No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Norfolk Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE ESPLANADE , BOGNOR REGIS, PO21 2LH
The Royal Norfolk Hotel is situated in a delightfully sunny spot on the sea front with extensive lawns and superb Channel views. This exceptional Georgian building dates from the 1830s and was visited by the Emperor Napoleon III of France and various descendants of Queen Victoria. The hotel also has its own large Car Park. ****Free Wi-Fi in public areas **** Part of the Leisureplex Hotel Group.

Bognor Regis has been a seaside fishing settlement (and occasionally also a base for smuggling operations) since Anglo Saxon times. It became a fashionable resort in the reign of George III and has been frequented by royalty on numerous occasions. Visitors to the Royal Norfolk Hotel have included the Emperor Napoleon III of France and various members of Queen Victoria's family. The resort gained the title Bognor Regis after George V stayed here to convalesce after an illness in 1929. The resort is quite flat and has an excellent promenade walk. There is a pier and a delightful park, Hotham Park, which boasts a narrow guage railway, putting green, crazy golf, tennis court and boating lake. On the beach between Bognor Regis and Aldwick lies the wreck of a floating pontoon - part of the Mulberry Harbour which was destined to be towed across to Normandy on D-Day June 6, 1944, but did not make it to Normandy and was washed up on the beach
shortly after D-Day. It is clearly visible at low tide throughout the year.

Bognor is a seaside town which has some good shops and a theatre. The excursion possibilities are numerous, with numerous stately homes and several important towns and cities, as well as some smaller seaside towns, within easy reach. The beach is predominantly pebbly but the water is clean and the quality of the light often remarkable. Inland the scenery is quintessentially English with the splendour of the South Downs, England's newest National Park, very close at hand.

The Royal Norfolk Hotel is a short walk from the pier and shops. All 60 rooms are centrally heated with private bath or shower and WC, television, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The Superior Rooms all overlook the garden and the sea. There is an attractive cocktail bar with television, a sea view restaurant, a relaxing lounge overlooking the garden and a bar lounge with small dance floor. Live Entertainment is provided at least 4 nights a week in our Goodwood Ballroom. You can relax with a drink on the outside wooden deck patio or our extensive garden overlooking the sea. Lift serves most rooms (some rooms accessed via several stairs). There is parking available for 25 Cars and 2 Coaches.

IMPORTANT CLIENT INFORMATION.
DINING:
Breakfast is served from 8am to 9am, dinner from 6.30pm to 7.30pm*. The hotel will confirm your dining times on arrival. You can pre book your evening meals at a discounted rate of £11 per person per night - contact the hotel by phone or email. Hotel not suitable for hen/stag parties
* During the Christmas Festive period dinner is served from 6.30pm to 7.30pm.

PAYMENT & CANCELLATION:
A deposit of £25 per person (non-refundable) is due at the time of booking. Full payment will be taken from the card provided 3 days prior to your arrival. In case of cancellation up to 3 days prior to arrival no fee will be charged. In case of cancellation less than 3 days prior to arrival or in the case of a no-show the full
amount of the stay will be charged.
Picture of Royal Norfolk Hotel, BOGNOR REGIS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation needs an update
Have stayed at the Royal Norfolk in the past (about 20 years ago). so was disappointed. No full length mirror in bedroom. Bathroom door would not stay closed or lock. Shower fitting over bath too low so unable to stand under it. Staff pleasant and helpful. Overall did not feel the twin room was good value for money.

Reviewed by
W Poole

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here for a weekend as a couple. The hotel looks very nice on the outside and reception.is welcoming. We were disappointed with our room to be honest as it was very small and dated. We had a ground floor room at the back with a wooden fence right outside!
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was quite stressful and the layout of the dining area was far too crowded. It seemed that the more expensive your room was , the better your table! This hotel caters for senior guests which we did know when booked and weren't put off by that however, the corridors did resemble a nursing home and the presence of Zimmer frames everywhere did feel a little depressing.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel as food was not to our taste and did not want to sit in that dining room more than needed.
TO sum up the stay: Staff were very hardworking, helpful and cheerful but thought the £90.a night was a lot even from laterooms. We would not stay here again as usually have an 18 mth old daughter with us and it is definitely not a child friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
sarah e

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find! A hidden gem
My dad and I recently stayed at the Royal Norfolk hotel and the reason for our stay was for the Goodowood Festival of Speed. For this it was absolutely perfect. A short 20 minute drive to Goodwood, the staff could not have been more helpful and even gave us a complimentary map of how to get to Goodwood. Very useful. Room was quite a good size, maybe a little dated if I had to be ultra critical but very clean and was a very quiet room with a comfortable bed. Bar staff were friendly and as long as you are not expecting the Magaluf crowd, this was ideal. Open until 11 but mainly frequented by the obligitory senior citizens. It is Bogner Regis at the end of the day. All in all a very pleasant stay and I will be looking to book again for next years F.O.S.

Reviewed by
S Baines

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality accommodation
Poor quality of furniture and bathroom- bath chipped, bath panel broken, plug chain broken- rather depressing. Furniture frayed and knocked about
Worst was noise- very noisy, creaking floorboards, every sound transmitting through the walls.
Tea and coffee meagre- not even a biscuit

Reviewed by
Alan T

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
Customer service was excellent, we were able to get in our room earlier than 4pm so we could get changed ready for a family wedding.
We were at the back of the hotel,the room was adequate but very hot even though we had the window open all night - maybe a ceiling fan would have helped.

Reviewed by
L Edmunds

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The perfect hotel for a short break

Reviewed by
Steve F

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at Royal Norfolk Hotel
The staff were very friendly and polite . Our room was very clean but furniture and decor was a little dated .Staff in the restaurant were also very friendly and service was very quick.Unfortunately the toast was cold,the bacon and sausage was hard suggesting they were precooked .
The hotel has a free car park .

Reviewed by
s reed

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but ordinary
The outside view of the hotel and its location gives an impression of something more promising than the reality. For such a lovely old building the internal character had been ripped out, could/should be more style for its age! Our room (and I guess all of them), though having a sea view and therefor premium, was dull in both style and decor and only had the bare minimum required. Standard double bed very uncomfortable! As for dining, the pre set weekly menu was so uninspiring, we chose to eat out each night. We did have the inclusive breakfast for two mornings but chose to skip it for the third and drove to Chichester and went to Cafe´Rouge instead.

Reviewed by
Jeff G

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem!
Excellent value for money. We were so surprised! We were so impressed! We had a great weekend break. Room was lovely we had a sea view. Food was always hot and served quickly. They were short staffed on the Easter Sunday you would never have known the service was so good! We couldn't believe this was a 2star hotel!! Well done to all the staff and thank you. You are a fantastic team!!

Reviewed by
L B

From Harrow, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short notice need to travel to Bognor Regis
Helpful and friendly staff. Acceptable standard of room (for price) Poor bed and pillows. Excellent breakfast. All in all - 7 out of 10

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next