No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lodge Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
YORK ROAD, HALL GREEN , BIRMINGHAM, B28 8LQ
The Lodge Hotel offers 47 quality rooms situated 15 minutes from Birmingham City Centre, N.I.A. and National Exhibition Centre. Easy access to Midland motorway links, Birmingham International Airport and train stations, Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Cadbury world. All rooms have ensuite bathroom, colour TV, Wi -Fi, tea and coffee making facilities. English Breakfast is included in the tarriff. Located within Hall Green Stadium, guests receive free adimission to greyhound racing . There is a small meeting room that can accomodate up to 15 people. Prices on request . We do not accept American Express.
Picture of The Lodge Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good
Basic but perfectly acceptable. Not too far from NEC but traffic is diabolical

Reviewed by
Mandy H

From WATFORD, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and convienient
We found the hotel last minute as we needed a fast flight out of Birmingham. We were a bit hesitant because it was a small, independent hotel. We were greeted with a positive and fast check in, a very clean and spacious room with a nice bathroom with bath tub. We asked for wine glasses and help with the heating and t.v and were assisted by thè lovely manager who was very happy to help us herself. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others. A great , friendly, and convienient little place to stay.

Reviewed by
s racey

From St Marys, Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for the price
We paid £59 for a double room, with full English breakfast. The hotel was near to an event which we were attending, and is perfectly situated if you need a room to the south of the city centre. The room was very clean, and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
The only down side to this hotel is that it is a little dated in decor - but for a clean and decent room, with a full English breakfast and good service - at less than £60 - it's a good choice.
Would wholeheartedly recommend for short stays and overnight trips.

Reviewed by
Stephen C

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel???
Unless your visiting the dog racing stay well clear. Room basic . Bed hard as iron . Room gets hot. Windows barely open on ground floor. Its what u make of it. If your going dog racing its a must. If u ain't stay clear!!!

Reviewed by
alison morris

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Great stay receptionist was brilliant beer prices excellent breakfast good.only problem is we booked through late rooms but decided to take up the hotel package with meal and entry to greyhounds.We were told we couldnt receive the package deal because we had booked through late rooms so we ended up having to pay more for the entire package.???? You have to phone a booking agent from your mobile if you want to discuss anything to do with the greyhound track which i feel is silly ,you should be able to book at the hotel,so we had free entry with the hotel booking but had to pay that again when booking the package!!!! They said they would talk to a supervisor as know one of power was at the booking centre and would refund our entrance fee if they agreed .Have heard nothing as yet lol . Not holding my breath

Reviewed by
d coton

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation for the price
Very friendly, functional rooms and good atmosphere for the price. Bar and good breakfast (not together!). Free entry to the dog racing for residents and good location for central Brum. All in all very happy and will use again.

Reviewed by
B Lade

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerfully
Ok for the price don't expect to much the place could do with some updating a lick of paint, I found the place a bit on the spooky side...
Good food and good car park, poor wifi ,,if you are into grey hound racing you will get good views from your room.

Reviewed by
M Butt

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Excellent value for money ,staff efficient and friendly ,and a good standard of cleanness . Breakfast very good

Reviewed by
P Mc Brien

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little surprise!
Wasn't sure what to expect with The Lodge but everyone was very friendly, check-in only took a matter of minutes and the room was much bigger than your average hotel room. The hotel is right next to a greyhound stadium which was really interesting to watch from our room window! Great place to stay if you want a trip into the city centre, we used the train from Hall Green. Breakfast was amazing and even better that it's included in the price! In all, top place, check it out!

Reviewed by
S Andrew

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd time we have stayed says it all
we will be back

Reviewed by
W Little

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next