No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Scotts Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Scotts Hotel Restaurant, Llantwit RoadMain Road, Llantwit fardre, Pontypridd, CF38 2LS
A 12 bedroom hotel located in South Wales, near Cardiff. Comfortable accommodation which overlooks the beautiful welsh countryside, also ideal for meetings/conferences, function suite hire and has a public bar with entertainment each weekend (Karaoke/Singer)

Scott's is a small family owned hotel where a friendly welcome awaits.
Picture of Scotts Hotel, Pontypridd at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
28% recommended this accommodation to a friend 38% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Room Provided
I arrived in the evening to learn that they did not have a record of the booking. They were also full so I had to find accomodation elsewhere. A very poor experience.

Reviewed by
Michael Murdoch

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic. Staff seemed very unorganized

Reviewed by
karen m

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scotts hotel, Pontypridd
We booked at the very last minute to attend a family funeral and this was the only hotel in the area with vacancies due to the Nato Summit being on at the same time. Scotts is a motel type of lodge hidden behind a chinese restaurant and adjacent to a filling station and some industrial type units. I guess that it is a place mostly used by workmen. The room was very basic and a little tired but it was clean as was the bed which was quite comfortable. The breakfast was good with generous portions. This is a very basic hotel so don`t expect anything special, the price was very reasonable and the staff friendly, I reported bedside lights not working and they were round immediately, so they do make an effort.

Reviewed by
Colin I

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't stasy

Reviewed by
Gareth Hicks

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dont expect to much.
I was not expecting 4 star but we arrived at 8pm and left at 9am during that time the room next door partied until 3 am, ( it did quieten down a bit after the fight at 1 am) we had absolutely no hot water in the room all the time we were there and I don't think the cleaner knows how to use a toilet brush. so if you don't want to sleep or wash but do enjoy a nice breakfast then this is the place for you.

Reviewed by
james m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs A Good Clean
Very pleasant staff, but rooms in desperate need of renovation/redecoration . A deep clean would not go amiss. 'Motel' comments about right.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you paid for. Very basic. Unfortunately we didnt have any hot water from the shower. Tepid from the bath taps so had to use kettle to warm water in bath. Shower tiles slightly mouldy. On the plus side breakfast was fine.

Reviewed by
stephen d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
This is the fourth Welsh B & B I've stayed in recently and only one has been a delight. The other 3 including this one leave a lot to be desired. The staff were friendly enough, if a little distracted, the grounds and approach to the Hotel-(or should it be Motel?) was not very welcoming. The facilities were ok and I wasn't expecting the Ritz but what put me off most of all was the dirty carpet in the room, there were 3 beds in room, two were ancient and the mattresses should have been chucked out 20 years ago, no mattress protector and stained pillows put in 1 pillow case with no protective cover. 3rd bed was a type of put me up which was the best option and quite comfortable. Tried the bath-lukewarm water and usual welsh shower alternating boiling hot-freezing cold. To end on a high, I know they were re-painting one room so maybe they are aware of the problems and are starting to address them???

Reviewed by
Gill W

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Basic
We only stayed one night, the room was basic, the beds a bit hard, the bed linen was clean but would have smelt fresher if fabric conditioner had been used in the wash. There was a funny taste in the cups when I used one for tea (provided by hotel). In the morning the water was luke warm, not hot enough for a shower. On the up side the breakfast was really good, plenty of choice with cereal, toast, jams and full English provided. Wouldn't recommend staying more than one night.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

scotts pontypridd
have stayed at scotts once b4.its basic but not to bad.breakfast is good and staff helpfull.

Reviewed by
r griffiths

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next