G Edwards

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
Comfortable bed
Nice shower
Paper thin walls

Reviewed by
J Strange

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashton House Hostel
Hotel was clean and secure. staff were helpful. didnt like having to share a kitchen with the dorm guests. own rooms should have tea coffee etc.

Reviewed by
adam p

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!
Was absolutely disgusting, me and my wife ended up leaving, after having a look round, this is definitely health and safety procedures gone wrong,

Reviewed by
P Welsh

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad sanitary facilities
The room was just bed within 4 walls, but that was OK. The room itself was clean and with no problems. I liked the old-style. The problem were sanitary facilities: Toilets were old and stinky and showers were bit moldy. I hope the upcoming refurbishment that was taking place during our stay will make the Ashton House a better place. On the other hand, I must compliment the willingness and kindness of employees. They were great!
Summary: In UK, I was to better places for less money spent. In Manchester, it would be better to pay some extra quid for better accommodation elsewhere. If you need just the bed and roof above your head for few days, the place is OK.

Reviewed by
Filip M

From Czech Republic
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No heating in the hotel slept in the cold TB avoided dirty full off damp and not female friendly
boiler broke no heating and no alternative
Too much damp & humidity window condensation. No view out of the windows
Not very clean either
Not female friendly. My girlfriend told me males would repetitively walk in the female toilet and say oops sorry, she had only spend few minutes in the toiled.

Reviewed by
F Nguebeng

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If all you want is a bed for the night in Manchester, this is a great place
We stayed here for one night on Friday 12th December. 9 of us stayed in a 10-bed dormitory and it worked out at less than £15 per person....! Great location, just a couple of minutes walk from Victoria Station. Yes, the room wasn't immaculately clean (although the bedding was fine) and, yes, the whole place is a bit run down but the staff were very helpful before and during our stay and we would definitely book here again if we needed to stay over following a future Manchester night out. What do you want for the price? It does the job.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
The beds are clean and comfortable. Rooms are warm, but rooms and accommodation are basic.

Reviewed by
E CLARKE

From Ballynahinch, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolute dump
moved out after first night no light in room no carpet trying to get our money back dump

Reviewed by
gordon donaldson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad night
Room was next to main road had to leave £20 deposit for tv remote. No place to was and had to use shared toilets that was dirty and door did not have handle only a hole you had to put your finger in to open it.

Reviewed by
Glenn Jones

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next