No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Helaina

5Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
14 Blenheim Terrace, , , Scarborough, YO12 7HF
ALL GUEST ROOM ARE NEWLY REFURBISHED ROOMS FOR 2012! The Helaina is a Winner of 'Guest Accomodation of the Year' Yorkshire Coast and rated as 5 Star Guest Accomodation by Visit Britain. It is located within a quiet area of Scarborough, yet is just a 5 minutes walk from Scarborough's North and South beaches, the town centre and historic harbour. The Helaina overlooks Scarborough's North Bay with stunning sea views encompasing the sands, castle and miles of coastline There is no shortage of great pubs, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The Helaina is perfectly placed for walkers, and superb local cliff walks are easily accessed from the accommodation. Alternatively a few minutes' drive brings you onto the North Yorkshire Moors. Free local parking permits are available to our guests on arrival, and the accommodation has a licensed drinks service and free WiFi throughout. Our newly refurbished rooms are modern, stylish and very comfortable. Guests enjoy high quality en-suite facilities with soft bathrobes, large bath towels and beautiful toiletries. Our bed rooms are packed with goodies including LCD digital TV, radios, hair driers, alarm clocks and refreshments including biscuits, tea, filter coffee, fruit teas and hot chocolate. Guests can expect the highest quality decor. We offer a great breakfast menu including; Full English Breakfast, Full Vegetarian Breakfast, Smoked Salmon with Scrambled Eggs and Bagel and a range of Omelettes and Toasties. Our continental selection comprises of fresh fair trade Cafetiere Coffee, a choice of Breakfast, Fruit and Herbal Teas, Fruit Juices, fresh Fruit Salad, Pastries, Yogurts and freshly baked Bread. Breakfast is always served to 10am on the weekends. PLEASE NOTE OUR ROOMS ARE LOCATED OVER 3 FLOORS AND WE DONT HAVE A LIFT FACILITY. Please contact us if your require a room on a lower floor. Need family accommodation? We also have Apartments next door seach 'The Helaina Apartments'.
Picture of The Helaina, Scarborough at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
My partner and I stayed in the ground floor sea view apartment, it was spotless and cleaned to a very high standard. Nice to see things such as; tea/ coffee/ sugar etc, dishwasher tablets, towels and cloths provided as these little things often get missed in self catering. The views were lovely and the lady we checked in with was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Kathryn W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel in Scarborough
If you fancy a stay in Scarborough, pick this hotel!

Reviewed by
B Worsley

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We booked this as a last minute stay. Although our room was very small it was also very comfortable and clean. The hospitality was first rate. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
debbie atkinson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Staff were lovely... Food was good... Nice and quiet! Will stay again!

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Finishing Touches
The room was very good, the little finishing touches were excellent, the room was advertised as small, which indeed it was. We initially booked two nights in the smallest bijou room @ £64.50, but we needed to cancel one night. Unfortunately we had to cancel the whole reservation and start again. The room we had just cancelled was not available to re-book, so we ended up paying £79 for a larger room - but still ended up in the small bijou room, so felt a bit miffed about that.

Reviewed by
nigel a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!!
My husband and myself had a very welcoming and enjoyable stay at The Helania Scarborough . The room was spotless and nicely decorated . The whole setting was welcoming and of a high standard we would definitely recommend The Helania for anyone wanting a lovely bed and breakfast in Scarborough .

Reviewed by
K Dunnill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room,lovely cooked breakfast and very polite young man ,Adam I believe,who looked after us during our stay.Beautiful views from the hotel to top it off.

Reviewed by
M Crowther

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely modern, clean hotel
Great hotel. Decorated to a high standard. Great little added extras such as chocoloates on the bed on arrival, bathrobes and the honesty bar! Great customer service from the moment of arrival!
Only had toast for breakfast, so not really able to comment on the food - looking at others in the breakfast room, it looked great!
Great location - just a few steps "over the road" to view the sea and great views!
:)
Spot-on!

Reviewed by
Julie A

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service at the Helaina
Just stayed the one night but we couldn't have been made more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and they also recommended a fabulous Italian restaurant for us to have our evening meal.
Breakfast was fantastic. First class can definitely recommend a stay at the Helaina

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice get away
Staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Food was nice enough but nothing special.
Price of room I thought was slightly overpriced however it was a bank holiday weekend.
Only comment was the walls were quite thin and the beds were a little loud if you know what I mean. I would guess the guys in the next room may put a better review on!!

Reviewed by
P McVicker

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next