No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Inn

3Swaklasifikasi Penginapan Ratings explained
, Rhandirmwyn, SA20 0NY
Set in the beautiful village of Rhandirmwyn, 7 miles from the old drovers town of Llandovery, this
former hunting lodge offers a warm welcome and a friendly place to drink, dine and sleep.
Your hosts, Christopher and Rachel, strive to create a homely atmosphere where everyone can relax, chat and wind down to the calm pace of rural Welsh life.
There are spectacular views over the Towy Valley from the garden and the large bedrooms.
There is ample off road parking, a beautiful garden to enjoy on those warmer days and real log fires to snuggle round in the Winter.
The Royal Oak Inn is a wonderful place to retreat to so you can lay back come wind, rain or shine.
The Royal Oak Inn is perfectly situated for a large number of rural activities including mountain biking, fishing, walking & climbing, bird watching (especially at RSPB Dinas) and just driving around taking in the views!
Picture of The Royal Oak Inn, Rhandirmwyn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly local and locals
Very good value for money accomodation, best egg , bacon and sausages for yonks!
Excellent selection of ales, village idiot hit the spot..

Reviewed by
Denis H

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely inviting country Inn
Only stayed one night but was left feeling I'd like to come back and use as a base for exploring the area.

Reviewed by
Vincent S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful location and a better host one will travel a long way to find
Mike

Reviewed by
michael p

From Caernarfon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hidden Gem
Just needed a cheap place to stay the night but ended up finding a lovely little pub with great ales and fantastic food.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
I can't recommend this place enough.

Reviewed by
Phil E

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely people, situation and food
A real welcome, excellent food in a wonderful scenic situation. Simple but clean accommodation.

Reviewed by
Bruce G

From Chipping Campden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet oasis !!!
This small charming 'pub' was a little gem !!!
Although I didn't have an evening meal there, if the breakfast was anything to go by, I bet it was very good. Only niggle was there was no TV BUT having said that it was so nice just to chill and read my book. The staff were very welcoming.

Reviewed by
E MOORE

From Machynlleth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year break
Had a great stay here over New Year. Chris and Rachel are fabulous hosts and made me very welcome. My room was one of the single rooms with shared bathroom but as there was only me staying there at the time I had it all to myself. Lashings of hot water for a nice soak after a days walking. An excellent selection of ales and whiskies and a superb choice of food in the evening. The full cooked breakfast each morning set me up for a days exploring around the area. Had a really nice New Years Eve party where all the staff and locals alike made it clear I was welcome to join in their celebrations. All in all a great stay and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Reviewed by
Roy T

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A peaceful break away from London
Ideal location, quiet and nothing around for miles but nature and rolling hills as far as the eye can see, like being in middle earth really. Food was brilliant and locally sourced, particularly the meat, caring and thoughtful staff. Gorgeous fires light both ends of the inn, friendly locals and beautiful location. Bed was extremely comfortable slept like a log, brilliant hot water and heater in the bathroom. Price of food and beer excellent and a lot of choice for both. Fantastic value and ideal to make you relax.

Reviewed by
b fitch

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful rural retreat
a quiet oasis of comfort with a real log fire to complement the excellent food and draught beer. having only booked for a night en route to the west wales coast we were so taken with the whole experience that we came back for an extra night at the end of our stay. it is definitely on the menu for another return visit at christmas if there is room.

Reviewed by
david r

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location to explore the region
Arrived late but was not told off, room was clean and comfortable breakfast was great. We had to leave early on our second morning and so a packed lunch was left out for us.
would choose the royal oak again if coming to the area

Reviewed by
D Lammin

From essex, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next