No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Lion Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Golden Lion Hotel Market Hill, St Ives, PE27 5AL
The Golden Lion Hotel is an independent hotel situated in the heart of the picturesque market town of St Ives, Cambridgeshire. The hotel offers 21st Century comfort within a delightful 18th Century building. Whether for business or pleasure, you are sure of a warm welcome at the hotel and an enjoyable stay in this thriving riverside market town.

All 25 bedrooms are en suite and offer flat screen TVs, direct dial telephone and tea & coffee making facilities.

Guests staying during the week are sure to enjoy the large and comfortable bar and restaurant areas, with the bar area TVs often showing live sporting entertainment. Guests staying on a Friday or Saturday night are advised that the bar area is very lively at the weekends, with loud music being played until 12 midnight, which can be heard in most of the bedrooms.

We pride ourselves on serving a varied menu of freshly prepared food as well as a full and varied selection of Wines, Spirits, Lagers and Real Ales.
Picture of The Golden Lion Hotel, St Ives at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well refurbished town centre hotel
For - good service, problem with first room was smoothly dealt with and an upgrade offered without argument. Room, small but well decorated. Shower room/ bathroom modern and water hot plus good shower
Against - parking when you arrive can be a problem and reception told me to park the car at Waitrose. However eventually managed to park close by at cost of 80p providing away by 9am.
Breakfast and room used for breakfast both un-inspiring but again lad who served was polite and helpful

Reviewed by
Frank N

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money would recommend
Good value for money. Room clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast basic but adequate. Stayed on a Saturday night and was pre-warned about the music/noise volume but this was not a problem as I could hear the music but it was not really that loud and not bothersome. I would use again at same price but would probably not if I had to pay full price as it was a pub first and hotel. Second there was not much atmosphere and the breakfast room was very large and nearly empty. Okay for me for a one night stopover but would look at local B&Bs for more than 1 night and a more personal touch.

Reviewed by
Lesley B

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy room!
We stayed over on a Friday and Sat. night and unfortunately there was a lot of loud music coming from the bar area below our room. Thankfully this finished around midnight!

Reviewed by
Pamela M

From Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent overnight stay
We stayed just one night but the room was upgraded without being asked very pleasant room staff very friendly and where recommended a excellent india restaurant next door, we will return to stay again as the breakfast was very good also!!

Reviewed by
n watts

From thompson, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly good!
I've had mixed experiences with stopping at pubs in the past so naturally, I'm cautious when choosing to do so. Fortunately on this occasion I wasn't looking for an early night as I was attending a wedding reception in the pub itself so there was little risk of being disturbed.
I needn't have worried. Sure, the sound of the downstairs party was clearly audible in the rooms but the music shut-off was a strict midnight and following this the location was peaceful.
The rooms are nicely decorated and look to have been not long refurbished. The shower was hot, the bed was comfortable and the staff were welcoming.
For the price, very impressed!

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A regular stop over
We always use this hotel when in the area.
Very nice staff and a lovely hotel

Reviewed by
james knight

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and efficient staff.
Lovely room.

Reviewed by
Jo C

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly place
We were warned beforehand but the music was extremely loud. It did finish before midnight though and all was relatively quiet thereafter. Nice room with comfortable bed and a decent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
S Thompson

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golden Lion good stopover
We stayed for a wedding and the room was perfect for that. The breakfast was great, the staff really friendly and helpful. The room was very clean but was basic, but you are not paying for five stars. The only thing that I can say as a negative was there was a strange smell on the stair way leading to the room. This is not a hotel for those with big mobility issues as there is no lift.
Would stay again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
y james

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Good location. Clean room. Tasty breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. The only thing I'd change is the addition of WiFi in the rooms; it would be nice to catch up on the world before heading out for the day.

Reviewed by
Stephen H

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next