No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Countryman Inn

4Visit Wales Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Tri-nant Fishery Llantrisant, nr Cardiff, PONTYCLUN, CF72 8LQ
A warm welcome awaits you at the Countryman, situated within Tri-Nant fishery and set in 45 acres of quiet secluded, spectacular countryside. We are close to the M4 Motorway junction 34, Ynysmaerdy Industrial Estate in Llantrisant and the Royal Glamorgan Hospital.

The Countryman offers you 'standard' or 'luxury' 4 star en-suite double, twin, disabled or family rooms, with digital Television, beverage making facilities and ample Parking.

The Countryman has a fully licensed Restaurant offering;- our 'Fine Dining' menu, extensive Wine and Champgne list, Bar Meals and not forgetting our legendary Sunday Roasts, with homemade Yorshire pudding and fresh seasonal vegatables. All our meals are home cooked in the traditional way using the best of ingredients. Please note that the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday nights.

There are also three coarse fishing lakes with Carp over 25lb in weight, tickets to go fishing are available to guests at extra cost.

Many of our guests return time after time to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, friendly welcome and 'Fine Dinning' Restaurant.

There are many attractions to visit in the locality, Cardiff City Centre for shopping or nights out, St. Fagans history museum, Castle Coch, Rhondda Heritage centre, Cardiff Castle, Caerphilly Castle. We are also in easy reach of Porthcawl and Barry Island seaside resorts, we are approximately an hours drive from Swansea and the Gower Coastline, and much more.

We are easily reached from the M4 motorway approximately a 10 minute drive, and around 20 minutes from the capital city of Cardiff.

For more information on events, weddings, our menu's or B&B, please visit our website:- the-countryman-inn.co.uk

We hope to welcome you soon!

(Please note: if your arrival time is after 6pm or a room is booked late in the evening please Telephone to confirm your arrival time.)
Picture of The Countryman Inn, PONTYCLUN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night's stay in 2 rooms.
3 of us stayed here one Saturday night. It's a real gem, tucked away in the countryside. The rooms were absolutely spotless and very nicely furnished. Staff were very friendly in this family run establishment and the food was truly superb and very reasonably priced. We honestly couldn't find fault with anything. Lovely surroundings too, but it rained too much to go walking, unfortunately. Really, give The Countryman a try. You won't be disappointed...

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at the Countryman Inn
Booked on a late availability, Inn is set in beautiful surroundings. Owner friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the detached accommodation, it was clean and comfortable, good facilities. The food was excellent we met up with family for an evening meal which was delicious, good varied menu, we would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant comfortable stay. . Les & Penny

Reviewed by
LESLIE BARNETT

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent family-run hotel.
My wife and I were very happy staying here.

Reviewed by
William Easson

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hosts,very nice location
This place is quite big but in the middle of nowhere.The place was empty when I got there and a very nice lady let me in and showed me to my room.The room was very basic and very dated in need of some new fixtures and fittings but clean and tidy.The tv was tiny and again old,There is also no Wifi which as a business traveller I would have liked however I knew before I came so cant complain.The view of the fishing lakes were nice and the shower was good.I came down for food and there was no one in apart from a wedding couple who were arranging to get married in the main building .Everyone was very pleasant to me and the owner went out of his way to have a conversation with me which I thought was very nice.The food was what I didn't expect as I ordered mussels in wine and gammon.The mussels were fab and I think they must have put half a pig on my plate as the gammon was the size of a small country.I think the lot only came to £18 which included my drink.I staggered back to my room to sleep in my very comfy bed and another bonus was because we were in the middle of nowhere no noise.I would stop here again despite the tired room as the owners were perfect hosts.

Reviewed by
M Sidebottom

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely spot away from the beaten track up a beaten track
Lovely spot away from the Hustle and Bustle of reality. Very nice couple running the Hotel. Lovely Breakfast with quality products and a good Cuppa to boot.
Enjoy your stay here - I did

Reviewed by
David H

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value

Reviewed by
A Houghton

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exclent wedding day prelude
Would happily stay here again. We felt like valued customers. Food was exemplary. Only reason for scoring Room as 5, was due to a somewhat sticky front door!

Reviewed by
D Nash

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. The owners where helpful and pleasant and went out of there way to make us feel at home.

Reviewed by
George Murphy

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Lovely quite place with a fishing lake, very friendly owners. The room was modern, extremely clean and the food delicious. I Definitely would stay again. The only small fault is that there is no wif, and business people would probably stay else where because of this, which would be a shame.

Reviewed by
P Long

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place with great service
This hotel is located in a a gorgeous spot, is family run and they couldn't be more helpful. Very good value compared to similar places locally, great breakfast. The only suggestion we'd make is to offer some veggie alternatives at breakfast, e.g. veggie sausages .

Reviewed by
Lin H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next