Reviews - Scotts Hotel


Scotts Hotel Restaurant, Llantwit RoadMain Road, Llantwit fardre, Pontypridd, CF38 2LS

Price From 81.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (26)

19% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • E Wallis

  • October 2015

Worst Hotel I have ever been in

I know we didn't pay a lot of money for the accommodation, but there are basic's that have to be supplied.

Here is a list of the issues we found. 1. No Hot Water. 2. Toilet seat hanging off the toilet. 3. 2 Bunk beds that folded up when asleep (Health and safety issue). 4. Window sill hanging off. 5. Carpets that are absolutely filthy. Apart from that we had a great time. I would recommend this hotel to the health and safety executive - but I will leave that up to you to decide.

  • julie h

  • September 2015

close to south wales univeristy

we only stayed here for a few hours as we travelled up late at night fror university open day the next day.

it was cheap for 3 of us and included breakfast , which was very basic. all users of satnavs beware this hotel is impossible to find using the post code - get directions from the hotel before you leave!!.

  • Sylvie Lucas

  • July 2015

A warm welcome

Winston and Paula made us so welcome.

My sister is disabled and we had chosen this hotel because we knew it had ground floor rooms. We were able to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant which had stairs, our orders for breakfast and evening meals were brought down to us and the staff could not have been kinder. As my sister feels the cold we were given a new electric heater for our room. The hotel is in the process of being renovated and our room might be considered by some as outdated but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Everyone there, staff and visitors made us very welcome. A big thank you to all.


  • July 2015

Unfit to be advertised as hotel for overnight stay

This hotel is a disaster, it should not be advertised on any laterooms or other websites for accommodation.

The place needs a serious refurbishment. It seems a very cheap accommodation. The other downfall of this place is it allows pets and the whole room stinks of pet smell. It would be a disaster, for a person not used to having pets in hotels.

The people who run this hotel are also very oblivious about the feedback, does not look like they take any feedback seriously or want to change the look of this hotel.

Not recommended to stay. will definitely not book this hotel again.

  • Paul W

  • June 2015

Never again

Approaching the place one feared the worse as the roadside building is severely fire damaged with a banner saying 'Chinese Village' across it.

Beds and furniture in a poor state of repair, tatty. Beds untidy, looked like they had been slept on, couldn't wait to get out of the place, fortunately only a 1 night stop. Didn't dare try the takeaway!

  • M Shaw

  • June 2015

Scotts Hotel

Very disappointed with the room.

When we booked through we did specify that my wife was in a wheelchair. On arrival at the hotel we were initially in a room on the first floor, with no lift access. I pointed this out and we were given a room on the ground floor.

When we left the next morning I was charged £10.00 more than quoted by the LateRooms website. We were very disappointed with the hotel and will not be staying there again.

  • olivia h

  • April 2015


What a dive.

Our experience was kind of hilarious in our tired hazy desperation to find somewhere to kip. It's like a really tacky motel from an American film, only the reality isn't quite as cool as you'd hope... Saying that, despite it being dodgy looking (one can only assume it's a place where people meet to have sordid affairs) and what looked like blood on the shower curtains, we did have a good nights sleep.

  • Chris M

  • April 2015

I wouldn't keep animals there

It is budget for cattle no doubt and not worth the £50 a night i paid.

It was filthy, stunk and service was terrible. I wouldn't keep animals there let alone people. Booked 2 doubles, got told no only one double for 2 men, then ok 1 twin. Eventually got the 2 rooms that were booked but they were filthy, stunk and were not clean. Doors didn't lock and had been kicked in so many times they just about stayed shut. Burnt out chinese take away at the front i have seen better third world slums.

  • Keith K

  • December 2014

Not as bad as some reviews suggest

Booked this without reading reviews, but when I arrived I found it nowhere near as bad as some reviews suggested.

Typical of accommodation at this price, friendly welcome, though a little disorganised, rooms will need refurbishing soon, but if you want £100+/night standards you have to pay £100+/night. Am likely to book again as I have daughter at uni nearby.

  • Sarah P

  • November 2014

If cleanliness isn't high on your agenda this is the place for you!

On arrival the stench of the toilets located next to reception room was almost edible, we then moved onto the the room which smelt stale and dirty, there was stained bedding, rubbish dumped around all sides of the hotel and I can't write a review of the food because I didn't sample any, in my opinion.

If the room was so disgusting God only knows what their kitchen looks like.