Reviews - The Fox & Hounds


Llancarfan , ,, Barry, CF62 3AD

Price From 186.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (11)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Marshall

  • June 2015

Everything Excellent

I would recommend, so peaceful and food was amazing :)

  • M Harrison

  • March 2015

The Fox & Hounds

The room, the owners and the food was outstanding.

Very friendly and the owners always called you by name. Would stay again. Beautiful place, cannot fault it. Look forward to staying again.

  • David C

  • February 2015

Excellent hotel

Plenty of car parking for tenants with alternative elsewhere.

Village is quaint and peaceful but there's not much else to do beyond walking. That said, for a business trip it was perfect. Be wary of the roads into the village, we used two and they were both a single car width (not ideal in snow or at night if you're not used to it).

The rooms are spacious, warm and clean. The bed is one of the comfiest I've had in a while, slept well. Unlike some hotels of it's age, it's well insulated from any noise there may be.

The food was great and the ale was well kept. It was refreshing that the proprietor had taken the time to learn people's names and obviously took pride in her work. If I'm that way, I'll definitely stop again.

  • a linley

  • October 2014

South Wales stay

A very nice stay at the Fox and Hounds, I booked in for one night last week but stayed a second night even though this meant more travelling.

The food was fantastic and the room comfortable with nice modern d├ęcor. John and Sue are doing a great job... give it a try you will not be disappointed . I have been on the road for 35 years so I know a good hotel when I stay in one.

  • David T

  • September 2014

Peacefull end to a busy day

Great location,of the beaten track but good links to M4

Excellent food and accomodation

  • Andrew K

  • August 2014

A Pleasure to stay

Lovely sleepy little spot with genial hosts.

Food menu was varied and all I tried was excellent.

  • claire-louise nixon

  • August 2014

wonderful stylish hotel

We had a lovely weekend at the fox and hounds.

The room was beautiful and a very good size. Hotel in the middle of no where. Everyone very friendly and the food was amazing. Door to the upper floor very low. So please mind your head. It hurts if you hit it like I did the first time going up. Would go back for another weekend. Hotel very well respected in Wales. Everyone seamed to know it.

  • Lee T

  • August 2014

A gem in the countryside

What a great place to stay.

Sue, john and staff were perfect hosts and anyone who loves outstanding food need to book a room here.

  • James B

  • July 2014

very friendly

From the moment you arrive at the Fox & Hounds they can't do enough for you.

The food was fantastic and good portion sizes. If in the area again I would re book.

  • Andy W

  • May 2014

a place to relax and unwind

Our room was large, clean and bright and the bed very comfortable.

Atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was friendly and relaxed but the highlight was breakfast outside on a lovely sunny Sunday morning. The pub is the heart of the village and the everything just felt right. Comfortable and relaxed. We will be back I'm sure