No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lazy Cow

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
10 Theatre Street , Warwick, CV34 4DP
Imagine an urban oasis—a Warwick town centre hotel just steps from the towns renowned Castle and much more. Inspired by its rural and unique setting, The Lazy Cow Hotel & Steak & Ale House offers comfort with creativity, service with style and function with discerning form for leisure guests and business travellers alike.

Fresh from a £1,500,000 renovation, our fashionable town centre hotel offers travellers a welcome haven, with 16 uniquely styled guestrooms and suites that are luxuriously spacious and equipped with all the latest 'must have' gadgets.

We at The Lazy Cow restaurant are famous for our regional and internationally influenced dishes with inspirations taken straight out of New York City all gracefully executed by our Head Chef, David Philpot. All our dishes are crafted from fresh, seasonal ingredients and paired perfectly with our savvy wine collection and creative cocktail menu.
Picture of The Lazy Cow, Warwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very tired hotel above a very noisy bar!
Not a 4 star hotel!! The room was in a significant state of disrepair. The bath robe on the back of the door was filthy. There were staines on the carpet. The room was directly above the bar and the noise was deafening until 12 and then I was woken by someone throwing the recycled bottles into a bin at about 6.30! The room was unbearably hot and the air con was ineffective, and that was the topic of conversation by many others at breakfast. The reception area was being used to store plastic boxes of paperwork! The food was good but expensive. The staff were fantastically helpful and friendly but they are being let down by the proprietor who is not maintaining this hotel.

Reviewed by
Debra W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun Friendly Comfy and Tasty
The Lazy Cow is well located in the centre of Warwick and is a fun hotel/bar/restuarant with a cow theme which extends right thru to the tasty steaks in the bar & dining area. All the staff were good humoured and helpful throughtout my short stay and the accomodation itself was clean, comfortable and priced sensibly. Would (and have) recommended it to anyone planning to stay in this historic city whether on business or for pleasure.

Reviewed by
Kevin D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing B & B in Warwick
A friend and I were visiting the area without having been to Warwick before. We found this on line and booked it because it looked interesting and a bit different. We were not disappointed. The welcome was second to none, the room was clean and comfortable. All our needs were catered for. The restaurant was buzzing and quirky with a very off the wall menu. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Karen Jones

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would stay again just a few minor things that could make it even better
The location is perfect. The bar has a good selection of music that got me wondering who sings this? The room: my recommendations - change the carpet as it shows too much traffic. Get rid of furniture which is stained or showing age. Cosmetic features needs a crisper finish I.e the grouting. On the whole I loved my stage and with a few minor changes ( or not) I will return.

Reviewed by
Tracy J

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in family room
Room Excellent, Georgina (receptionist)ace
Two male receptionist the evening before were useless, did not know where to park the car, a bit of customer service training needed by management

Reviewed by
S EMERY

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun,friendly and fabulous
The Lazy Cow was a surprising little gem of a venue. With 3 children in tow on a rainy evening after Warwick Races the querky cow-centric, yet modern and interesting decor of the family room warmed our hearts and put a smile on our faces. Perfectly positioned in the centre of pretty Warwick we were able to venture into the town for a quick explorative wander. However, we didn't want to go far as we were eager to get back to TLC for a pint and a pre-dinner cocktail in the cosy and equally querky bar, all the more enjoyable as the kids were able to spend a parent-free hour upstairs in the room watching tv and playing on the Wii which was included in the rooms facilities. Dinner was a family triumph with delicious steak for all except our youngest who ordered a tasty burger from the kids menu. All was cooked to perfection and everyone ate until they were twice-full.... Thank God we were all created with an extra pudding-stomach or we would have missed the delights of the chocolate brownie sundae and the inspired pudding shots (mini puddings packed with oodles of scrumptious sweetness).
The staff at TLC were all delightful and incredibly helpful. My only minor issue was that the room got very hot in the evening so we had to open the windows which meant we were woken early by the noise of the traffic, as the hotel is situated on the corner of a busy road. All in all though we had a wonderful stay and I really hope i can find an excuse to visit some of the other sister venues sometime soon.

Reviewed by
L hart

From Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room but dissapointing overall.
- no hot water in the shower or sink taps at any time of our stay, and no one at reception to report to.
- extreamly slow service at breakfast- as we were forgotten about and food given to another table.
- when food arrived, cold and items missing that were stated on the menu
- beautifully decorated bedroom but these issues lead to an overall disappointing stay ... Especially for the price of the room.
- sky tv in room was a bonus

Reviewed by
S Perkins

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab weekend
Loved the hotel and staff ,would of been helpful to of know there was no hotel car park,and beds gave us both back pain in the morning sadly.but all that saiid we still had a great weekend.

Reviewed by
Julia F

From Aston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although I loved the room itself an the decor is great, during our stay the air con was broken and the room was unbearably hot. The staff were helpful and gave us some fans but this had little effect on the heat. It seemed a shame that we paid £120 for a bed and breakfast when it was too hot to even get into bed and had to sleep on top. The TV also had no remote and as far as we could work out only 1 channel.

Reviewed by
E Howard

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lack in basic requirements.
On arriving at the hotel after a 4 hour journey getting there, there was no one to greet at reception. When someone arrived they then couldn't find the key for the room to let us in. We waited 10 mins for the manager to arrive and finally found it after another 10 mins. The manager told us he would sort a table out for us for dinner. On getting to the restaurant the manager was there to greet but had completely forgot that just an hour and half earlier we were still finding the key. As there were only 11 rooms one would think he should remember who is staying at his hotel. Restaurant staff cannot fault. Very attentive. To the food. The food was average and in the starter of chicken wings I found a hair intertwined. Unfortunately it was only into my second one. I informed the staff who took it away very quickly and knocked it off the bill. The manager then Came back over with the hair in question on a plate. As if I wasn't sick enough by it. He wanted to assure me that it didn't come from the kitchen but from one of the girl weitress'. By the time he left, the hair had flown off the plate and back on my table. To the room. A carpet you would need to leave your shoes on for. Definitely in need of a clean. The most important thing ever..... no hot water day or night in the shower. On leaving we felt grubby and have now got a cold probably trying to have a freezing shower.on leaving a very bubbly woman said have u had a good stay. We were so drained of it by thus point we just said yes , gave her the keys back and run for the door. A bit of a faulty towers experience.

Reviewed by
sarah a

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next