No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Devonshire House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
143 WELLSWAY , BATH, BA2 4RZ
This lovingly restored Victorian terrace, formerly a Victorian grocery and provisions store, offers comfortable and co ordinated rooms with all modern facilities. Louise and Chris with many years of hospitality experience between them have brought all their knowledge together to build upon the success of Devonshire House.

Recently awarded 4 stars by the AA, our bedrooms are furnished individually with coordinated fabrics and thoughtful extras to make your stay even more comfortable. Each room is en suite with tea & coffee making facilities, colour tv with free view, some with DVD/cd player and to enable you to start your stay the local way, a glass of 'Harvey's Bristol Cream' is offered on arrival.

We are lucky to have plenty of free parking, free and unrestricted on street. An easy 20 minute downhill walk into the city of Bath and all its historic delights, why not combine a bit of history with a soak in the relaxing waters of the Thermae Bath Spa - ask us about our spa package. We are also a great base from which to visit Longleat House and Safari, Wells, Glastonbury, Lacock, Castle Combe, Wales and the Cotswolds.

We guarantee to be available between 5 and 7 pm to check you in, if you require an alternative check in time you must let us know 24 hours in advance, as we may not be available to check you in, we can then notify you of our alternative check in procedure.
Picture of Devonshire House, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely welcoming stay
This was a lovely, relaxing place to stay a little out of the busy atmosphere of the city centre. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend.

Reviewed by
Laura P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a perfect B&B - can't fault it!
The Devonshire House B&B was absolutely perfect. Louise and Chris were friendly, welcoming hosts who ensured we had everything we could possibly need during our weekend break to Bath. The location is ideal - just a short stroll down the hill into Bath, with lovely views of the surroundings from the bedrooms. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty on offer. Will definitely be recommending and would love to return. Thanks!

ManagementResponse

Thanks so much for taking the time to feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely meeting you both and we hope to have you back to stay again.

Reviewed by
H Gilham

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay!!
Lovely stay in Bath!! Devonshire House was in a perfect location and very charming! The staff were both very friendly and helpful. Would really recommend Devonshire House!!

Reviewed by
T Adams

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service was friendly and very informative about the city, with great tips about where to get a great view, and local tours etc. The breakfast was delightful. The only negative was that the bed was quite soft and sagged towards the middle. I'd recommend staying here to anyone.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bath Christmas market
Good place to stay a nice walk down the hill to shopping centre, recommend a taxi back which was very reasonable . The owner was very helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
Janet Allen

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab weekend away!!
Lovely b&b clean and welcoming. Bit of a trek into city centre but nice views if you take scenic route!
Simple but adequate breakfast.

Reviewed by
Jessie L

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
Room was OK if a little cramped. Bathroom good. Continental breakfast only but quite nice.
Generally clean and pleasant and the owners were friendly.
Bath is very expensive and I felt the accommodation was a bit overpriced.
I would probably try somewhere else for another weekend.

Reviewed by
Karen Bolton

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed there for one night with my teenage daughter. The little cottage was very sweet and very well equipped, with lots of little thoughtful extras which we might have been grateful for had we stayed longer. A great place to stay as a couple to explore Bath which was an easy walk away. We did as many suggested and got a taxi back up the hill. A warm welcome from our hostess too, with milk in the fridge and homemade muffins - lovely.

Reviewed by
Kim C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fresh fruits,but no english breakfast

Reviewed by
Elisabeth G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant enough B&B
Nicely situated and a short walk into town as advertised, clean room which was nice enough. I was just disappointed that although there was a kettle and milk and sugar in my room, there was no tea or coffee and breakfast was very disappointing, looking forward to a bit of a feast only to receive a warm croissant and cornflakes. That said the people were very friendly and you get value for money.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for giving us feedback, the tea and coffee is on the hospitality tray but in two small kilner jars, so possibly not as apparent as a sachet of tea or coffee, apologies we will look at labelling our jars for future guests. Regarding the breakfast, I hate to say it, but I think you missed one of our buffet tables. Every morning we offer, yoghurt, fresh fruit platter, plus a fruit bowl, ham, salami, cheese, boiled eggs and home made muffins, along with the crumpets and English muffins which are available by the toast. All our guests comment on the standard and large variety, so I can only assume that you didn't spot the buffet.

Reviewed by
Stewart E

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next