No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fox & Hounds

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Llancarfan , , , Barry, CF62 3AD
Situated in the quiet village of Llancarfan, in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan countryside, The Fox and Hounds hotel offers quality, homemade food, fine ales and free Wi-Fi. The restaurant serves fresh food daily. All the ingredients are locally sourced, including herbs and vegetables from the property’s garden. Guests can also enjoy a full English breakfast in the morning. The bedrooms all have their own bathroom, with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Other facilities include tea/coffee and DVD players and all the floors are carpeted. The Church of St. Cadog is a 2-minute walk from the Fox And Hounds. Cardiff Airport is just a 10-minute drive from the property and Cardiff is a 20-minute drive away. Parking is free..
Picture of The Fox & Hounds, Barry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Wales stay
A very nice stay at the Fox and Hounds, I booked in for one night last week but stayed a second night even though this meant more travelling. The food was fantastic and the room comfortable with nice modern décor. John and Sue are doing a great job... give it a try you will not be disappointed . I have been on the road for 35 years so I know a good hotel when I stay in one.

Reviewed by
a linley

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peacefull end to a busy day
Great location,of the beaten track but good links to M4
Excellent food and accomodation

Reviewed by
David T

From Welshpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Pleasure to stay
Lovely sleepy little spot with genial hosts. Food menu was varied and all I tried was excellent.

Reviewed by
Andrew K

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem in the countryside
What a great place to stay. Sue, john and staff were perfect hosts and anyone who loves outstanding food need to book a room here.

Reviewed by
Lee T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful stylish hotel
We had a lovely weekend at the fox and hounds. The room was beautiful and a very good size. Hotel in the middle of no where. Everyone very friendly and the food was amazing. Door to the upper floor very low. So please mind your head. It hurts if you hit it like I did the first time going up. Would go back for another weekend. Hotel very well respected in Wales. Everyone seamed to know it.

Reviewed by
claire-louise nixon

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly
From the moment you arrive at the Fox & Hounds they can't do enough for you. The food was fantastic and good portion sizes. If in the area again I would re book.

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a place to relax and unwind
Our room was large, clean and bright and the bed very comfortable. Atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was friendly and relaxed but the highlight was breakfast outside on a lovely sunny Sunday morning. The pub is the heart of the village and the everything just felt right. Comfortable and relaxed. We will be back I'm sure

Reviewed by
Andy W

From Winscombe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem

Reviewed by
Brian Williams

From Conwy, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent find in the Vale of Glamorgan. The food, service and accommodation were first rate - much better than the "anonymous" chain hotels.

Reviewed by
M Lewis

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Llancarfan Gem
I stayed here two years ago as visiting a local 'cement' site so it made sense to stay again as I quite liked the homliness of it. I stayed in the Foxglove room which was more than adequate with an en-suite with a great power shower. I ate in the restaurant area which was quite lively as a family birthday meal was taking place. The food was delicious & the staff very attentive. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
Allan Northend

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next