No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Madingley Hall

5Visit England Assessed Campus Ratings explained
MADINGLEY HALL , CAMBRIDGE, CB23 8AQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Luxury 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Madingley Hall is a University owned estate set in 7 acres of delightful landscaped gardens, 3 miles west of Cambridge. The Hall has easy access from the M11, the A14 from the North and East, and the A428 from the West, with good links to the three London Airports and ample free car parking on site.
The Hall is regularly used for educational and training events and has 61 ensuite bedrooms (12 double, 10 twin and 39 single) which are welcoming, comfortably furnished and have garden views. Each room has a digital television, free broadband internet, direct dial phone, tea and coffee making facilities and a personal safe.
Although not an hotel, Madingley Hall offers quality campus accommodation, 24 hour reception, a Bar, a personal service and a full choice of English or continental breakfast served in our historic Dining Hall
Picture of Madingley Hall, CAMBRIDGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Built long ago, doubtless with Mr. Toad in mind
It's a wonderful place. If it were available, I think it would make a great venue for a small topical meeting; close enough to Cambridge to visit, but far enough away for seclusion in a really nice setting.

Reviewed by
Hugh H

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Historic Location
A location full of history set in beautiful gardens, with a special atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and the choices at breakfast are excellent. The quality of the coffee in the rooms could be improved.

Reviewed by
A Greening

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VG
Excellent place for B&B. Gardens - wow! Only slight gripe is that the wash basin and toilet could have been freshened up better than they were. Would definitely stay there again. Breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
Robert L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

N/A
N/A

Reviewed by
Donna G

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Surroundings
It is such a beautiful place to stay, even if the service was horrible, you'd still love it! To be clear, the service was excellent, so it makes it even better!

Reviewed by
Anthony Cooper

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, quite and good place to stay
This was an ideal place to stay when I was working in Cambridge for a day. It's located just on the other side of the motorway but is a short drive to the city.
The accommodation itself is very comfortable, the bathroom wasn't the most modern but very functional and clean. The buildings and setting are very pretty. It feels like it is a Cambridge university college hall which has been converted into a hotel, the staff are very friendly but lack a certain level of professionalism. It did feel a bit like an amateur B&B at times - that said it was very reasonably priced and they were quite friendly.
Breakfast was a little disappointing, the food was prepared on mass even though there were only a few small groups staying, the cup of tea I had was one of the worst I've ever come across as a pot had been placed on a heater for at least an hour.
On arrival I wished I had known that they did afternoon tea if you booked it in advance. It's not something they allow you to walk in for.
All in, it was a very pleasant stay. I will definitely stay again when I next visit Cambridge.

Reviewed by
P Banks

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice stay
Beautiful setting and impressive Hall. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Room was small but had everything one needs for a homely stay and was spotlessly clean. Will definitely use it as a base when in Cambridge if it's available as a hotel ( sometimes not available due to conferences/courses). Far far nicer than staying at a Premier Inn for the same price. Very glad to have found Madingley Hall.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean, good location to reach colleges, free parking ,nice choice of breakfast

Reviewed by
A TOUFEEQ

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation and location
I discovered Madingley Hall on Laterooms - but had not heard of it before. It's in a great location just outside the City. The building is amazing and the rooms are very clean and well presented. Staff were helpful and the breakfast was good. Overall I had a pleasant stay and the room was good value in a City where hotel rooms tend to be expensive.

Reviewed by
Steve D

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next