No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Church Guest House

4Visit Wales Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
109 CATHEDRAL ROAD , CARDIFF, CF11 9PH
The Church Guest House is a 4 star Visit Wales graded property, located just minutes from the City centre of Cardiff, yet quiet enough to be a weekend retreat.

All our rooms are ensuite with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Our prices include a continental breakfast or for a small extra charge you can enjoy our selection of freshly cooked breakfast items.

We are happy to provide information on lovely days out including a trip to St Fagans Welsh museum, Cardiff Bay or many of the castles and historic sites around.
Perhaps you are visiting for a specific reason, be it sporting or music. We are between the Cardiff City Stadium, Millenium Stadium and Swalec Stadium or just a short walk from St Davids Hall, Millenium Centre and any local live venues.
Please contact us and we will be happy to help you plan your trip
Picture of Church Guest House, CARDIFF at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome
A very friendly welcome from Andrew who was very helpful with information about getting around Cardiff and things to see. The guest house is conveniently located. Good value for my two night there in early December.

Reviewed by
Ron B

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm Welcome
We were late arriving, but were greeted warmly.

Reviewed by
Sian K

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfriendly manager only wanted to slag off Laterooms.com for sending a paying guest so late thought that was the idea really 10pm latest arrival (arrived 9:45) what's the problem? Overall decent hotel with very clean presentable room.

Reviewed by
Anthony W

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation
The Church Guest House was lovely in every way. Located in a beautiful house along a well-appointed road next to the park and river. My room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and included all needed amenities, including wireless. The price was also reasonable and host very accommodating.

Reviewed by
Angela E

From USA
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy traveller
This is a return visit to the Church Guest House following a previous stay which we again found to be welcoming, clean, comfortable and an optional full English breakfast of any combination combined with an excellent continental choice included in the price all freshly cooked, it is also in an ideal place for the town centre and castle and also the boat stop for the bay. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly and we would not hesitate in recommending the guest house to anyone who is contemplating a stay in Cardiff. We also booked the theatre which is in the bay and recommend a Taxi back from the bay as the cost is less than £7 and avoids any parking hassles.

Reviewed by
julia reed

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cardiff
location good near city centre

Reviewed by
john m

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly guesthouse
This guest house is an excellent economy choice. Andy, the host, is very friendly (but not overly so), the breakfast very pleasant and the room was clean.
B&B cost me an amazingly low £40. I've spent £100 on worse.

Reviewed by
Danny B

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Excellent host nothing too much trouble,pleasant 15 min walk to city through lovely park.Accomodation clean and tidy,Only thing amiss with room 11 was a noisy boiler which seemed to be behind our wall was very noisy when anyone took a shower.Pubs n resteraunts within 5 min walk.We had the complimentary continental breakfast which was quite adequate although cooked options are available. Would recommend

Reviewed by
paula e

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick Service
Andrew phoned to check arrival time as I was running a little late (arrived 8.15pm). He quickly showed me to the room, indicated where breakfast was and times and explained the key then left. Next time seen was at breakfast where he was speedily efficient, as he was when taking the payment. Perhaps a little too brisk for some I could imagine, but fine with me.

Reviewed by
Andy T

From Forest Row, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wales v Italy
Although the live in manager was initially very helpful with directions and supporting issues with our car the following day he made several comments regarding what time we arrived back after being out in the city centre, we were "told off" for waking him up. Following this when checking out he questioned what time we had got home Saturday night, it very much felt like a parents keeping tabs in us! In reference to the room it was very clean etc but the mattress was extremely hard an we both suffered with hip and back pain from this! On asking for a local taxi number we were told to go out in the street an flag one down! Overall I would not stay there again!

Reviewed by
Nicole H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next